We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bored very run down.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solway Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solway Holiday Village
scotland
1 review
“Bored very run down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent 4 nights, we booked through hoeseason which stated all lively park well that is a joke apart from the play park the kids were bored. The farm had no one there to show any one around or go on the mini railway. The kids entertainment at night was a joke, an hour of simon says. 4 year old didn't understand this the 9 year old was bored with it. The swimming pool was run down with the paint flaking in the water.
The place needs totally upgraded very run down. As for direct beach access there is no beach just stones.
Only thing we couldn't fault was the accomadation it was spotless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerchicScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    259
    164
    131
    183
See reviews for
582
113
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
laurencekirk
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is the worst holiday ever. This park actually belongs to HAGANS LEISURE PARKS not HOSEASONS who we booked the holiday with. The swimming pool area is in need of more changing cubicles as there are only two. The showers were just a trickle of water and paint was flaking from the pool area. Crazy golf you could do in 2 minutes its that small. The all weather football pitch is covered in stones. The farm is dismal and uninteresting. There is also a sign for a minature railway but we couldnt find it as the only track we seen was old and had not been used for years. The entertainment at night is badly in need of upgrading!! To visit any places of interest is costly as we had to travel at least 30 to 45 minutes or more to entertain the children. We will never holiday with hoseasons again. As for the beach it is just concrete steps never seen sand once!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipmonk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silloth hotels

uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

what can i say...................nowhere near the lake district.........nor anywhere else!!!
if you are looking for peace and quiet then this is for you.It is a family owned site and needs a good lick of paint.Nothing special but nothing really bad!!
Is in need of a full refurb for kids.............we were disappointed from that aspect.
Nowhere near the lakes though......at least 40 mins from anywhere

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 652580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

cheap - £17.50 per tent per night, £6.99 pp for entertainment passes and pool pass (last duration) £5 refundable deposit for shower/toilet key.

The camp is very family and children orientated -the kids will have a great time.

Does need a lick of paint and some hanging baskets here and there but the staff are lovely overall.

Drinks in family bar are reasonable

showers have a problem with pressure but signs show that they are fixing it.

tent pitch (non electric) are flat clean spacious and close to shower/toilet block.

Mary port down the road approx 20 mins.

there is a co - operative just down the road as the little shop on camp isnt the biggest.

The launderette has free iron/boards and a plug socket availiable but the washers are not too clever.
i would go here again :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stelouclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and at first arrival, we thought where the hell are we. The site is a bit tired and needs a bit of modernising. This site is very family and kid orientated the over 18 bar was closed so we had to use the family bars, which was OK but when you dont have kids of your own, you prefer the adults bar. We purchased lesuire passes for the pool which ended up being closed throughout our stay all though we got a full refund on these without any problem. Prices of beer is reasonable.

This is a perfect site for families as basically loads for kids to do and run riot (not that i am saying this is a bad thing) We had a tent and you can pitch basically anywhere and get an electric hook up, the tent toilet block is clean and tidy and has Radio 1 playing, this could have been better at a lower volume as when you going to bed its not always aprecated.

There was a group of teenagers which were a little rowdy. The village of Silloth has nothing in it and I mean nothing, so be prepared to either travel a distance or stay on the park. Entertainment on site was acceptable, but nothing great, music was dated and so was the DJ's and Singer. Karoke was dated and a waste of time. The late night dance (says it all in the title) was basically a pre mixed CD left on.


One big problem with this site (I hope they stop this) was that I am amazed they have not been caught by the Police, is that underage drinking and purchasing of alcohol is rampant, children seem to be being served After Shock shots as well as other drinks that are for 18+

Cafe was well priced, clean and the food was great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WAHBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We have just come back from soloway holiday village and we have had a fantastic break. The caravan was clean and the beds looked brand new. The caravan was set near a field so my young children could play football without me worrying. Silloth itself was like ghost town you did after drive for miles to do anything. The only problem we had was it was freezing at night time but the staff there were very helpful so that made up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cutecarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

After reading reviews was expecting the worst! On arrival realised,yes it could of done with a lick of paint in places but checked in and was relieved to find staff v.friendly.The caravan was spotless as were the mattress and pillows, the bedding had seen better days but was clean.We had a great time and all the amenities catered for children, there is even a farm (you get on a train for 50p)in the grounds.Check out the bistro on site ,food is acceptable but the surroundings are lovely(wish i had those chairs in my dining room)Silloth doesnt have much to offer but there are surrounding towns near by.All in all had a great time on a limited budget, if you want to let the kids have fun this is a great place,golf course for the dads too.would go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelltonmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.7 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
8.9 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Property: Solway Holiday Village
Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Solway Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing