We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Bliss”
other travelers have booked this property
The Grey House Silloth, The Annexe is at the rear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grey House Silloth, The Annexe is at the rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Grey House Silloth, The Annexe is at the rear
From the sitting room window towards the woods
Entrance to the Annexe
Grey House Location, Annexe is visible to the rear of the house
The Green in Front of Grey House
Silloth in Winter
Sunset over Silloth
A Winters day in Allonby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Silloth, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Although we have stayed in Silloth before this was our first experience of The Grey House Annexe. We were warmly welcomed, thanks Trudy, and enjoyed every aspect of our stay there.

The annexe was cosy and warm with excellent decor and comfortable furnishings; especially the bed. It was equipped with everything you could possibly need and then some. There was a really good selection of DVDs and books, although with all Sky channels provided on the wide screen TV they weren't really required. The garden, although smallish was fully enclosed and totally escape proof for our dog, who could put Houdini to shame! There was a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and basic essentials. Also, importantly, a plentiful supply of washing up liquid and toilet roll, things which I hate to buy on a S.C holiday but have to, all too often.

The annexe was in an ideal situation, adjacent to both prom and green. We loved the wild life who visited the garden; the dog was intrigued by the hedgehog and frog in particular.

All in all it was a wonderful holiday, totally relaxing and we would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly unbelievably brilliant place”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After reading the website for the cottage and the reviews people have written about it, I knew I'd found a good place to go on holiday. How I underestimated it!!!!
From the minute I arrived in Silloth, I realised how peaceful and tranquil the place is, and when I walked into the cottage, I couldn't find a single thing to fault it with.
Lorna and Martin have thought of everything when furnishing the cottage, really well equipped kitchen with everything you would need, super comfy furniture in the living room with sky TV and wifi for when you don't want to leave the cottage, and a bed I felt that was so comfy (and HUGE) that I felt like spending the whole holiday in it!!
The location of the cottage is brilliant, walks along the sea front right from your door, a brilliant bakers (if you come here, be sure to try the meat and potato pies from here!!) and a fish and chip shop that sells the best fish and chips I've ever had.
Having the green right next to the cottage is brilliant for taking your dog with you, plenty of open space for them to have a run. The beach in Silloth isn't the best, alot of rocks and some rather slippery steps to get down when you've got a dog pulling you, but 10/20 mins up the road and you get to Allonby, which has a brilliant sandy beach with dogs running all over the place together. Talking of dogs, I've never known holiday accomodation come with a "dog box" that has everything you might need, from bowls, towels, blankets and toys, and even has some treats and mixer for your dog!!
Lorna and Martin really have thought of everything in this cottage.
Thank you for such a brilliant relaxing stay, will definitely be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the cottage and the facilities inside are unbelievable!!!
Liked least: Can't fault Lorna and Martin for anything.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2013
Thank you so much - we get such pleasure when our guests have a good holiday. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairidh...
Stornoway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Excellent accommodation - comfortable, well-furnished, well-equipped, spotlessly clean - in a very quiet area. Warm welcome from owners, and they were on hand if needed during our stay. Cottage just a few yards from the shore, with its long promenade - great for watching the sun setting in the evening. Sky TV available, and not just the free channels - UK Gold and Documentaries (my favourites!) as well as other non-free channels - haven't come across this before in s/c accommodation. Wi-fi also very handy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location by the shore.
Liked least: Dining area rather dark, and it's through the lounge from the kitchen, so we usually ate from trays on our knees in the lounge!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have had the best time at the Grey House, the place is immaculately clean and owners have carefully thought about every detail. Location is superb with lovely beach at literally 30 seconds walking distance. Martin could not have been more welcoming, he provided us with all the information we need about the local area. Our dog was welcomed and even got to have a run around with the owner's dog.
If you are going up this way, you simply won't find a better home to stay at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: how amazing the house is
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Noeline_1...
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful in all respects.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My daughter and I stayed one week and every single thing we needed was provided. The Annex was scrupulously clean; tastefully decorated; comfortable, and eisthetically pleasing. We were able to entertain friends and family and our hosts, Martin and Lorna, were friendly, interesting and very helpfull. Home from Home, we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness,decore,location and serenity.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela G
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cant wait to return”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We have stayed in Silloth a few times but this is the first time at the grey house anenx and it won't be our last. It has everything and more you could wish for in a holiday cottage. The bed is the best I have ever slept in and the kitchen is better equiped than my own one at home. The enclosed garden is a bonus if like us you have your dog with you. The property is very close to the town and has great walks right from your very own front door. The property is much bigger than the photos make it look.
If you are thinking about booking this property do it now as when the word gets out it will be full all year round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;