We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mince”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solway Holiday Village
Reviewed July 17, 2010

badly needs upgrade hot tub the only plus as lodge garden overgrown with weeds so bad that i lost my wife in them for an hour pool dirty and only open at certain times as was the bistro entertainment O DEAR we heard the only singer who got worse the more drink you had race night 3 RACES hopeless silloth so old they still take green shield stamps golf course on site terrible lost 2 balls on a green bar area ok but really not much for kids to do JUST DONT GO

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybunter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

Just back from this cess pit. The place smells of sewage and cant belive the price of drinks.
£1.50 for a kids fruit shoot!!!!!
You expect to pay slightly more for alcohol but ripping kids of is just a joke.
The facilities are crap and the park is well run down.
Not safe for young kids as too many entrances and exits.

Avoid this place like the plague
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaz1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Boring does not cover the place, again booked with sun and nowhere near anything, no beach just stones and concerte, on site entertainment i think a morg would be better.
Shallet or shack was cleanish, but very uncomfortable. Washing facilites shower etc awful. Cooking facilites slow and worn out.

Just very misleading from information given and advertisement.

We spend so much money going else where to entertani children which you shouldnt have to do with a holiday park/.

Never again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicolalancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent 4 nights, we booked through hoeseason which stated all lively park well that is a joke apart from the play park the kids were bored. The farm had no one there to show any one around or go on the mini railway. The kids entertainment at night was a joke, an hour of simon says. 4 year old didn't understand this the 9 year old was bored with it. The swimming pool was run down with the paint flaking in the water.
The place needs totally upgraded very run down. As for direct beach access there is no beach just stones.
Only thing we couldn't fault was the accomadation it was spotless.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerchicScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is the worst holiday ever. This park actually belongs to HAGANS LEISURE PARKS not HOSEASONS who we booked the holiday with. The swimming pool area is in need of more changing cubicles as there are only two. The showers were just a trickle of water and paint was flaking from the pool area. Crazy golf you could do in 2 minutes its that small. The all weather football pitch is covered in stones. The farm is dismal and uninteresting. There is also a sign for a minature railway but we couldnt find it as the only track we seen was old and had not been used for years. The entertainment at night is badly in need of upgrading!! To visit any places of interest is costly as we had to travel at least 30 to 45 minutes or more to entertain the children. We will never holiday with hoseasons again. As for the beach it is just concrete steps never seen sand once!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipmonk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

what can i say...................nowhere near the lake district.........nor anywhere else!!!
if you are looking for peace and quiet then this is for you.It is a family owned site and needs a good lick of paint.Nothing special but nothing really bad!!
Is in need of a full refurb for kids.............we were disappointed from that aspect.
Nowhere near the lakes though......at least 40 mins from anywhere

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 652,580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

cheap - £17.50 per tent per night, £6.99 pp for entertainment passes and pool pass (last duration) £5 refundable deposit for shower/toilet key.

The camp is very family and children orientated -the kids will have a great time.

Does need a lick of paint and some hanging baskets here and there but the staff are lovely overall.

Drinks in family bar are reasonable

showers have a problem with pressure but signs show that they are fixing it.

tent pitch (non electric) are flat clean spacious and close to shower/toilet block.

Mary port down the road approx 20 mins.

there is a co - operative just down the road as the little shop on camp isnt the biggest.

The launderette has free iron/boards and a plug socket availiable but the washers are not too clever.
i would go here again :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stelouclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silloth hotels
0.7 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
0.5 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#2 of 3 in Silloth
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing