We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly worth the short trip from St Emilion”
Review of Le Clos Mirande

Le Clos Mirande
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Montagne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dominant le vignoble de Montagne Saint-Emilion, un univers alliant une cuisine traditionnelle du terroir, une gastronomie creative et elegante . Terrasse ombragee, Restaurant Gastronomique, Bistro et Gastronomie a emporter
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly worth the short trip from St Emilion”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our group of 4 enjoyed a glorious evening and delicious meal at Le Clos Mirande recently and wanted to be sure that other travelers to the St Emilion area take the time to visit this outstanding room.

The evening was warm and nice so we sat on the beautiful terrace overlooking miles of vinyards. The property is quite large, and as such there is a beautiful lawn to wonder and enjoy the views between courses. The night we were there, there were several groups of locals who clearly were regulars, and for good reason!

The service is top notch, and the quality and presntation of the entrees and plats were like those we see in the highest end restaurants in North America. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful in helping us make our selections. The wine list is strong, with good options at all price points.

It is a bit of a trick to find as it is away from the hamlit of Montagne a touch but it is so very worth the visit. If you go, you will leave with a smile as we did!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    72
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming and great food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hidden location but worth the effort to find. Great food, warm personal service (husband is the chef and his wife runs the front of the restaurant). One of the best meals we had in France. Customers are a mixture of tourists and locals which really tells you how good the restaurant is. You will not be disappointed dining here.

Helpful?
Thank wineandfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not the easiest place to find but worth the effort. A beautiful hide-away restaurant in the middle of wine country. Fabulous food, great staff, beautiful setting. This was a business dinner and my guest were really impressed. This is a special find and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bordeauxbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get in the car and go here”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked for lunch based on the other reviews and we were not disappointed. Of the tourist route, a challenge to find but the lunch was well worth it. We both had the set lunch and each dish was tasty and well presented, which was great value for money! If you are in the area its worth getting in the car and eating here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Get your GPS set to find this little hideaway!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had a lovely lunch in the bistro side of this out of the way restaurant; they have the fine dining side with a different menu (which we have reserved for later this week, can't wait!) and then the more casual side where we lunched. There is also a nice terrace (covered and uncovered, the weather wasn't too cooperative to dine al fresco today) overlooking vineyards. Food very nicely presented, I had the 3 course prix fixe menu (22€ included a glass of wine), while he had a starter and entree, a more expensive option, both very good. As stated, we will return later this week for dinner on the "fine" side, I'm sure it will be just as fantastique!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos Mirande also viewed

 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to Le Clos Mirande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing