We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solway Holiday Village
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned from a family camping trip to Solway Holiday village. We were nearly put off by previous reviews, but everyone glad we went. Site huge, but spacious, with great tennis courts and swimming pool was clean with friendly professional lifeguards (sauna was an added bonus).
Children cycled everywhere as site nice and flat, they enjoyed the small farm which was part of site and had a collection of small ponies, goats, pigs, rabbits and deer.
Reception staff and service people were really helpful and friendly (even blew our airbeds up as we had forgotten our pump!)
We ate in the restaurant and voucher given when booking in, made this affordable and food went down well.
Silloth is a gentle flat walk away.
Management are obviously investing in site to improve amenities and work was being carried out.
Only a couple of minor gripes which could easily be rectified and notices were evident that this was the case.
Increase capacity in dishwashing room and improve showers at pool. I would recommend this site and probably return.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank EmmaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Got deal via Groupon and used for tent pitch with extra paid for late check out and electric hook up. Hook up was extra £9.50 and late check out was £4.50 to leave at 6pm. This was quite unusual as could not pitch up until 4 pm and check out was 10am. Usually you can arrive somewhere and pitch up straight away and check out is usually midday - 4pm, so not even 24 hrs. The park wasn't particularly busy, but all the tents were close together, which was a bit off a pain with noisy families e.g toddlers screaming after midnight and other parties battling over music. However, this isn't Hagans fault. The toilets on the otherhand were probably the worst campsite loos I have ever been in, though not the worst ones I had ever seen. Being reasonable, it had rained so there was mucky marks all over the floor. There was a mop and pale though full off mucky water just lying there, I don't know if by staff or residents. Unfortunately one of the loos was stained trailing all the way over to the sanitary bin. The hand towel dispenser was faulty and towels were strewn all over the floor. The toilets themselves were very cramped, you were scraped by the loo roll holder on one side and the sanitary bins on the other - cringeworthy. The loos were like this from our arrival till next morning, when they were reasonably cleaned. Other campsites at this level usually clean the loos at least 3 times per day.
The loos kind off put us off going to the pool and what might lie ahead. The pool only opened 10-1pm then 2-5pm. There was a tennis court and mini golf and we were given what looked to be a
good daily programme right up to nightime entertainment, none of which we went to.
Silloth itself seemed pretty quite. The show rides were just arriving, but not much to do. Would recommend you hire/ bring bikes. Have previously been further down the coast and through the
lakes which is lovely. There is a steam railway at Ravenglass with open carriages and they doThomas The Tank engine events which are great for kids.
I probably wouldn't recommend this park as there are much cleaner available. Would only have given 2 stars but staff were nice and they did have what looked to be a reasonable activities programme. There is food available at the campsite as well as a couple of hotels, a couple of fish and chip cafe's, Chinese takeaway and Bangladeshi cafe near by in village. Spar and cooperative are also there too.

Room Tip: The seagulls are quite noisy and try and get pitched in a sheltered area due to wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACS033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

solway holiday village is like a ghost town! With nothing to do but a crap club house, we even went for a walk round silloth to see if there was anything to do outside the holiday park and nothing! even the swimming pool was rubbish and small. On the internet the place was labled as a very fun lively holiday park and it was anything but! we were supposed to stay for 5 days and went home less than 2 days after we got here, the only possitives is the accomodation and the staff who were very helpful especially Laura.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We too had our doubts after reading a lot of the above reviews but decided to give it our best shot. the first impressions arent great,rundown and dated,we went through the sun newspaper deal so we got what we paid for,tho im glad we paid a bit extra and upgraded to an orlando caravan,3bed,gch,double glazed. staff are lovely,very friendly and helpful,our 2 kids loved felix and the entertainment team,pool served its purpose and outdoor kids play area was well used,,but adult entertainment was very lacking. all in all,a nice 3 day break but would definitely not pay brochure price!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Booked a 3 day break through the sun newspaper. After reading the poor reviews I had my concerns as to the standard of this park. Oh boy was I right to be concerned.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception, who advised us that we would be staying in a chalet.
As soon as we walked in the smell hit us, old and fusty. The decor is very dated and also smelly, shabby curtains, dirty nets, sofa's worn and smelly.

We had paid £7 for electricity per night. For the electricity to come on we had to slot a £ in the meter, which we did get back, this was a whole new experience for me, only to find that half way through the night the pound needed to be put back in the machine.

The bed was very hard and uncomfortable, we had asked for linen to be provided big mistake, poppers on duvey cover missing, the state of the duvey was disgusting, to the point that I thought we would wake up in the morning with some kind of skin rash. The shower only managed to produce hot water for one person.

Siloth it's self is very boaring there is nothing to do at all. We couldn't find any place to eat at night apart from a chip shop, luckily carlie isn't to far away.

As for it being close to the lake district it is at least an hr way from windemere. We decided in the end to cut are loses and leave the next day and find a b&b closer to the lakes. I can honestly say this place is awfull. I haven't children so it might be better for families, and I didn't use the on sight facilities these might be ok but on my opinion I very much doubt it. I didn't expect 5 star as what I paid reflects to a certain extent but I did expect it to be clean.

Seriously anyone who thinks about going here, should really think long and hard, for a few extra pounds you can stay somewhere nice and closer to the lakes and reduce the chances of waking up itching.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kwdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked for 1 week and stayed for 17 hours in the park run by Hagans?? Not the company we booked through.
The accommodation was dated, in poor repair and had a foisty smell.
Our bedroom had a door to the boiler/cupboard space. The door couldn't close as the bed was in the way!!! (See photo).
2 electric heaters didn't work, the "hot" water was tepid at best and the carpets would have suited a slum in the Gorbals. Curtains & net curtains were obviously for different windows as the jagged scissor work betrayed a poor standard of maintenance or fit out. (See photo).
The bath panel had to be repaired as it was a danger to anyone attempting to get in & out.
One of the bars was closed for refurbishment during the high season????? The pool table in the Nags Head bar shared the balls with a table in another bar area - this was the adult entertainment.
The food was proudly displayed as satisfactory = level 3 out of 5 on a poster by the restaurant.
The Walled garden was devoid of flowers but did have a fountain/pond complete with an artificial crocodile and at least 12 months of weed & algae.
Management were unavailable for comment & left the responsibility to young staff.
The only entertainment we found was 2 donkeys which could be viewed from our window, this was not actually provided as part of the holiday but you have to make your own fun at this park!!!
I have lived & worked in Iraq, Afghanistan & Ethiopia for the last 5 years; my accommodation, albeit small, was never of such a poor standard as can be found at the park in Silloth.
Thankfully after this dire experience we have managed to book a holiday in Cyprus and are leaving in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Just back from along weekend, stayed in the Orlando caravan it was well used but still nice. The staff were excellent the food was good and overall it is a very good site and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
267 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
17.8 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
202 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing