We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in Turkey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Wings Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Didim
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best stay in Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Altinkum in october isn't the wildest place but for the price you pay and the standard of accommodation that you're getting, i'd've probably payed more. the hotel has a great big pool surrounded by sunbeds and a nice relaxed atmosphere. beach bar was great never ran out of drinks even though it was end of season, as some reviewers have stated. bungalow rooms were lovely nice to have something which isnt in a block, sort of like your own little home. ive stayed in lots of places around Turkey and this is definitely a cut above the rest. weather was off a few times while we were there and you can't blame hotel for that especially all the activities you can do whilst raining e.g. darts, pool, tv or organised games, or use the sauna. food was great never a problem finding something. beach area was also great as some beaches in turkey aren't exactly all that. heard people while we were there complaining because the cups at the bars were plastic and you shouldn't be given a plastic cup at a 5* hotel. so any negative reviews are probably those type of people, impossible to please. would highly advise this hotel even though its not the best area for nightlife the rest of the hotel makes up for it, and i'd favour this over marmaris, gumbet or lara beach. brill holiday cheers everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    509
    221
    76
    46
See reviews for
1,124
371
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited Palm Wings with my partner in September last year. We arrived very late in the evening after a long day of travelling and found check in very speedy. We were taken to our bungalow on a golf buggy which was interesting, we made sure we booked a bungalow rather than the hotel block after reading previous reviews.
The bungalows were lovely with a seperate porch area and a large balcony. The resort is quite large but there are maps everywhere to guide you, although walking from our room everyday to the restaurant and back up sometimes could be very challenging.
The resort has 3 pools, a main outdoor pool, and indoor pool and a relax pool only for over 18s. The first couple of days were great, the weather was amazing and the food was everything you expect from an AI hotel.
However, after a couple of days I started to suffer with pains in my ear, I coped with it for another day and after that I couldnt took the pain so my partner and I decided to walk up to the chemist as we usually took a walk through the market in the evening anyway.
The lady at the chemist told me she couldnt treat me and I would have to go to the clinic. We were picked up by the clinic taxi and taken straight there where the doctor put a camera in my ear and I was told I had caught an infection, probably from the pool, which at this point was quite bad. The doctor gave me some antibiotics and told me to come back if it got worse.
We had only been using the big pool by the restaraunt so decided to move to the relax pool to prevent further infection.
After 2 day the pains were still bad so we returned to the clinic and the doctor told me the infection wasnt going so put me on a drip which helped ease the pain.
Although this did help I still had to have treatment for the rest of my 14 day holiday and had 3 weeks off work on returning home.
We had a good holiday regardless and met some lovely people and a lovely welsh couple who we took to sitting next to at the relax pool every day and who mothered us the rest of the trip.
We did get a bit fed up of the food after a week so sometimes ate out at a restaurant just outside the hotel called a Touch of Class which did the best food cooked by the managers mum.
It was actually one of the guys that worked here that on the last day saw the cotton buds in my ears and told us that his dad was the health and safety expert at our hotel and had condenmed the main pool beacuse of hygiene suggesting it should be closed, but the hotel refused.
We are still in dispute with Thomson about this and still trying to come to some kind of resolution. We had a lovely holiday made by the weather and the memories we have but would never go back because of what happened and also my partner fell ill after eating at the chinese al e carte one night too.

Room Tip: book a bungalow not hotel block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinna818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went in June last year we all hand a fab time would recommend it weather perfect staff very friendly entertainment good first class I would visit this place again and turkey is a must to all age groups

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank valpye p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in May 2012. checked-in in the early hours but process was simple and we were quickly taken to our room - we hadn't specified and were hoping for one of the bungalows but we ended up in the hotel 'block'. To be honest I can't fault the room - it was a reasonable size, very clean and cleaned daily. The one criticism as others have mentioned is an apparent lack of sound-proofing - mostly not an issue but we did have another family check-in to the room next door through the night one night who didn't pay too much regard for other guests unfortunately but this was a one-off during our stay.

In terms of facilities these are pretty well covered, 3 pools - the faily large main one and the "quiet pool" near the hotel block and an indoor pool in the hotel block itself. Choice of food was reasonable - been to a few AI resorts and Palm Wings compared favourably. Restaurant could get a bit busy at tmes so not sure what it would be like in high season but never had a problem finding something to keep everyone satisfied. We never used the Al a Carte - tend to find these very hit and miss - but equally never felt the need to with the choice in the main restaurant. Snack bar down towards the beach was good for a quick 'fast-food' type luch rather than the main restaurant.

There's a shop on site, dearer than outwith resort, but we didn't find it ridiculously overpriced given the convenience but to be honest we only ever used it for the odd snack/toy. Didn't use the spa extensively but the Turkish bath and massage package was money well spent.

There are 2 kids clubs - the Thomson run one and Palm Wings own. We tried both but our son found the Palm Wings own one preferable and the lady who ran it was great - kept all the kids entertained and she also ran the mini-dico for kids at night. The disco got a bit repetitive (for the grown-ups) but the kids loved it.

Location good and within walking distance to Altinkum or a fairly cheap taxi ride.

Late check-out wasn't available for us however there were lockers, towels and showers available in a few spots within the complex. That meant the final day could be enjoyed with access to all the resort facilities but able to get a shower and change of clothes for the late journey home. We used the indoor pool as it was convenient for our room.

All in all a really enjoyable 2 weeks and really good value for money. Going back again this May.

Room Tip: The hotel block rooms are fine, especially given the elimited time spent there, but the bungalows do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Billy_J-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hi all,
I`ve stayed here in july 2011 , went with friends and families with small kids and we all had a great time . The staff was ok, no problems with the rooms, cleaning was made every day . We always found sunbeds at the beach , actually the pool was the problem :) everyone was fighting for those sunbeds early in the morning.
THe "aqua park" is small and has weird schedule :) The food was almost different every day, even caught a turkish night theme , we enjoyed it . The a la carte was not so great and i mean the food was lousy , we went chinese :) but we had a lot of fun trying to get the most out of it .

The resort is well placed and you can easily go out of it at night at wonder around the city , a lot of food stalls , small shops with souvenirs, turkish atmosphere, very welcoming people.

But wat is most important is that it`s good value for money, the room was very cheap when we went there so considering that i have nothing to complain about .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constantin_bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

the best holiday i have ever been on there was a relax pool so you could get away from the noise the staff was brilliant the entertament lets it down but they are people going around in the day playing loads of games bungalows was great the cleaners was always round spotless hotel evryday you would get a bottle of fresh water in your fridge the location was horrible there was nothing around you the nearest shop was a ripe off you had to walk miles for a good location defo go again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Palm Wings Beach Resort in June 2012.

Here are our quick thoughts for you.

Great things:
The bungalows were really nice and spacious with lovely balconies.
The relax pool was a lovely haven away from the hectic main pool.
The resort is beautifully landscaped and maintained.
The waterslides were great fun for kids and adults - nice pool atmosphere!
The private beach was amazing - the dock was a great suntrap!!
The resort is a good distance from town - close enough to walk but not in the heart of everything, so a little more peaceful.
The food choice was really good, breakfast in particular was brill.
We had friends staying in other hotels nearby, and without a doubt this was the best around - and the prettiest.
The resort is large, and doesn't at all feel crowded away from the main pool.

Not-so-great things:
The shop is expensive, there is a little shop just outside the entrance of Palm Wings which is much cheaper.
The rooms weren't sound proofed at all - we had a screaming baby next door to us.
Food times are quite limited - it seems we don't tend to want to eat at traditional times!
The restaurant gets very, very busy and the restaurant team struggle to keep up and keep it tidy.
Desserts weren't so good....unless you like cake, cake and more cake.
At dinner any popular dishes soon disappear and it can be a bit of a bun-fight to get something a little different.

Things we found helpful:
Get a bungalow room rather than a hotel room if you can. These are lovely.
Take a good sized refillable drink cup with you (like a thermos) - the cups for the inclusive drinks are very small and we found using our own meant less trips to the bar and our drinks were kept nice and cool!
Use the relax pool if you don't like hectic, noisy pools - we used both, depending on our mood.
The walk to town is about 15 minutes, but is a bit rocky to start off with so make sure you have the right footwear.
The town is bustling and has a nice atmosphere, but the touts can be a bit much.
It was REALLY, REALLY, REALLY hot every day, be prepared.
We used the snack bar which is near the beach and open all day for when we frequently missed the lunch buffet - basic but nice food here.
Don't expect 5* luxury...but certainly the best in the area.

Hope that helps! :)

Room Tip: Without doubt request a bungalow room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lilave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Didim hotels
2.1 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Aurum Spa & Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Anadolu Didim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
1.1 mi away
D-Marin Didim Marina Yacht Club
7.7 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Wings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Wings Beach Resort

Property: Palm Wings Beach Resort
Address: Altinkum Mah. Mehtap Cad. 94. Sok. No:21, Didim 09270, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Didim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Didim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Didim
#2 Spa Hotel in Didim
#4 Family Hotel in Didim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Wings Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday is nice...Having a holiday in Palm Wings Beach Resort is something excellent...Crystal clear sea of the Aegean, very hot sunlight and green nature invite you to the holiday you are dreaming of.We promise that you will have the best moments of your life in Didim, which is one of the unique gifts that sea and the nature togetherness has presented to the Aegean Region...Didim is 150 km far from Izmir Adnan Menderes Airport, 80 km far from Bodrum Airport and 3 km from Didim Coach Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Wings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Wings Beach Hotel Didim
Palm Wings Beach Didim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing