We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent experience”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 'CASA DO CABECO'

Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Balcony
Landscape around..
Small quit road close to the house. Great for cycling!
In the village of Porto da Cruz. From the house...7minutes by car.
Kitchen
The main entry of the house
The view from Kitchen
Sea in the Village of Porto da Cruz
Possibility to dive in the beautiful nature reserve of Garajau.
You may have the opportunity to dive. Price is not included in the stay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Porto da Cruz, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
fboule
Chicoutimi, Canada
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were at Casa do cabeço for 4 days.
It was perfect specially the kindness of the owner and disponibility.
We had fresh cakes from her mother.
The house is great, clean, well located with a wonderfull view. A heater was really appreciated because of the cool weather we had.
It is the paradise of trekking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Dear Francine:
Thank you a lot for your beautifull feedback about CASA DO CABEÇO!
We are happy when our custommers are happy!! Thats why we try to do our best for all our custommers! We really want that our custommers feel welcome and at home and allways with a smile!! Really, really happy that you like!!!!!!
Best regards and a big smile to you and your beautifull family!!
Márcia Gouveia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordleys
Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Lovely home”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We found the apartment had a lovely view with ample room, a great shower and very comfortable beds. MAaria gave us a lovely basket of regional goodies, which we ate for much of the rest of our vacation. Thanks Maria.We would recommend portable radiators for upstairs and downstairs , as it was quite chilly at night. The apartment would be better served with some basic provisions such as sugar, salt and pepper, coffee, soap and perhaps a small amount of milk. The home is high on a hill with wonderful views , but no real markets anywhere nearby, so we were sort of stuck the first night and morning. GPS does not really work in the area, so a written map would help. It is a treacherous ride to the home, if you are American, but once there, lovely. The large barking German Shepard I could not get used to, however. The town is beautiful and we did enjoy walking around, visiting the rum factory and had some good meals. Love Madeira. Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Thank a lot for your mesage!!
Happy that you enjoy Your stay!!
Right know we provide already a fireplace and all the house is so much warm and welkoming!
We will take care of the others improvements you mention!
Hope you return again one Day!!!
Tanks a lot and a big smile for you!!!
Márcia Gouveia from Casa do Cabeço
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 wonderful days at "Casa do Cabeço".
You definitely need a car...Located in a remote rural mountain area, overlooking the bay, mountains and the far Atlantic horizon with breathtaking views. Within 10 Minutes you are on the Highway, in Porto da Cruz and at the seapools there.
Its a new and modern house built around the ancient walls of an old one. With simplicity, quality and good taste. It's fully equipped with everything you need or might need. Hosts are very helpful and their homegrown potatoes are of the best ever.
We will come back for sure...but maybe at a season when sun is more generous and strengthful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeff014
Caen, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect !!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Nice house in the mountains, not far from the city center of Porto da Cruz (10 mon by car) with an amazing view to the sea !!
The owner, Marcia is very friendly and helpful, and her mother make succulent bolo do caco !

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONIO3540...
Dinan, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivierge...
Plan-d'Orgon, France
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calou1731
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing