We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but effective!”
Review of Costa Linda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Linda
Certificate of Excellence
Tyneside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simple but effective!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here at the start of a walking trip. Small room but with a balcony overlooking the sea just yards away we were hardly in the room. Food was simple but good although limited choice for vegetarians. Not much to do on an evening but watching shooting stars was magic .... Friendly staff, clean room , good food

Room Tip: If you don't mind the sound of waves. Dashing If you don't mind the sound if crashing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauraGTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    61
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After a week of travelling around the island, this was my favourite hotel !

For starters, the location is great - looking out over the little bay, with the village's pool on the left hand side ... the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks ... and the pleasant village as a backdrop.

On practical matters - the room was a reasonable size, the beds good and firm, and the balcony very good for looking out to sea. The bathroom I had was setup for the disabled so was a very good size with a reassuringly powerful shower! The shower gel that was excellent too!!

Breakfast was a cut above the usual, with a range of cooked options, and real fresh orange juice to go with it. The coffee was excellent too.

Wifi was available in the comfortable lounge downstairs, or in the reception area upstairs (different passwords), and occasionally spreading into the bedrooms.

Overall, it just had a very pleasant place to spend a couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Visited while on an Inntravel walking holiday. We had a great welcome before being taken to our small room overlooking the sea. A others have noted, beds are hard and the bathrooms small. The powerful shower and inadequate shower curtain led to minor flooding on a couple of occasions.There isn't much to do around the village but after our walk we spent a lot of time watching seabirds from our balcony. The restaurant food isn't terribly exciting but the quality is good and service is efficient and good humoured.
The only down-side to the hotel was a very bright street light directly outside our room; I could only sleep using an eyeshade .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Modern, very clean. Room small but adequate (we did not have a sea view). Bed hard. The cafe is open all day and the meals are good value. Good selection at breakfast. The sea pool is about 100 m long and takes less than 5 mins to walk to - a lovely facility. The church clock chimed loudly from 07.00 am so ask for a room as far away as possible from the church. Reception staff friendly and helpful. An excelllent base for hiking in east Madeira. Only 15-20 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakes284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We were on a hiking holiday and stayed there 2 nights. The Hotel is simple but v. clean, friendly, family run, and nothing is too much for the staff. Great food at the hotel all day round. All rooms look on to the sea (North coast of Madeira) and you fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks.

Room Tip: Great levada walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed a night at this sweet little hotel in preparation for an early morning mountain walk and it is a lovely place to stay. It is a very small establishment with only thirteen rooms, but the view from the terrace/balcony was quite beautiful with a lovely view of the entire bay. The room itself, though on the small side was still fine with a very comfy bed where you will be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. The bathroom was a bit compact but I found a courtesy shower cap in the bathroom, something I never found in other Madeira hotels.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant below the hotel, with a private staircase leading down and you can choose what you want from a good menu. We also ate a very reasonable evening meal here too.

Parking wasn't a problem as there are free spaces right outside. My only complaint was that the TV only had programmes in German, not something that would normally bother me, but after you have eaten there really isn't much to do in Porto da Cruz though it makes an ideal spot for a base for exploring inland.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Overstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I always use Tripadvisor but have never left a review before. We stayed for a week at Costa Linda as a pre xmas break. I think for a majority of the time we were the only two people staying at the hotel, but the service was always excellent. We had a triple room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The room was clean and tidy but although there was a wardrobe there were no drawers so we didn't really unpack. The shower was also a bit on the small side and flooded the bathroom. We took the local bus service to Funchal (1hr on the expressway, 1.5 hrs on the more fun scenic route), very straightforward with bus timetables supplied by the very helpful receptionist. She also arranged for us a packed lunch as we would be missing breakfast. We also hired a car from the airport, again we took the bus to get there.
We were awoken every morning with what sounded like dynamite explosions! According to the receptionist part of the xmas celebrations by the local church. Didn't bother us at all but something perhaps to be aware of. The weather was also hit and miss with some very stormy days, this led to a number of land slips making driving abit tricky if using the more sceanic routes. Madiera is the perfect size to drive arround witth plenty of stops for the stunning views.
Quibbles - only small ones really. The pillows were abit thin and the mattress abit hard (but I prefer that). There were a couple of power cuts (I assume because of the weather). The sat tv channels are predominately in German.
On the whole Costa Linda is lovely and Porto da Cruz a very nice secluded resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NacreousCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto da Cruz
4.9 mi away
Quinta Do Furao Hotel
Quinta Do Furao Hotel
#1 of 3 in Santana
495 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
771 reviews
3.6 mi away
PortoBay Serra Golf
PortoBay Serra Golf
#28 of 153 in Madeira
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
7.2 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
20.2 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Linda

Property: Costa Linda
Address: Rua Dr. Abel de Freitas, Porto da Cruz, Madeira 9225-050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Porto da Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Porto da Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Linda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Costa Linda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Linda Porto Da Cruz, Madeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing