We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst holiday ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solway Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solway Holiday Village
Kennebunkport, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst holiday ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

After looking forward to a holiday with our grandchildren that we see only rarely do to distance, we were disappointed to find our accomadation dirty, smelling of urine, dirty sheets in one of the cupboards, and the wind howling through gaps and windows and doors. The whole place didn't look like it had been cared for since the 1950's. The food in the bistro was undercooked and bland and while the swimming pool itself was clean the changing rooms were cold and dirty with nowhere to get young children changed and as for carrying a basket and trying to hold onto a wet cold child no hope. Anyone going should make sure they take a shop with them as there is no decent shop on site and silloth itself if a rundown dump of a town with bordered up buildings and no decent shops or restaurants. I know people may say you get what you pay for but surely basic hygiene is a must not something to expect. The only plus side was that the staff were friendly and helpful. We made the most of this holiday by going much further afield to find something that the children would enjoy, however we cut short the holiday because we could not subject our grandchildren to the damp draughty grassmere chalet. The whole place needs a complete refurbishment.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
thank you for your feedback and sorry that Solway Holiday Village and indeed Silloth didnt live up to your expectations - as we do for so many other holiday makers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    259
    164
    131
    183
See reviews for
582
113
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely place with kids on mid term. I must say the place is very nice and offers a good experience for family holidays. The pool and every other thing was fantastic.
On a sour note,improvement is needed on the lounge as the sofa sets were not comfy at all and an update on television is needed. Other than that I would highly recommend this place as it offers a lot in the area Keswick and Windermere just to mention a few.we will definitely be coming back again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed yourself and cant wait to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We paid for passes to use the swimming pool etc but on arrival were told we would not be using the pool as it was too full. No apology by staff nor offer of refund (or even part refund). Incidentally, when we walked past the pool we noticed that there were only about 10 people in it, so perhaps some people book a slot and don't turn up?? Either way, we were not able to go in the pool. In email communication since our stay, the facilities manager has quoted me a clause that she / he thinks makes it acceptable to charge customers for a facility they cannot access.

Have never stayed at a site with so few showers and toilets for the amount of tourers - long queues in the ladies' bathroom.

Dogs running free off the lead. Family nearby blasting music out of their parked car for all the tourers to 'enjoy'.

Young staff in the bistro provided lovely service even when very busy at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiewhippet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
thank you for your feedback and sorry that you have not had the chance to fully enjoy our facilities - we do encourage people to have a good time but unfortunately cannot police every situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silloth hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked into a buttermere chalet with our three children. On arrival we were advised to drive over the grass to reach our chalet where we got half way until getting stuck in the mud. Luckily a very nice bloke came and pulled us out in his tractor. Why reception told us to go across the water logged grass is beyond me!

The chalet itself was very tired and dated. No wine glasses in the unit or a toaster or other obvious things. Beds weren't made up so we had to do this ourselves which after a long journey you don't really need. The chalet was not very child friendly. No shelves to put anything out of childrens way and video recorder, small coffee table and electric heaters all at toddler level - a nightmare. The doors didn't fit the frames properly which made it difficult to keep the place warm. Microwave was rusty on the inside and the blinds and walls looked unloved.

Bathroom was cold and uninviting and, like another reviewer, had a sign saying that it sometimes wouldn't work due to water pressure. Fire door right next door to the room with bunk beds where the children slept gave cause for concern regarding security. Can't comment on the hot tub as we didn't use it but it wasn't under cover which wasn't a good thing.

The night was awful. We seemed to be surrounded by groups of people having loud parties til 2am. Woke the children up and then we all had to lie and listen to the neighbours swearing and talk that wasn't fit for children. I don't decry anyone a holiday but families should be catered for in a different area to single and groups or adults out for a good time. The holiday was booked through Hoseasons and portrayed as a family oriented holiday so it never occurred to me to ask for a quiet area or anything like that.

We complained in the morning and I must say that the lady I spoke to tried to do her best to help us by moving us to a different area of the site and gave us a complimentary meal voucher as well as free electric (though being charged by a meter is a bit annoying to start with - why not just add it onto the overall cost of the chalet?).

Whilst our new accommodation was being organised we went to the on site swimming pool. As others have said, the pool itself is of a good standard with different areas for young children and adults. Again, the surrounding area looked tired though and the changing rooms were freezing and not at all child friendly. No where to put your little one whilst getting them dry or to put them whilst you are getting dry. Also, no lockers so you have to carry all of your belongings in a basket to the pool area and keep them there. A bit strange but not a problem until you have a dripping wet child in your arms who needs to be carried back to the changing rooms as well as a big basket of all your clothes, coats and other things.

After swimming we went for something to eat in the bar / restaurant area. The place was deserted. We ordered our food and received it in an acceptable timeframe. Nothing spectacular but nice enough and better than I'd expected. Following this we then went to our new chalet. This was smaller than the one we had booked but I was happy with this as it still should have given us enough space. However, again the interior was very tired and unloved. The childrens bed rooms were at the front of the accommodation overlooking the road. The room had a door with one of the beds against it which again gave concern regarding security and also was quite drafty.

Living room was small with pine/wicker furniture - looked like a conservatory from 30 years ago! The room was so small that the dining table was in the kitchen where there was insufficient room to enjoy a meal comfortably. As well, the flooring around the fridge was unfinished or missing leaving exposed concrete on display.

In the end we decided that enough was enough and we came home - we didn't last 24 hours. We had booked with Hoseasons the previous year (Kielder Water) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The visit to Solway left us very disappointed and questioning whether to use Hoseasons again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and sorry that you feel that you didn't have the best experience at our Park we are rated 3 stars by the Tourist Board and have many 100's of families who enjoy themselves year after year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The lodge we booked was tired, damp, cold and used excessive electricity to keep it at a reasonable temperature. You need to stock up on pound coins for the meter. The whole site is a dump, everything is worn out, the staff are uninterested and un-helpful. The doors in our 'chalet' didn't close properly nor did any of the windows which flapped about relentlessly in the wind all weekend. The fridge door wouldn't close either. The bathroom ceiling had damp marks accross it the there are cold drafts pouring into every room.

The service in the bar is poor beyond a joke, the food is bland and that's if they haven't managed to burn it to a crisp.

The pool is the only thing that isn't too bad, you can't use the gym unless you are unfortunate enough to own a 'chalet' on the site. There isn't anything to do, if you venture outside of the park there isn't anything else to do either, everywhere is run down, shut or falling apart.

If your thinking of coming here don't, unless its free or they pay you. Other than that you'd be better off just burning your money, Or if your really desprate stopping somewhere really run down in a rough part of the country which would likely give you a better experience than this place.

Room Tip: Stop somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - in response our holiday lodges are in a refurbishment program including new doors and windows which is improving the standard every day - we have never had a complaint regarding the power consumption before indeed some people have even commented how little they have spent !!! Our staff are constantly praised for their customer service skills so again I cant explain your comment. Our Bar and Bistro has an extensive menu and takeaway option and has just gained 4 star status. The park has also just been awarded 3 stars from the tourist board. The local area is popular with thousands of holiday makers every year and is in no way run down - being part of a preservation & conservation area !!! Perhaps Silloth and the Solway Holiday Village just wasn't your thing as it is for so many 1000's of others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

we arrived on a cold wet Monday evening and made our way to the reception area where we were greeted my a friendly member of staff. I had booked the holiday through the daily mirror £9.00 promotion and had paid extra for the entertainment passes (£28.00). the lady went to find our booking and informed me that there had been a mix up with keys but we were still booked in an Orlando caravan and everything else was the same as on the original booking. we made our way to the caravan, that was situated in a nice quiet spot with no vans either side of us and it was facing the kids play area and the all weather football pitch, something that pleased my 13yr old. the van itself was spotless although lacking in basic cooking utensils (no toaster, and only 2 pans, no oven trays, and no serving utensils). we went to look at the bedrooms to find that although clean there was no bedding, i had rung up 2 days before to check that bedding was included and was told the beds would be made up ready for our arrival. I went back to reception and explained that because of the mix up with keys and having to change van the beds had not been made, to be told in no uncertain terms that if you book it cheap you get cheap and that i would have to pay for linen hire! at a cost of £17.00 for a double and a single. I protested and said that i had rung 2 days before to check to be told the beds would be made up for me." Well they lied!" was the reply from a member of staff who did,nt even look up at me but carried on doing what ever was so important. another staff member decided to give the bedding free of charge after checking my booking and realizing the original mix up. so off i went to make up beds before we could even unpack! We decided after eating at the local chippy that we would see what the entertainment had to offer, i took the passes and went to the harley club( no one asked for passes) we then after an hour or so went to the Nags Head bar (no one asked for passes). we spent five days here visiting the swimmimg pool, bars and arcade, and not once were we asked to show our passes that i was told were compulsory and that i had paid £28.00 for the right to keep them in my purse all week! All in all the camp is ok if a little tired looking, the staff however need serious customer service training!!!! and they need to be clear from there booking what you get included ie bedding. MY TIP DO NOT BE FORCED INTO PURCHASING ENTERTAINMENT PASSES!!!!!!.

Room Tip: Ask whats included and get written confirmation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 997jandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - sorry that you have experienced bad communication and poor customer service. We frequently receive extremely positive feedback regarding our staff and the whole team is committed to looking after our guests so can only apologise. Passes are required at all of our facilities just in case they are requested as failure to produce would not allow use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Looked good in the pictures on the internet but alas not in reality. Booked an Orlando caravan which was basic but clean. No toaster or baking trays and the grill didn't work. The whole park is tired and tatty. The park needs updating the football pitch was more like a skating rink as the covering was just like a thin felt with patches of slippy moss, and the park was just as poor.
The "Outdoor Sports" at kids club consisted of a Welly throwing competition!!!!!!!! poor value for money in my view

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Front Office Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - we are sorry that you have not enjoyed our park which has just been awarded 3 stars from the tourist board and who's staff and facilities are constantly praised by others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.7 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
8.9 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Property: Solway Holiday Village
Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Solway Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing