We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Miletus
from $115.00
More Info
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
117
85
18
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
85
18
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ancient city huge site turkey ancient times two hours souvenir shop hired a car theatre baths sites ruins ephesus stadium romans tourists shepherd temple
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 220 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Priene, Miletos and Didim are three cities that I recommend to visit if in southwest Turkey. There are some very unique features about all these cities. At Miletos again it was the theatre. Not much of the city ruins have yet been excavated but whatever has been excavated is well preserved and gives you a glimpse of what the city might have been in its flourishing days. The temple of Apollo is there in the city.

Thank Neha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

This theatre is one of the largest and most complete I have visited. It was quite awe inspiring and it was great to climb all over it and walk through its passages and vomitoriums.

Thank Archaeobuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

One of the problems you will face in the touristic sites is Turkey is that they are usualy extremely crowded. Miletus is an exception to that. It is situated in a quiet area, near Didim, and it is almost never crowded. The entrance fee is 8TL which is really cheap. (With the same ticket you can also visit the museum, which lies almost 500m far). The ancient theater is the main attraction and it is really superb! Behind it, you can find the ruins of the Byzantine castle that was build there once, and the ruins of ancient Miletus. You can also combine your visit here, with a visit to the wonderful Temple of Apollo in Didim.

Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

This is well worth a visit. Historically it used to be the main Harbour until the water was re-routed.
It’s guarded and amazingly well kept.
Refreshments on site and plenty of parking.
If you are disabled, you cannot access ruins.

Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

The theatre with its imposing pillars around the grand seats is huge and magnificent. The rest of the site is open and unshaded. But the lion guarding the old port sunk in the ground is worth seeking out, the massive nympheum fountain next to the agora and the baths are very evocative.

Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

It's a great daytrip from Kusadasi, less than 2 hrs drive and there's plenty to see at both sites. Unlike Ephesus, there are no crowds to fight ; as a matter of fact, when we were there, we were the only tourists.
When you arrive, you till face the enormous structure of the theater ; it is a bulky affair, as it is not using the flank of a mountain to get the half bowl shape. In the stage area there are some beautiful marble carvings ; as always it is worthwhile climbing to the highest seats to get an overview of the size of the theater and take in the views from the top.
We were accompanied by a local shepherd who showed us the way to the Ionic Stoa on the Sacred Way ; at the time the grounds were swampy, so we could not get close, but it did make for some great photos.
Priene + Miletus : 2 wonderful sites, all in an easy day !

Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

We hired a car to get to Miletus from Bodrum; the drive took less than two hours and is quite a leisurely day trip. Parking is reasonable TL 5 and the admission is TL 8 per adult which is great value for money. Despite Miletus being a very famous city in ancient times, when I visited there was virtually no one else there except for a couple of fellow tourists.

The Amphitheatre is truly impressive in terms of its state of preservation and its grandeur. Most of the theatre and you can go virtually anywhere with the exception of the very top which is quite ruined and dangerous to climb. There is very little cordoned off and you can literally walk among the ruins!

With very few tourists around, there is great atmosphere at Miletus along with the opportunity to take pictures with minimal interference from other people. Within the theatre, I could sit down with only myself and my thoughts and take in the history of the place. There is a large parking area on site and the museum is little ways down the road. At the site, there is a small gift store and a restaurant opposite the main parking area.

This is probably, apart from Ephesus, one of the best archaeological sites in western Turkey. If you have time, this a place you have to go!

Thank smrgeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

We hired a car and promised ourselves that we would go and it was a very pleasant afternoon though had to leave elderly friend behind as the steps and walking were not for her ,loved the place i know that its not Ephesus but its still a very good piece of preserved history the ampitheatre is great and i love all the culture that goes with it

Thank dawnholley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

We really enjoyed our visit to Miletus. This huge site had been built over many times over the centuries that followed the first major structures such as the theatre which had been built by the Ancient Greeks in about 700BC. This does not detract from the experience but rather enhances it, though you do have to take time and trouble to work everything out. It is worth getting the printed map to help and realise that once the sea almost surrounded the site. It had been damaged by the Persians and then partly rebuilt by the Classical Greeks. Following this had been the Romans and later the Byzantines, Seluks and Ottomans. The finest work was the stonework of the ancient Greeks. It was an extensive site with an agora, old roads, a Roman bathhouse and various sections that had been rebuilt as a church or mosque depending on the era. Extremely well worthwhile visiting and taking about two hours to explore.

1  Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This is a SUPERB example of an Ancient Ampitheatre. You get to wander around the tunnels and up into the stadium. Seating for 3500 originally, extending to 15000 by the Romans, but the Roman part of the ruin is not as spectacular as the Greek.
But DEFINITELY worth a visit if you are in the Didim Area of Turkey

Thank geoff746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews