We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST HOTEL AWFUL FOOD”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
LONDON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL AWFUL FOOD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is possibly the worst i have stopped in and the Manager is definitely the rudest and most unhelpful. I have stayed in many Hotels all over the world from 3 Star to 5 Star Plus. I allow for some not being upto excellent standards but most are always clean and staff generally try to be helpful. NOT the Golf Hotel !
My room stank of stale urine and when i told the manager he couldnt care less. I told them the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold they told me it was fine. They dished me up the worst breakfast (photos ) and said it was fine .On not one occassion did they apologise or try to help. On the 2nd day i became very ill with sickness and diarreagh and had to check out early. The manager refused to refund the 2 nights i was booked in for even though i had only eaten there breakfast !! refused any blame .. i did not want compensation just my money back but they have this covered in their booking Contract ! No Refunds .
The rooms are very small and very basic i was put in one of the oldest with an awful view (photo) I would never stay here again i would rather sleep in the car . The Management need sorting out and giving a lesson in customer relations.

Room Tip: Dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank curtbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    90
    37
    13
    16
See reviews for
46
103
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here while touring Cumbria, and basically wish we had not bothered, on arrival the receptionist continued a conversation with a waitress, while checking us in, very rude in my opinion, onto the room - don't bother the smell of urine knocked us over, furniture was old and shabby, and the window would not open, we asked for another room but were told there would be a upgrade fee, why should we have to pay even more for a decent room.

The food in the hotel is ping and ding, nothing to write home about - the following night we stayed at the Wheyrigg Hall hotel nearby and it was brilliant, clean, great food, service.

The Golf hotel could be a great hotel with some cleaning and a good management team.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we have checked our July guest history and cannot find any record of your stay. Please can you get in touch with me to allow me to respond to your issues.

Thank you

Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

this, once upon a time was probably quite a sight with its large rooms with bay windows looking out to 'the green' but sadly today has still a way to go to catch up with the 21st century. soulless and depressing - we climbed the shabby stair to see a bucket positioned to catch water from large whole in hall ceiling- wallpaper hanging off. Room was clean enough and bed was very comfortable,( though like others we were woken by trucks passing in the early hours) This refurb has only papered over the cracks. Still using 1960s furniture and of their dining chairs sat out of place in our bathroom. Curtains were grotty and badly needed replacing, as did bars on window and window pane. staff tried and were friendly - but we left one night of a two night stay early - there was simple nothing to keep us there. The weather prevented walks along the shore and that was about all the entertainment Silloth has - we're not golfers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conor_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. your review is inaccurate and not a true statement of fact. I have responded to you personally regarding what you have posted and therefore will not comment further on this site.

Kind Regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have recently spent a few days at the Golf Hotel - and I admit that we had been a little concerned after reading some of the previous reviews. We need not have been worried. Our rooms were comfortable and well equipped. We were lucky enough to be shown some of the refurbished rooms that are currently being completed and these are really excellent. So, accommodation gets a tick. But far more important (to us, anyway) is the attitude of the staff - and this could not have been better. Everyone was friendly, pleasant and efficient. We were travelling with my elderly parents and had a couple of special requests when it came to meals - all of which were dealt with very well. Add to this the food - very well cooked and presented and huge helpings. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for posting a review. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I took great pleasure showing your family the work in progress and some of our newly refurbished guest bedrooms. We are all very pleased with our new rooms and the majority of guests have given us great feedback and praised what we have achieved. I have passed on your comments to the whole team in relation to their good attitudes. My chef is pleased you enjoyed your food.

Look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for one night after playing Silloth Golf Club. Staff, Bar area and breakfast all very nice.
But I have to say the room was nothing like portrayed on website and quite possibly the worst I've stayed in. Decor was still in the seventies, no shower and seagulls kept us up all night walking across the flat roof. For ninety pounds a night its a total rip off!
Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for posting your review.
sorry to hear you did not like your room, had you brought this to our attention during your stay we could have moved you to another room. Your golfing friends asked about a room with a shower and this request was expedited with pleasure. I’m afraid bird movements are something that are out of my control. You forgot to mention the ninety pounds for a night was in fact for 2 people at forty five pounds each bed and breakfast.

Kind Regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We come here for a meal about four times a year and were a bit disappointed this time round. Unfortunately my husband had to complain about his meal as the mash was lumpy and under cooked and the lamb was v fatty and tough. In the end we were not charged For the meal but the restaurant manager was a little intimidating in his approach and has put us off returning. However On a positive note the beer was great and our waitress lovely.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank for your review. I replaced the meal you were not happy with, but the second meal was ok and the lamb shank also good (the lamb is braised for 3 hours). I merely explained that the second meal was of acceptable standard and you took this as intimidating. Good to hear our beer is good and food service team are lovely.

Kind Regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was a bit concened when we pulled up outside the hotel. The building looked unloved and in need of a coat of paint. The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful and my room was comfortable albeit a little dated and unloved. It was however clean and functional. What pushes the 'Golf' from a 3 to a 5 star is the quality of the restaurant. The food was simply fantastic. The hotel feels like it is in transition (in a positive direction), the staff seem proud of the business and are eager to improve it. All in all a good effort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archaeohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank for your review
We are going through a period of transition and this will continue as business permits. I have passed on your kind comments to the whole team who work very hard to give customers a memorable experience.

Kind Regards
Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
9.5 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
14.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
14.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Property: Golf Hotel
Address: Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel in Silloth underwent a major renovation in 2009. Gary Conlan, the Manager, with his enthusiastic team, will do everything they can to make your visit to us a pleasant one! We are privately owned and run and are passionate about local seasonal food, hospitality, quality and service, so sit back and relax and enjoy yourself!This historic landmark hotel in the town centre, overlooking the town green offers a private and peaceful setting for a few days relaxation "away from it all", a delicious meal in our refurbished lounge bar and restaurant or even perhaps a business meeting or conference. With growing function trade and traditional Sunday Carvery the hotel has everything to offer.The Golf Hotel is also gaining a reputation in North Cumbria as a wonderful wedding venue, either for a civil ceremony or the wedding reception itself or even both. Private party celebrations can also be catered for here. Why not celebrate an engagement, wedding anniversary or birthday with us?As well as comfortable bed & breakfast guest accommodation, we also offer a range of services for business visitors. We have rooms with excellent facilities which can be booked for business meetings or our Function Suite can be booked to hold a conference of up to 140 delegates. Set in the centre of the small coastal town of Silloth, noted for its invigorating but mild climate. It is well known for its peaceful laid back atmosphere or perhaps most of all, the beautiful Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), famous for its stunning sunsets, abundant bird life and beautiful coastline walks. Just a short swing away is the highly acclaimed 18 hole championship link golf course at Silloth-on-Solway Golf Club. Silloth is an ideal location for a short break or a family holiday. Our location allows easy access to the Cumbrian towns of Cockermouth, Whitehaven, Workington, Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle - with easy access from the M6 and A66. And yet we're just a short drive to some of the most stunning scenery in the Lake District National Park, the Roman wall and the Scottish Borders and Dumfriesshire, which is visible on the opposite shore of the Solway Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hotel Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing