We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very very helpful”
Review of Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed, like last time all the staff were very helpful and it has a friendly atmosphere. Food was good and reasonably priced and so was the bar. I haven't tried any other hotels in Silloth but I do like this one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper, the town suffers from HGVs runnin...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onshontai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thanks for posting your recent review.
It's great to hear you returned and like your last visit found my team very helpful. It's nice that your enjoyed our food and beverage and thought we were reasonably priced.

Please return soon.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Golf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 265 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

was at the golf hotel on the 12th june for two days. Hotel very clean bit old fashioned but very nice. Food plenty of and very good indeed. Staff very friendly indeed. Not much to do in silloth unless you are a golfer or you stay at one of the caravan parks but a very nice clean and friendly place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingrid18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review.
It's lovely to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. I have shared your very kind comments with my team.

Please return soon.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are staying in a rented apartment for a week, and called in on Sun. night for a meal. The waitresses and manager were attentive and helpful. Extensive menu. We chose pork and black pudding stack and chilli con carne. They were nicely presented and very nicely cooked. Portion size so generous we couldn't tackle a dessert. Chilli was homemade, the pork came with boulangere potatoes and mixed root veg. with a very tasty jus. The bill was very reasonable and we hope we may have another meal here before our week ends. Thank you, Golf Hotel!
L

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Avia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for posting your recent reviews. It is great to hear you found us to be attentive and helpful and your food nicely cooked and presented. Your pork was accompanied with dauphinoise potatoes. Nice to hear your bill was very reasonable.

Please visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend,two nights B/B.The breakfast was excellent.Our room was very spacious and clean with a modern bathroom.The room looked out over the green and beyond to Criffle.The staff were very friendly.We would stay here again.We have already recommended The Golf Hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room with view over the green.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review. It is so nice to hear you both enjoyed a wonderful weekend in a very spacious and clean room with a modern bathroom.

Lovely to hear our staff were friendly, also that you will return again and that you have already recommended us to family and friends.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great venue in a nice street close to a fabulous golf course. That's where the good points end! Sorry the breakfast was ok. The rest - the decor, room, bed, service, staff - all stuck in the 70's when Princess Margaret opened the hotel. It's reputation is so bad in the town, the staff at the golf club insisted I eat there and not at the hotel. I needed to pay an extra £20 on my midweek rate to get a room with a shower! I won't ever be back and would never recommend!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for your feedback. Glad you found breakfast ok. Sorry to hear you had issues elsewhere. Firstly you booked a double standard room for £90 though Booking.com. Where it clearly stated the price is for a room and not per person. It also states standard rooms are on our second floor and displays photographs. When you arrived and checked in you requested an upgrade to a first floor executive room and were charged £20.

Upon reading your review I personally phoned you to discuss your issues. Our ground and first floors have been totally refurbished to a very high standard albeit our second floor is still dated. I have reimbursed you £30 as a goodwill gesture, as if you had booked direct with the hotel your rate would you would have been £65 B&B & £15 single supplement for single occupancy totalling £80 in one of our first floor executive rooms. You stated during our phone conversation that it was a female bar person at the Golf Club who insisted that you eat there and not here as our reputation in the town is so bad. Only she will know who she is as it was Tuesday 6th May 2014 around 8.30pm when you dined at the Golf Club.
We are an AA two star hotel and I can see by your previous reviews you have enjoyed the facilities of five star Fairmont St Andrews whose prices range from £178 to £529 per room. I think on balance your expectations and comparisons need some adjustment to reflect the difference.

Sorry to hear you won't ever be back, but have a drink on me with your £30 refund.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Wifi only available down stairs, not in rooms. Only street parking. Very run down. Warm, clean. Excellent breakfasts. Suitable for groups of men using the fantastic golf course close by. It needs painting. Only a bath in our room, so needs a shower. Heating good.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for posting your recent review. You booked through Booking.com where it clearly states that our standard rooms have either a bath or a shower not both. We are in the process of planning the next phase of upgrading our second floor rooms to the same high standards as our first floor rooms. Sometimes our WiFi signals strengths vary and if we are made aware we can re-boot our WiFi.

Thanks for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

went here for a sunday lunch carvery was very nice and had a really good choice of meat and veg , all the staff were really nice and helpful , even when some of the children with us ( we had 5 ) were particular about what they ate , nothing was to much trouble fr them , thank you for a lovely meal :) we will return the next time we in the area

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank penfold4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review. Its great to hear you enjoyed a lovely Sunday Carvery Lunch with us. You found my team to be all really nice and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

I have shared your very kind comments with my team.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
127 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
9.5 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 3 in Silloth
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Address: Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
Price Range: $121 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel in Silloth underwent a major renovation in 2009. Gary Conlan, the Manager, with his enthusiastic team, will do everything they can to make your visit to us a pleasant one! We are privately owned and run and are passionate about local seasonal food, hospitality, quality and service, so sit back and relax and enjoy yourself!This historic landmark hotel in the town centre, overlooking the town green offers a private and peaceful setting for a few days relaxation "away from it all", a delicious meal in our refurbished lounge bar and restaurant or even perhaps a business meeting or conference. With growing function trade and traditional Sunday Carvery the hotel has everything to offer.The Golf Hotel is also gaining a reputation in North Cumbria as a wonderful wedding venue, either for a civil ceremony or the wedding reception itself or even both. Private party celebrations can also be catered for here. Why not celebrate an engagement, wedding anniversary or birthday with us?As well as comfortable bed & breakfast guest accommodation, we also offer a range of services for business visitors. We have rooms with excellent facilities which can be booked for business meetings or our Function Suite can be booked to hold a conference of up to 140 delegates. Set in the centre of the small coastal town of Silloth, noted for its invigorating but mild climate. It is well known for its peaceful laid back atmosphere or perhaps most of all, the beautiful Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), famous for its stunning sunsets, abundant bird life and beautiful coastline walks. Just a short swing away is the highly acclaimed 18 hole championship link golf course at Silloth-on-Solway Golf Club. Silloth is an ideal location for a short break or a family holiday. Our location allows easy access to the Cumbrian towns of Cockermouth, Whitehaven, Workington, Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle - with easy access from the M6 and A66. And yet we're just a short drive to some of the most stunning scenery in the Lake District National Park, the Roman wall and the Scottish Borders and Dumfriesshire, which is visible on the opposite shore of the Solway Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hotel Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing