We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. That says it all!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Araux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de la Fontaine
Ranked #1 of 1 Araux B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just a fantastic place to stay. A reconstructed French farmhouse in an old village. Jon, the owner has done a superb job of the reconstruction as attested to by many others. Valerie, who cooks and cleans when Jon is not available cooked a classic 4 course French meal for us the first night. Delicious, far too much and not outrageous at 28 Euro each including the wine. We were in the South American room and the whole experience was superb. Rooms are around 95 Euros for a double including breakfast and excellent value. My brother and his daughter and girlfriend were with us and we had the place to ourselves.
Jon is well known in the area and knows many good places to eat, both locally and as far away as San Sebastian and Bayonne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

but what a night! I wish we could have stayed longer. Very comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast, pleasant host. Great dogs, too.
We took advantage of having dinner there as well - the best dinner of our trip!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

An interesting house with a nice pool to laze by and gardens to stroll in plus an interesting menagerie of domestic animals in the paddock. Jonathon gave us a warm welcome and insight in what to see and where to eat in the surrounding area. He speaks perfect English and good French. We enjoyed visiting Salies de Bearne (a pretty little town), Sauveterre de Bearne (great views from the walls) and Navarrenx (also a bastide town) all within easy driving distance. A very relaxing san enjoyable three night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This would have to be the best B&B my wife and I have stayed at. The hosts were extraordinarily friendly and we not only were spoilt rotten but made some great friends. The setting in Araux is beautiful and there is a great selection of restaurants and things to do in the area. Would highly recommend and don't forget to ask the host for his recommended walks you will be entertained.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asneddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A fabulous place to stay in this tiny village in a splendid region. Jon Siviter and his lovely family will welcome you and for sure make your stay unforgettable. Not to mention the warm welcome of their three sweet little dogs, the rabbits, chickens and the most funny and friendly little pot-belly pig, Frances Bacon!
The house itself is a real pearl. It has been renovated in the most delicate and respectful way, and the rooms are worth any 4 or 5 star hotel, furnished with only the best, superb bathrooms and top-notch beddings (first time in a long while I slept that good).
Food-wise you will be offered a delicious breakfast and the nearby little towns offer some of the best cuisine from the region at very affordable prices. Jon knows the best spots, and will be delighted to guide you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed here with my two daughters, age 6 and 8 respectively, for four nights and we had a wonderful time. We received a warm welcome from Kate and Jon and their daughter Clare, who continued to be the most considerate, generous and companiable hosts for the rest of our stay. Maison de la Fontaine is beautifully restored and luxuriously appointed and we benefitted from a huge and comfortable room as well as luxuries such as TV/DVD, tea/coffee, water, kettle, chocolates etc. The breakfasts were copious and delicious and I would recommend Kate's rather good table d'hôte, which we all enjoyed in the beautiful setting of their lovely garden. Jon and Kate were able to provide a wealth of local information on what to visit and where to eat, as well as a variety of maps and guides which were lent to us readily. We had much use and enjoyment out of the lovely swimming pool too but the really enchanting highlight for the children - about which they haven't stopped talking since and which was the subject of all their postcards home - was the opportunity to feed Piggle Wiggle, the pot-bellied pig, as well as the chickens, donkeys, koi carp and goldfish. They keep asking me when we can go back there and I hope to do so soon. A truly ' Special Place to Stay'.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

A beautiful house in a peaceful setting.Kate,John and family made us extremely welcome.
On arrival John greeted us with welcome cold beers,&Kate cooked us a wonderful meal which we ate with the family and other guests .An evening we will remember for a long time to come.The peach tart is still being talked about!Conversation flowed along with the wine.Helen and Clare (daughters )were delightful company too.Our rooms were wonderfully comfortable,clean, beautiful and each unique.Breakfast was delicious and huge!Nothing was too much trouble.Offering to reserve us a table, and recommending local points of interest,and introductions to the pig!!
Our stay was meant to be a one night stopover but we enjoyed it so much we stayed a second!On Kate's recommendation we ate in the next village for the 2nd night a simple but delicious meal!
We would all love to return but for now have to satisfy ourselves with eating the delicious homegrown onions and garlic John gave us as we left!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la Fontaine

Address: 1 rue de la Fontaine, 64190 Araux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Araux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Araux
Price Range: $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison de la Fontaine, is a lovingly restored 17th Century Béarnaise "Maison de Maitre" set in the small village of Araux 5km west of the historic “bastide” town of Navarrenx. Lying in the heart of Béarn des Gaves in the department of Pyrenees Atlantiques in SW France, we are 60 minutes inland from the Biarritz and Bayonne, 45 minutes west from Pau and 60 minutes north of the Pyrenees mountains and the Spanish border ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison De La Fontaine France/Araux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing