We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family day out”
Review of Planete Sauvage

Planete Sauvage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For 25 years, Planète Sauvage is a unique opportunity to discover more than 1000 wild animals from 150 different species in natural areas. Discover our 10km safari by car and our pedestrian area including a dolphin show, Kirikou's Village, Madagascar Island, and 2 news : the Jungle Bridge with it's monkeys and an Inca Trail that takes you to South America !
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic family day out”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Loved every bit! First you drive thru for a couple of hours, like a safari type zoo and when you park up, there is a fab monkey area with bridges to walk so you can view them all, and a fantstic dolphine show. Plenty places to stop and eat or snack along the way (All very expensive tho). Full day out and very good value for a fun filled day

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shazd039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    351
    118
    71
    40
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This safari park has one of the best trails i have visited. There are plenty of animals ranging from "the big three" to peacockes. They are all in superb condition. Some of the paddocks containing the predators are electronically gated, but you are able to see the animals roaming freely. On our recent visit a cheetah was keen to inspect the wheels of the car before wandering off! There is no risk of damage to vehicles, but if you are reluctant to take your car on the trail you can pay to go on a safari bus.
The new dolphin display is very good, but if it is a hot day make sure you have sun protection.
There are several food outlets of various prices at good value.
The only slight let down was the bush village which needs a re-vamp

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lizanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great day out even in the pouring rain”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

After days of rain, we decided to just go with it, we got completely soaked but it was one of the best days out. The dolphin show was fantastic. The park is designed like an out of Africa experience. Plenty of places to stop and eat/drink and lots of animals to enjoy. Great

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiem4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great day out...highlight of a holiday of highlights”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Its February 2012 at this stage, and my kids 7,5 and 3 still speak about the day in Planet Sauvage some eight months ago which indicates that its a pretty special day out.

We were staying in St Jean de Monts and had PS recommended to us by another Irish Family, so we loaded up the wagon and hit off. The entrance fee came to around 80 euros for 2 adults and 3 kids, which we initially thought was quite steep, but actually turned out to be a bargain.

First off we hit off on the drive through safari. This would have made the day worthwhile on its own. Remember to buy popcorn at the gate, you get to feed some of the animals as your drive around......they will quite happily stick their heads into your car if you want to let them. We stopped halfway round and had a picnic and all in all this part of the day took 3 hours or so, but you could make it as long or short as you like.

Park the car up then once your round and hit for the other part of the attraction, which is like a small animals zoo, its really lovely. We caught the dolphin show as well which is enjoyable if you like that kind of thing,but i have my own misgivings about these wonderful creatures being held in captivity to perform. There is an amazing overhead rope walkway where the marsupials and ground animals are let wander to their hearts content.... climbing it was amazing fun on its own.

This is a great day out, fantastic facilities for picnic, and no hard sell of merchandised or fast food etc. If your in the Vendee on your hols its well worth a trip. We're going to a different part of France this summer, but you never know, we might pop in here again on the way back to the ferry as its only about 30mins max from Nantes

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat1976Cork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Among the best attractions we ever saw”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was an absolute highlight of our holiday in France. The whole package was unreal, to see the animals so close up was almost unnerving. The children are still talking about it. If we are back in that aprt of france again we will definitely return there again.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planete Sauvage also viewed

Frossay, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Donges, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to Planete Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing