We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Golf Hotel

Golf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Silloth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you to complement our convivial atmosphere. The perfect setting to meet family, friends or colleagues from early morning through until late evening. We offer Breakfast, our famous morning coffee complete with our homemade cakes, scones & shortbread biscuits, lunch, afternoon teas, evening meals all served in our comfortable well appointed lounge. With lovely views over the town green and Solway Coast to the Criffel across the bay. You can choose from a range of cold draught beers, to include our local Derwent Brewery (Parsons Pledge), an international personally selected wine list, a wide selection of single malts.You can indulge you palate on the very finest, fresh local produce that Cumbria has to offer. Our Chef and kitchen team prepare our food using flair and imagination to leave you with a memorable experience.Bon Appetite
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were advised to try this place and we pleased we went.Great food and great price, Great service from the staff, would definately recommend it

Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thanks for posting your very kind review, please return again soon.
Kind regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 159 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

what a fantastic meal we had on the 14th of April.we all said how good it was and would recommend the Golf hotel to everyone.We were on holiday and it was lovely.The only thing when we asked for mustard it was given to us in a plastic bottle.Come on just put some in a dish.Well done top meal and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thanks for posting your recent review.
Nice to hear your group enjoyed a fantastic meal.We use plastic squeezy bottles of Brand named as they are more hygienic and reduce waste, allowing us to deliver a safer food offer to our customers.
On your return visit just request your mustard to be served from a dish and we will gladly oblige.
Kind regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have a caravan local to the Hotel but as our normal eating out place has closed we thought we would give the Golf a try.

First in March 2013,7 of us on a busy Sat night and the service even though busy was faultless

The food was amazing and there were 5 items on the menu i wanted ,went for the mixed grill seafood mmmmm fantastic ,washed down with local real ale produced not 100 yards away.

Visited again thurs 4th april ,big birthday party with 12 of us.The service was not quite as good but one waitress and one barman was a little understaffed in my opinion.The waitress although rushed off her feet was superb ,chatty ,smiling ,and willing to please.

Mussels to start ,and Haggis for main for me DELICIOUS!! My son had a steak which he said was splendid.

The Chef did a fantastic job as all 12 meals came out pretty much together piping hot ,fresh and with proper home cooked chips and fresh crunchy veg (not the norm boiled to death stuff).

My only gripe on this visit was no real ale which was dissapointing as most of us are real ale drinkers and would of purchased more drinks had it been on.

We are won over with the place and will be back May bank hol see you then.

Tarnside gang

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hiramcodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thanks for posting your recent review.
Its great to hear you thought our food was amazing and service faultless.
Sorry to hear we had sold out of real ale on the evening of your visit, we have now increased our stock levels accordingly to prevent any further issues.
Look forward to your next visit in May.
Kind regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

outside looked rundown - interior lovely with impressive menu and cold Guinness on tap. Staff helpful and chatty but not over so.. Good selection of local beers or wine by the glass. Very good find for dinner.

Thank Yasmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thanks for posting your recent review.
Its great to hear you enjoyed our selection of drinks and enjoyed your meal with us.
Kind regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Have been to the Golf Hotel several times over the past fifteen years for meals. When owned by Fausto and Christine you were always guaranteed an excellent meal that was value for money but since the hotel was taken over by the new management it could be a bit "hit and miss". Last Friday evening with my husband and a friend we decided to give it another go and was very pleasantly surprised. There was a new menu with some lovely new additions. Food was fresh and nicely presented,my husband said his steak was one of the nicest he had eaten. Staff as ever were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janebmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for posting your recent review. Glad to hear you like our new menu of freshly prepared and well presented local produce. Our steaks are supplied by Harrisons Butchers in Wigton who purvey only the finest Cumbria produce. I have shared your very positive comments with my team and we all look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golf Hotel also viewed

 
Silloth, Cumbria
 

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing