We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“K&D”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Araux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de la Fontaine
Ranked #1 of 1 Araux B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

we love this B&B and have returned a second time as it is so comfortable and welcoming. This time, the weather was fantastic so the pool was a real bonus and we enjoyed sitting out in the lovely garden in the evening. Jon is very helpful and generous and the area is delightful so it gets 10 out of 10 from us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 82 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just completed a seven night stay at this superb B & B. We are four female relatives, so probably not your typical group.. the group also included an elderly aunt who became quite unwell during the visit. Jonathon, the owner, was both welcoming and caring, even taking our aunt to doctors' visits to act as an interpreter. He also organised a truly memorable night for her birthday, transporting us all to the remote countryside venue in his own car.
Many restaurants were suggested by our host, and I think we tried them all. They all provided excellent meals and wine at very reasonable prices.
The home itself is a restored farmhouse set in spacious gardens, with a well maintained pool. It is beautifully furnished, comfortable, and exudes warmth.
We really were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble, although I am sure he must have breathed a sigh of relief as we drove off into the sunset!
Thank you (again), Jonathon for an unforgettable stay at your beautiful home, and for going so far above and beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veekay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This beautiful traditional house is restored with great care and quality. Very friendly and helpful host. We thoroughly enjoyed our six day stay. Great pool.
The immediate surrounds are spacious, and it is located in a quet village. There are very good resaurants in some of the historic villages and towns nearby, and easy access to main roads to go further afield.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardener080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at this beautifully restored French farmhouse for 2 nights and it really made a huge difference to our holiday. The pool was so well maintained and great for the hot days we experienced. We were even invited to have dinner with some of the local people from the small village nearby and it was truly an amazing experience. We had the chance to really integrate with the culture and experience it first hand. It doesn't matter how good your french is because the people there really do go out of there way to make every bit of the experience that little bit better and the language barrier just fades into the background. John, who owns the property is English but does also speak very good french so any questions we had he was able to take care of it straight away. We really enjoyed our stay and we shall be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just a fantastic place to stay. A reconstructed French farmhouse in an old village. Jon, the owner has done a superb job of the reconstruction as attested to by many others. Valerie, who cooks and cleans when Jon is not available cooked a classic 4 course French meal for us the first night. Delicious, far too much and not outrageous at 28 Euro each including the wine. We were in the South American room and the whole experience was superb. Rooms are around 95 Euros for a double including breakfast and excellent value. My brother and his daughter and girlfriend were with us and we had the place to ourselves.
Jon is well known in the area and knows many good places to eat, both locally and as far away as San Sebastian and Bayonne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

but what a night! I wish we could have stayed longer. Very comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast, pleasant host. Great dogs, too.
We took advantage of having dinner there as well - the best dinner of our trip!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

An interesting house with a nice pool to laze by and gardens to stroll in plus an interesting menagerie of domestic animals in the paddock. Jonathon gave us a warm welcome and insight in what to see and where to eat in the surrounding area. He speaks perfect English and good French. We enjoyed visiting Salies de Bearne (a pretty little town), Sauveterre de Bearne (great views from the walls) and Navarrenx (also a bastide town) all within easy driving distance. A very relaxing san enjoyable three night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la Fontaine

Address: 1 rue de la Fontaine, 64190 Araux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Araux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Araux
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison de la Fontaine, is a lovingly restored 17th Century Béarnaise "Maison de Maitre" set in the small village of Araux 5km west of the historic “bastide” town of Navarrenx. Lying in the heart of Béarn des Gaves in the department of Pyrenees Atlantiques in SW France, we are 60 minutes inland from the Biarritz and Bayonne, 45 minutes west from Pau and 60 minutes north of the Pyrenees mountains and the Spanish border ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison De La Fontaine France/Araux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing