We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Holiday for ALL the Family!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solway Holiday Village
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Holiday for ALL the Family!!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We have just returned from our holiday at Solway and we had a great time. Silloth is only a small village with not alot to do but then we didnt need much else as we had everything we needed on the park. Swimming pool, bars, a lovely little resturant, kids play areas. And our accomodation was very comfortable. We had a lovely lodge that had t.v, freeview and also a dvd player which pleased the kids. It was warm and cosy and even though we had a minor problem with the toilet when we arrived it was fixed very quickly after we told the reception girls.
The park is well looked after and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived to this morning when we left.
The pub bar was a lovely place to have a drink and relax and kept my husband happy with the football being shown!!!!!!
The entertainment was brilliant with something on everyday and night for all generations. And my mum and i were happy as we got to play bingo every night.
I also have an 8 year old and a 13 year old and they both really enjoyed themselves in the kids and teens club.
The farm was a great bonus as my youngest loves animals.
Our only wish is that the rain could have held off during our stay, but even that didnt spoil it.
I'm glad i didnt read some of these reviews before i went as it would have made me think twice. But i can honestly say that we are definatly going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    266
    167
    133
    185
See reviews for
600
113
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Just back from a weekend break with some friends at Solway. Ok, its not 5 star but we only paid £99 for the weekend so we expected that! We had hot tub, which was already on and warm when we arrived. We had to make our own beds on arrival but thats not bad. The cabin was spacious enough for 7 adults, we could all sit around the tables together. Theres a tv, freeview box and dvd player so plenty entertainment. We went to the pub on the Saturday night and there was a great atmosphere, there was a couple of guys singing and they weren't bad! Yes, its a £1 coin meter for the electricity but over the weekend we used £5 and that was with at least one heater on at all times and the hot tub always on. Plus straighteners, ipods etc so i think we did pretty well. Kitchen is well equipped with plenty pots, cutlery etc but it could be doing with decent size tumblers. Staff in the pub were really friendly and appeared to be enjoying what they were doing!
Ok, the negatives! There was a smell of dampness when we arrived and we traced it to the cupboard at the door where the boiler was. There was a patch of dampness on the wall and someone in their wisdom had put the spare bed and mattress against it. Nice. This spare bed was a single and to be honest, i've seen pieces of cardboard thicker than that mattress was! The cabin was freezing when we arrived but 15 minutes of every heater on sorted that. The cabin sleeps 8 but the fridge really isn't big enough for that amount of people. The sofa bed was unbelievably bad, the springs sagged in the middle and the stains on the mattress were just disgusting. REALLY needs replaced, i ended up sleeping on the mattress on the floor the rest of the weekend. One of the single beds was a bit dodgy, legs were buckled. The duvets were a bit thin considering it was march. Bunk beds were a bit shaky. Bathroom is huge! But the bath was coming away from the wall and there was absolutely no hot water coming out of the shower head.
But apart from all that, we had a brilliant weekend. Theres plenty to do,the pool is a good size and you can walk to the town in 20 minutes - and we seen dolphins in the sea while walking to the town so that was definately a highlight!
If you go expecting 5 star luxury, you're in for a disappointment. But we made the most of our rare time away together and it was fine for us!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Just returned from a short stint in Solway! Beleive me, I'm certain that prisons around the UK have better facilities and are better kept!
Stayed in a 6 berth lodge, (no 58), with doors that didn't shut properly, electric wall heaters that banged, and a noisy water tank that was almost en-suite! Not forgetting the lumpy beds, awful conservatiory suite (in the living room), and yes, the £1 coin electric meter, which had a bit of an appetite! Very small bedrooms, and would have grave concerns if we had had young children, as the elctric wall heaters were right next to the beds, witha sign asking not to push the beds too close to the heaters!?!
Other family members stayed in a 'luxury' lodge which must have been photographed somewhere else! It was a slight improvement on ours only they had a hot tub, oh, and ants! When they reported this to reception, the person didn't seem to understand English!
Leisure facilities were crap, the pool was freezing and then when you got out, you got 3rd degree burns in the shower. The gym seemed to be permanantly locked, but then looking through the window, who wants to cycle on a penny farthing!
We were right opposite the 'Nags Head', where all the entertainment was. It wasn't always necessary to go inside cos it was sooo loud we could hear it sat in our lodge!
Went to bingo every night which was alright, but then when that finished (around 8.30), it was kids entertainment for an hour, which was full blast through every speaker !
On the plus side... Silloth itself is small, with a picturesque coastline. Great chippy, which caters for coeliacs, and does a lovely curry (not gluten free!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billysausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silloth hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

My husband and myself went here on our 1st holiday together after being together a few months. Really good, clean and staff were friendly. Good base with lots of places to explore nearby. Silloth is a really quaint little place that takes you back in time. Definately going back again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_L_Y_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

just back from family caravan break and if i believed all the reviews then i would not have gone.no problems caravan spotlessly clean.site not cramped together like some ive been to.amusements pretty good for kids.pub good and pub grub top notch.zoo pretty impressive too .i for one will go back.silloth the town quaint and not run down.ok a couple of places closed but is there a town without an empty building?staff all friendly.if you want to go bonkers go to magaluf or blackpool.if you want to chill go to solway holiday village.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathmanduGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

we go here every year without fail to a 3 bedroom caravan with central heating full size cooker, fridge, microwave,television and shower great we break, a bit quite in october great prices plenty to do. staff are helpfull to make life easy, bingo nights and karaokee nights if you like that or pool table in the nags head . hire a bike and venture out make it as good as you want .go to the harbour and do a bit of fishing,or have a day walking.the caravans are kept in great condition and are spotless ,well thats my experience .and i will use most years to come.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We went to Solway in June 2009 on a sun holiday, cannot complain about the value, There was 6 of us and the holiday came to £150, so £25 each!!! The caravan was great, very big, clean, plenty of space (we did not feel like we were falling on top of each other)
The site has things to do, the evening entertainment is also good. The town that the village is set in is like a town from years ago but it is still nice. It was very quiet but we had plenty to do! We also tried the resturant a couple of times, it was good value for money and was nice!
Overall a good break!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky738877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
245 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
0.5 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 4 in Silloth
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Property: Solway Holiday Village
Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Solway Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing