We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my family loved it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Esra and Family Suites
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Didim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

me,my husband and my 4 children went to the Esra for 11 nights in september 2012,this was our 1st time visit in turkey!!! I wasn't looking forward to it to be honest as there was so many bad remarks of the hotel on the tripadvisor!!!!
Any way we got there at 4.45am and was told there was no family rooms left by a big nasty women at the reception and was given 2 single rooms on the same floor but about 30 foot from each other to which i wasn't happy but i took it,but i settled my 18 yr old into a room with my two younger daughters,then i went to go into the other room and there was already people in the room to what we was given all fast asleep and when i went back down to tell her,she started talking in turkish and tooking at us to i think she was calling me,then gave use another room,still far away from the other room.
the following morning we spoken to our rep at thomas cook,any way 3 days later we was given a room next door to them,which was brillant as i could start to have a better time and also start to sleep,but then we found out some one had took my gold necklace out of our room,then i kicked of at the manager then 3 days later,would you believe it but it turned up and it was in my daughters bag to which i didn't know that she had brought it!!!
but the good thing come out of it we also met two family from ireland to which we spend the rest of our hols with,to which was brillant,anyway besides that we had a brill time,we did have a lovely time,as two of my children are blonde and i couldn't believe how much they love the blonde's.
the food was ok but my kids enjoyed the hut food better as it was alway's chips,pizza or hotdogs!!british food for the kids!!!!also we couldnt knock as the waitress/waiters and bar staff,they was all brillant and very welcoming!!!besides the error we had at 1st we would defo go back there again. oh by the way there isnt entertanment on the evening for children!!

Room Tip: try to geta a room facing the swiming room as its quite but ya can see everything whats going on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 905 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed end aug/sept we were put in aroomoverlooking the road & supermarket which at 4 in the afternoon was OK but oh my god when night came it was so loud couldn't sleep.
The hotel was basic and after 6 nights with no hot water it was fixed the night before we left.
The food was repetitive but we just filled up on the salad & the very nice bread.
The pool was a nice temperature and very clean.
The two very young girls who were meant to be the entertainment were diabolical and anyone with young children would find it difficult as there was no set schedule for them ,the older kids just ran riot up and down stairs and along corridors banging on peoples doors.
The staff I have to say were really good and we met some nice people .
I would definatley say it was not 4 star which is what I thought I was booking.
But the weather was fantastic.

Room Tip: try for one facing the pools or a side room away from the front of the hotel as it is VERY NOISY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 61lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were two young females, who holidayed at the Esra for 1 week in September 2012. This was the first time we had visited Turkey! We thought we had come to a scruffy place but on arriving at the Esra our thoughts instantly changed. It was approximately 1.30am, we were tired and frustrated but the staff were really welcoming and friendly. We were staying on the 3rd floor, lifts were fine, never out of order, no children running or playing in lifts and corridors. Our room was cleaned everyday, and our towels were changed whenever we left our dirty ones out. The water in the shower didn't appear to be draining away, we told the reception and the problem was sorted straight away. We weren't impressed with the choices at breakfast time, as it worked out we slept during breakfast anyway, this wasn't an issue for us. Lunch and dinner were fab little repetitive, but since we were only there for 7 nights this didn't bother us! Swimming pools were great and cleaned every morning, and we loved the watersides at 11,1 & 3. The entertainment on an evening wasn't brilliant, but can be tolerated. We did think that the alcohol was watered down, but cocktails were included in the all inclusive between 7-9, so we drank plenty of them! There were a few stray cats in the resort, but this is normal for turkey and wouldn't put us off going back! It is about a 10 minute walk to the main square, where there is lots of clubs, bars and restaurants! The only downside to our holiday is the fact that we came back to our room 3 times to find used condoms hidden randomly in our room. Indicating someone had been using out room whilst we were out! Reception weren't very helpful with the matter, and insisted us and them (staff) were the only ones that had cards to our room. So clearly from our viewpoint a member of staff had been using our room for sexual activities whilst we were out! Overall we loved our holiday and are going back next year!!!

Room Tip: Don't sit on the sun beds opposite the slides unless you wanna get soaked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Loren1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Having holidayed in Altinkum several times in 18 months, stopping in villas, we decided this time to opt for a bit of spoiling and stay in a 4* All Inclusive hotel...our only mistake was in choosing the Esra family Suites.
We arrived at 0215 which was too late at night/early in the morning to receive any kind of welcome as everything was shut down until the breakfast rush started. This of course wasn't entirely the hotels fault as our driver (Turkish) got lost somewhere between the airport and the hotel, but one would hope that having paid out for all-in that they could have at least rustled up a couple of cups of tea/coffee.
We were rather excited that first morning as we headed down to see what the place was like and enjoy a lovely cup of coffee...the excitement wouldn't last.
Regarding the food:
Every day there was scrambled egg for breakfast which possibly tasted nice, but it had huge areas of green in it...I have never eaten green eggs. There was also cereal, but the day I tried it the milk gad curdled. The boiled eggs were lovely mashed down with butter and salt but who wants to be egg bound on holiday? There was a variety of cold meats and salad stuff to eat but I'm not really into salads for breakfast so we ended up most days skipping breakfast or heading across the road to an excellent bar (opposite the Sky bar) for breakfast where they provided us with a lovely meal.
Lunchtimes...well, we stayed at the hotel all day for 2 days but were so disappointed with the food that we either went across the road or actually all the way into Altinkum to eat and, as for the evening meals we found them mostly inedible and again either went to the bar across the road or Altinkum where there are excellent bars and restaurants to relax in. Actually, the food was so bad that they even bussed us (all guests had the option of a free meal in town) one night into the town for a meal at another restaurant which was a bonus.
Enough about the food...oh...except to say that while we were there it truly was so bad that one of the guests was taking orders from everyone and asked the manager if she could take over the kitchen for one night so we could all have a good meal...and other's we noticed were buying meals over the phone and having them delivered and then eating them around the pool.and onto the room.
Our room was undeniably comfortable and although we were street facing with the two bars opposite we had no problem with getting to sleep at night. Room service was ok but the towels were not changed as often as we would have liked, though the girls doing the work were pleasant enough...it was our balcony furniture we had a problem with. Both chairs had nails poking through the padding and both my husband and I got stabbed when we sat down. We asked for replacement chairs and it took a further reminder and three days before this request was acted on.
My husband and I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many hotels over the past 35 years and I can honestly say this is the first time either of us has ever even considered writing a negative review (which is why it has taken some time pondering the issues before writing this one) but we were not only extremely disappointed by the standard of this hotel and the response from the management to polite requests (we don't shout or rant) but also to the lack of response to any correspondence since our return.
We will return to Altinkum, but will never stay at the Era family Suites again.
We can only show one photo actually in the hotel and that is of two lads who had sat next to us with their delivered meal...there are some brilliant places to eat around town though and The Budak...wow, what a fantastic hotel that is with an amazing menu full of great tasting home made meals...family run and excellent service, one for us to stay in next time i think. Also, Paddy's boat runs a great trip with super entertainment, we had a very good couple of day trips out to sea.

Room Tip: If you are thinking of staying here and have the same experience as we did you will be eating in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, the staff are lovely and will do anything for you. The rooms are all nice and clean. Food is good, ale is good. The pools are lovely but cold with slides on every other hour for the kids or the big kids if you like them. There is 2 bars/food places outside the front doors and a big supermarket right outside. It is only a short walk to the main square and the harbour, we always took a short cut through the wood where there was excersice equiptment you could go on on your way past and a park for the kids. There is also a fair ground round the corner. We went as a group of 9 girls all inclusive but i would go back with my kids as its such a lovely place.
Make sure you get the turkish bath and massage we had such a laugh, well worth the money :)

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimwhit82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just had 2 weeks staying at the Esra, hotel was great clean with friendly staff, food was good but a bit repetatiff . The entertanment was good the first week but withered away the last week ,as it was the the last week of the season , it also started to late on a night . My main moan was that thay wanted £25 ot keep your room on for 6 hours, i refused and was told that there was a room to shower and chang before you left for the airport. When i got the key i was asked for a towel i was told to unpack my case and get a towel out , i told the rep but nothing was done. We still have to say that we had a great time at the ESRA.

Room Tip: higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malvernSeaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Dont know what any of you are talking about on here, it was one of my best holidays and the entertainment wast the best but it was the end of season, the rooms were clean, the staff were amazing, the surroundings were abit dead but you only had to walk for 5 minutes to be on the front which was good. The food was simple but if you were hungry youd eat it, the only thing etong about my holiday was breakfast. This was such a good holiday and everyone that complains you must of been in a different hotel!!! The staff were hilarious and very welcoming, drinks were good, all in all an amazing holiday. If you didn't like anything you could easily go out and eat you didn't have to stay in the hotel 24/7!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kimhields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Didim hotels
1.2 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
9.1 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
1.3 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#4 of 30 in Altinkum
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Club Tarhan Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sunset Village Apartments
Sunset Village Apartments
#11 of 30 in Altinkum
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden of Sun Hotel
Garden of Sun Hotel
#1 of 30 in Altinkum
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esra and Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esra and Family Suites

Address: Barbaros Street. Camlik Mah. | Altinkum, Didim 09270, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Didim
Price Range: $62 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esra and Family Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Esra and Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esra Apartments Hotel Didim
Esra Apartments Hotel Altinkum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing