We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here if you can't afford Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solway Holiday Village
Poulton-Le-Fylde
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go here if you can't afford Haven”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed in my tent in without electric hook-up and I think it was probably the best accommodation on the site. As we drove in to the site and over the old and tired looking tarmac road thats turning to gravel we looked at all the chalet's and static caravans rotting away. The pictures you see on tripadvisor from others are pretty accurate. It looks like they haven't invested any money in the site in the last 25 years or so.
On the plus side it was half term and the site was really quiet, I know why now. The swimming pool is clean, basic, but clean. The Jacuzzi is really just part of the main swimming pool with bubbles. There is a sauna too, which is clean and nice and hot. We wasn't given any passes when we checked in and when we tried to get in the pool the man said in broken english "passes" we said we didn't have any and he just said "ok". There is an old golf course to the rear of the park, which is now an overgrown buttercup meadow (but the tee's are still there). There is a small farm with a miniature railway (although I never saw a train on the tracks). Inside, the farm is a couple of pigs, donkeys, al pacas, deer, and a cat! There is a pitch and putt 9 hole next to the farm too. On the site is a bar which serves pizza/chips ect and a entertainment room upstairs. We decided to check out the entertainment room upstairs and as we approached there was litterally 4 people in the entire room playing bingo....we left.
On the touring field there is a shower block which in the mens has 3 toilets, 3 showers. I never had to queue, but the site was quiet. The toilets was clean, but is is probably best to wear flip flops in the shower. The water was a comfortable temperature. There are 4 sinks for dish washing and a chemical waste disposal unit.
Overall we paid £70 for 6 nights camping, this fairly cheap for cumbria, and we know why now. We didn't have an unpleasant stay, but we didn't stay in their accommodation, and didn't use their facilities.
I wouldn't go back, or recommend it to my family or friends unless they was desperate.

Room Tip: Take your own tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulse2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HagansLeisure, Employee at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi, many thanks for your visit and the feedback you left on here. I am really pleased you had a pleasant stay; however, I am at a bit of a loss as to the marks you gave us.

You say the swimming pool was CLEAN, the sauna was CLEAN and that the toilets were CLEAN yet you gave us just one out of five for cleanliness, how does that work?

Even though you ‘never had to queue’ for the shower there are times when we don’t have enough showers etc. for everyone which is why we are installing two new shower blocks over the next few weeks, just part of our ongoing improvements to the park.

Also, you stayed in your own tent yet you gave us one out of five for OUR accommodation. How?

Yes, the roads are looking a little worse for wear and this is an ongoing project for us as are the Chalets, which have all been re-clad recently. I assume ‘the rotting chalets’ refers to the state of some of the windows. Each of the chalets is being upgraded with uPVC windows, a job which is weather and customer dependant. We aim to have all chalets upgraded by the end of the year. Another example of our ongoing investment in the park.

As for ‘the rotting caravans’ the oldest hire caravan we have is 8 years old so you could only be referring to the privately owned caravans. These are owned by private individuals for their own use. We are happy to have these people on our site, contributing to the local economy on a regular basis. We make no stipulation that caravans should be updated after a set number of years as some of our owners simply couldn’t afford to do so. None of the caravans are in a condition where they are unusable.

It was a shame you didn’t see the recently arrived baby reindeer at the mini farm, her dad is hard to miss with his massive antlers.

As for being quiet, the occupancy rate the weekend you stayed was 98.75% but with the sunny weather and over 130 acres of land the best part of 1000 people are easily missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    266
    167
    133
    185
See reviews for
601
113
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We rented a 8 birth caravan on the site. The caravan was clean and had everything we needed. The swimming pool is nice but the changing facilities could be improved. The farm was enjoyable for my children. We also had a ride on the train on site.

The kids entertainment team of paul and rebecca are brilliant and kept my kids happy. There is also a bistro on site which I didnt use and a takeaway in nags bar which is delicious and food is excellent.

Silloth is a quiet victorian town with some nice traditional stores. The butchers meat is good and the ice cream shop well worth a visit.

Overall a nice place for a relaxing break. Ideal to explore boarders and the northern lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HagansLeisure, Employee at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We are really glad you enjoyed the entertainment team, Paul and Rebecca have worked really hard to improve the standard of entertainment on site and we are please to see it has made an impression. We are working hard to improve the facilities on site and hopefully when you return it will be even better. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been coming here for the past 20 years since I holidayed with my own parents.
I was last here in 2008 and thought it was starting to look tired.
Glad to report that the entire park has undergone refurbishment. Noticed a big difference in the bar and restaurant.
For the first time, we stayed in a caravan. It was the Orlando model and well equipped.
My only gripe would be that there were no similarities between the website pics and the actual van itself. However, my family of 6 were happy enough and the caravan was spotlessly clean.
I was also impressed by the reasonable prices in the shop on site. I had forgotten a few items and it was was both convenient and cheap! Unheard of!!!

A great base to explore the Lake District. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HagansLeisure, Employee at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We have refurbished quite a bit of the park but we do have a way to go yet, but when you have over 130 acres to look after there is always something that needs refurbishing. At the moment we are concentrating on up grading the Chalets but we have also recently changed a lot of the caravans which is why your van didn't look like the pictures on the website. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
422 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We love Silloth and the Solway Coast - We were here last Summer and it is a great base to explore the area... yes there are issues ... limited facilities for campers/tourers (only three toilets and showers available for men) there is talk about improving/increasing these BUT we have seen little improvement in the last 8 months :( It is a sprawling site and in areas it is tired and grubby... me thinks they need to concentrate on areas and bring these to a higher standard... camping/touring is a great area but is a let down when there are queues all morning to use the limited facilities the site has.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Sorry for late review, we stayed over New years eve with a fairly big group reason being we were getting married up near here. We stayed for 2013 new yr and thought that it would be a brilliant base for our wedding party for the following year, the staff could of been more helpful to us they even shut the bistro so we can use that room all day and night an decorated it lovely for us. Food was excellent hats off to the chef, not 1 complaint form any of our guests.
We stayed in the 4 bed chalet with hot tub it was lovely and clean we noticed that new PVC doors had been placed this yr round. Kitchen had everything you could need including the tin opener now we all know that's something you will forget to bring... bathroom was clean and smelt clean when we arrived. Living room was massive which was needed the morning of the wedding with my big dress and others getting ready. Beds were very comfy.
Other guests stayed in 6 bed Chalets and where all pleased with accommodation no complaints from anyone.
Hotel pool is brilliant for kids they loved playing in it and life guards are on the ball when my eldest got out of his depth the previous year they were in before I could even react. unfortunately the pool was closed on New years day so the staff let us have a late check out so we could go the next day instead. We didn't go the farm this year but other guests did and really enjoyed it.

The staff are wonderful and couldn't do enough to help us while organising how many chalets we needed and food for the wedding breakfast.

We are planning to get back here for our anniversary and we can't wait as it is such a brilliant base for so many places

Thank you so much Solway Holiday Village xxxx

Room Tip: Pay extra for a hot tub well worth it especially in the winter and star gaze Kitchen has everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellmedaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Like a lot on here was apprehensive with the reviews. However as a last minute booking for camping decided to take a chance, and glad we did.

To be fair the place is looking a bit tired but i couldn't fault the cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff here.

Arrived on site and went into reception really friendly and they had a little plastic duck for the children, probably cost them pence but the thought was lovely and something others could learn from.

Touring wardens never seemed to stop from litter picking first thing in the morning to showing people to pitches in the evening and always having time for a chat, even giving our daughter some bread to feed the pigs on the farm with with was nice to have a walk around and look at the animals.

We used the swimming pool everyday which was not too busy even on a bank holiday weekend and again nice and clean.

Shower block again a bit dated but clean and not too busy, pitches were nice and large and tent pegs just pushed into the ground. We lost electric a couple of times during the weekend I think because it was bank holiday and busy, the wardens were soon onto it even at 11.30 at night and was back on within a few minutes.

A special mention has to be for the childrens entertainment team, not sophisticated (just like most children) but perfect. They had such a way with the kids that made them all feel special and thoroughly enjoyed the games and dancing, the cost was worth it for just this.

So in summary if you are prepared to be forgiving of the site being a bit dated and appreciate that sometimes it is the people that make it, then this is the site to go for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Entrance said it all wished I had turned round and left.
Our hearts sanked at the state of the place, but we had hoped by getting settled in it wouldn't be as bad as we put it down too being tired and spending over 6hrs on the road. We were welcomed and was given a free bottle of wine urmmmmm needed a few to numb you or prepare you who knows.
We found our lodge only too find there was no where to park the car, plus our main view was a tennis court and our bedroom view broken old tiles and concrete looked more like a dumping ground. It was also near the main turning point for all the campers with there vans so very noisy.
The lodge was dirty, the sofa was stained the doors were all chipped and broken the fan in the kitchen had never seen a dish cloth and there was no blinds on the toilet and kitchen window so any one could see in at night. The tv was pre dated and the volume was poor. The hot tub was set badly out side you had too walk around where you could be seen by every one and it wasn't appealing to say the least.
To top it of we took a short walk up to the main complex and there was cigarette butts every where, the restaurant was closed but all the dirty pots were still on the tables.
The arcade was dark and dirty and some of the machines had no prizes in them and were very run down,my kids were heart broken and very disappointed. The pool we could only use for an hour so didn't even go look at it.
I went too complain but the staff behind reception were too busy eating her sandwich.
Found they were no help and left very angry and upset.
The whole place needs more than a lick of paint it needs a bomb under it all and a complete rebuild.
How any one could like it here amazes me all I can say is they need too get out more.
Even the kids staying there had foul mouths swearing and were very rude, and I have 2 of my own but I brought them up better than that and couldn't subject them to that any longer.
We packed our cases and left.
We complained to Hoseasons who finally got us moved, it was the worse 12hrs stay ever and the park had the nerve too charge us for a nights stay.
PLEASE PLEASE NEVER GO HEAR. Our holiday was cut short but we ended up in the most beautiful place in the end thanks too a brilliant staff member at Hoseasons customer services.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silloth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
0.5 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 3 in Silloth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Property: Solway Holiday Village
Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Solway Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing