We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Solway...!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solway Holiday Village
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“We Love Solway...!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What More Can I Say We Stay Here Quite A lot As My Partners Parents Own A Caravan We Love It Aswel As Our 2 Boys Bradley & Dylan, They Absolutly Adore Paul & Bex They Both Really Fantastic Towards Kids & Always Have Plenty Of Entertainment On During Day & Night, Couldn't Meet A Nicer Couple. We Are Back Too Enjoy Solway Holiday In A Few Weeks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkys29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    269
    168
    134
    188
See reviews for
606
117
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

After reading reviews on here I was dreading staying here but was pleasantly surprised. I agree that parts of the park need updated but this did not impact on our stay. They just need to give so e areas a lick of paint if some TLC. Our caravan was clean and well equipped and in a peaceful area. We ate in the bar one evening and it was typical pub standard food. Staff all very friendly and swimming pool was good. We did not use any the entertainment etc as if was really only a base for sleeping and we were out in the local areas during the day. West beach in silloth worth going to on a nice day and the town itself is quiet but nice. Nice big park area with playground etc.
Overall it was a good trip and was far better than expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just back from Solway and to be honest we had a really nice time. It wasn't too busy which was great because it was easy to get access to the swimming, seats in the bar etc. Usually when we go to a Haven resort you have to wait ages to get on anything.

No complaints at all about the food from Nags. Served quickly and tasted nice. Staff were very courteous and polite.

Accomodation was basic but served our needs as it was just a base point. Shower didn't work though. But overall quiet and ok.

Loved Paul and Beks. Thought he was brilliant with the kids with the games at night. He has a cracking manner and dry sense of humor with the kids.

Not state the obvious. Needs a few quid spent on the site which I'm sure the management know about but the potential is there.

All in all, yeah I'd take my kids back. May book for my summer holidays. If a wee offer was on I'd book right now. (LOL Hint Management Go On)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenmccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently stayed at Solway as a family. Kids, parents and grandparents. We were a little concerned about reviews. I have to say most of them are unfounded! Every night the kids were entertained for at least one and a half hours, with games, kids shows, party dances and Felix the cat. What was great was that not only were the kids entertained so were the adults. Often on family holiday parks its is all about the kids. Solway has found a nice balance! The bingo was popular with good price money, and although not for everyone the main moaners were parents who just wanted their kids to run riot all night. Bingo only lasted about twenty mins so long enough but did not drag on. After bingo every night there was a family activity like race night or T,V, theme tune quiz, which again was popular. I personally cannot understand some of the more negative comments on here. It seems to me some people are just moaning for the sake of it. All activities and entertainment was done in a controlled family minded way! If people didn't want to be quiet during bingo they didn't have to be in the venue while bingo was on! It is clearly advertised and there were other venues. We a;l had a great time and will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311Herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Upon arrival we got the keys early for our brand new three bed caravan. Accommodation was second to none.

The Nags Head bar is a soulless room with no atmosphere whatsoever. The adjoining "arcade" has no change facility. and the bar will not change money.

The Irish Bar is never open and the main venue Harleys Bar expects children to keep quiet. When bingo is on for half hour. Night and day. Also during the entertainment.

As the only bar without stairs is the Nags Head. A total absence of any lift or stair lift. I would not recommend this place for disabled visitors.

On the whole. This place needs a complete rethink. It seems to have one aim and one aim only. To get as much money out of guests during their stay.

If visiting this area it might be a good idea to find a more suitable holiday park. This one is ok if all your party are young and fit. Without the desire top be entertained while drinking overpriced drinks.

Room Tip: The accommodation here is excellent. The rest of the park let it down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gongfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silloth hotels

Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The kids loved the break this Easter! The chalet was great and the hot tub brill! Defiantly recommend and go again. The kids entertainment was good all ages of kids got involved including some adults at the end of the night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batty508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchinnan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic week at Easter, kids had a ball. Entertainment Team, Paul and Rebecca were fab and worked really hard to give the kids a great time at kids club and kept the whole family entertained at night. There is not a lot to do in Silloth itself but with everything going on at Solway we didn't go into Silloth. Lake District and Carlisle on your doorstep so great base if you want to see the sights. Already booked for the summer!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
0.5 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 3 in Silloth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Property: Solway Holiday Village
Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Solway Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing