We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but pitches rather small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great place but pitches rather small”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just spent a week here in a touring caravan, it's a lovely site with great facilities but the touring pitches are very small and cramped with not enough room for a car, caravan and awning in the Criffell area.

Now for the good stuff, the pool is lovely and warm and was never over busy even over the bank holiday weekend but not much room in the charging rooms, plenty of childrens entertainment in the evenings and lots of different bars, arcades and seating areas. Nice play area and crazy golf, could do with a lick of paint but all perfectly functional. This is a quiet park we never really got disturbed at night as is very family orientated and seemed to have younger children rather then teenagers.

We traveled with some friends who have a disabled child and they found the disabled facilities great.

The shower blocks were always warm and very clean, as was the whole park and central area so overall we had a great time and would return

One point for families if you want a change of scenery go into Silloth and in the trees behind the RNLI is a fabulous park/trim trail and little water play area with water squirters, fountains and buckets that tip overhead so take towels and a change of clothes for the kids as mine loved it here and it's all free!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Katesc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    189
    52
    30
    35
See reviews for
379
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed in the Stanwix park holiday centre for a weekend break. It was a lovely park with plenty to do for the children. The park was clean and well maintained as was the static cravan we stayed in. The children enjoyed the pool and the bowling.There is a small park on the site but it is quite old and could be improved we found some nicer parks off the site in Silloth and Maryport which were both worth a visit. The children enjoyed the evening entertainment especially meeting Foxy Fox. This caravan site is worth a visit and I think we would happily visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wills76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited Stanwix on Mayday Bank holiday for the first time. The club house facilities are great wtth plesant bar areas with and without the children.
There was plenty of hot water in clean, well maintained shower blocks.
Just one problem - in the Criffel Area the pitches for the touring caravans are very close together and tight. It felt very cramped. Alas, for that reason we won't be visiting again as we value a little bit of space - but the campsite is good.
The fish and chip shop just outside the entrance is very good with HUGE portions. Would be good if Stanwix had a takeaway pizza bar, instead of the cafe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouMar2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Had visited last year in August 12 on a cheapie,found a similar deal this year(May 13),all is fine with the place,it's great for a cheap break except don't bank on getting any sleep before 0030-0100hrs,predominantly Scottish families thought it normal to shout and scream at the top of their voices when returning to their apartments past midnight,this included their young children of no more than 6 or 7 years old joining in the general shouting and bad language.I'm 47 years old and was brought up in a poor family yet wouldn't dream of behaving in such a selfish and trashy manner,we spent the holiday knackered because of these idiots. The pubs and club household had no signs up and made no announcements at the end of the evening asking people to be aware it was late and respect those who may have gone to bed,never mind.If you want a long weekend for a few hundred quid in ok accommodation and don't mind being woken at midnight by drunken yobs and their feral off spring this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyBWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishaw
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent weekend Sky Bar & Dunes Cabaret Bar fantastic everything you want from a caravan park.
Staff very friendly caravans emaculate had a fab weekend and will return.Live groups are fanatastic also.Swimming pool was great cant wait to use the outdoor pool next time,were there with friends and we had a ball.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeangWishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was worried about this place as I had read some reviews before going after I had booked. I worried needlessley. I stayed in a caravan which was clean but I always take some cleansing wipes just in case. Not necessary on this occasion, however, the lino in the caravan was a little on the worn side. I did remark in the comments section so the Park was aware for the next visitors. The whole park was cleanand well kept the shop was very well stocked of good value items. The indoor pool was open for long hours and the gym was a real boon. Tried the bars and some are meant for children and some without which was a good balance. There is a chip shop literally on the doorstep out of the park and turn left the village with a good seafront walk is left and walk for about 15minutes around the road you can't miss it there are various beach walks in the vicinity as out of town there are no pavements. You could pop in the car to various attractions and of course the Lakes are close by by car unless you fancy bus or train travel. Me and my partner found so much to do a weekend was too short so maybe another trip for a week later on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTurkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The best part of the holiday park is the Coniston apartment was very nice and clean, however everything else is poor. Not a lot going on for the children, there are three entertainment rooms but children are only allowed in one of them. So as a family we couldn’t watch the rugby as no children in the sky bar. The entertainment room for children only opens at 7pm, foxy comes out for 5 minutes to do the hokey cokey and then disappears back inside. There is a DJ in the room so children can dance but that is about as far the children's entertainment goes. There is a Tiny "play area" which consists of a few foam blocks and a tiny arcade. The bowling is £3 per person per game; however this goes up at the 'peak' times to £3.50 after 6pm. The swimming pool is average and makes your skin very itchy and irritated. The changing rooms are also mixed. The park is in the middle of nowhere; only one restaurant in the whole town serves food at teatime. There is a spar and co-op in the area, Staff are always looking miserable, I have more enthusiasm in my little finger and there are better outdoor parks on council estates / small villages. A small cafe in the holiday park that serves microwave food for expensive prices, if you are unlucky enough to go to this park, travel to Carlisle as there is a lot more going on there. My family left the park early to go home as there is nothing to stay for (we won't be rushing back anytime soon).

Room Tip: Don't bother going unless you like to be bored
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
262 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 3 in Silloth
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Property: Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Address: Greenrow, Silloth CA7 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanwix Park Holiday Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stanwix Park Holiday Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Hotel Silloth
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing