We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect St Emilion Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clos de la Barbanne
Ranked #1 of 4 Montagne B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Being wine lovers there was no way for us come to france without visiting the Bordeaux vineyards.
We choose Clos de la Barbanne for its great location and landscape view, the very goods reviews it had on the net and, most of all, because we wanted to get a real insight of the life in the vineyards.
Truth is, it was a very good pick.
Our room was furnished with great taste, kind of french elegancy but "a la campagne", and I really loved the choice of shampoos and shower gels, very cute.

Laurent and Annie, the owners, are very welcoming, you can tell that they really love their little paradise and that they enjoy sharing it. They recommended an itinerary for us to go on a nice drive through the domaines and which good ones to go visit. They even called contacts and found us a good place for wine tasting.

Laurent showed us his property and told us about "Montagne St Emilion" and its history. Clos de la Barbanne is right in the historical heart of St Emilion, we didn't know before coming so it felt like being in a very special place.
Annie is a great cook, she made us delicious crepes for breakfast and a very special dinner.
We really look forward to coming back soon.
Clos de la Barbanne is as pretty and good as a small hotel but with the homelike feeling.

Room Tip: Call a little in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

A discret and stylish place located only 3 km from downtown Saint-Emilion.
We discovered the secret of Concerto, the wine made by Laurent. It's probably the help he gets from the guests staying at the Clos de la Barbanne.

So relaxing throlling through the vineyard, from dawn to dusk, peaking once in a while in the wine cellar...
The cuisine served is delicious. And the rooms are so spacious and nicely furnished.
Just looking forward to our 3rd stay at Clos de la Barbanne.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We decided to spend the last holidays in a nice and quiet place in Saint Emilion - France... A friend highly recommended us Le Clos de la Barbanne and we were not dispappointed!!!
First of all, the suites are giant and very elegant, as well as the rest of the house: the decoration is different in each room, and they are much bigger as they seem to be on the website.
The hosts are really nice and available: Laurent, the man, spent time to tell us the story of wine in Bordeaux, and gave us good advices for our visits. He makes is own wine there, "Concerto", so really knows about the business!
Annie, the lady, prepared amazing french dinners. She was also always available to reply our questions and organize our holidays.

Also, the landscape is splendid!

We were told that the couple bought this house and vineyard a few years ago, because it was their lifelong dream to leave in this region and welcome people there. We could really feel this as they warmly welcomed us!

I would definitly recommend this place to my family and friends, as it can be nice for a romantic stay or for friends holidays!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justine1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We had difficulty in finding this place in the first instance given that it is in the middle of nowhere. Having said that once you get used to the area it is much more convenient than it first appears.
Lovely B&B and the room was large but we felt more than a little uncomfortable that we were not given a key to lock the bedroom door and/or that there was no safe.
We were shown around and shown the pool but really felt that we were not encouraged to use it given that it was inside and accessed through the owners living area to which they kept the doors locked!
Breakfast was wonderful and the lady of the house made the best juices we have ever had, however she just never seemed to relax and it constantly made us feel on edge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I were planning a WE in the St Emilion area to learn more about wines and found this very charming, welcoming and relaxing B&B.Indoor pool onsite!
The big plus: the owners taking their time to suggest the best wineries to visit and to share some history and fun facts about wine.
The only thing is that Bordeaux is a bit far away. Peace has a "price".

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerber_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We enjoyed this B & B enormously. Great hosts, good food, excellent small wine estate. Only disappointment was the in-door swimming pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emma72006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagne
2.4 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
908 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
#6 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
143 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Petite Madeleine
La Petite Madeleine
#3 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos de la Barbanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos de la Barbanne

Address: 2 Lieu Dit les Grandes Pieces, 33570 Montagne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Montagne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montagne
Price Range: $229 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mansion nestled in prestigious Saint-Emilion wine region. 4 Spacious and luxurious rooms – Relaxing atmosphere – Private garden or terrace – Indoor swimming pool. Haute-cuisine prepared on premises. Dedicated service to our guests. Discover the Cultutral Heritage and the great variety of Bordeaux Grands Crus. An Original and Indulgent Getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clos de la Barbanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing