We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, relaxing getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau St Jacques Calon
Ranked #3 of 4 Montagne B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I took a two night visit along with our 20 month old daughter. The Property was beautiful with a lovely landscaped yard and pool. The beds were very comfortable and rooms were clean and welcoming. We had a charming continental breakfast outside each morning. The owner was very accommodating with great recommendations for dinner and it was nice that he also spoke fluent English. It was an overall relaxing pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Absolutely suberb accommodation and fantastic hosts. We stayed here for 3 nights (May 2011) and wished we could have stayed longer. We were the only guests at the Chateau so it was so relaxing and Stephane & his lovely parents looked after us with such a warm and friendly manner. Breakfasts were by the pool and they were delicious and different each day...croissants, jams, juice, fruit, meats, yogurt, cheese, tea & coffee. We had a picnic lunch by the pool one day and Stephane's parents provided us with plates etc. The weather was lovely and hot enough for a swim in the pool. Stephane suggested a drive to Lege Cap Feret which reminded us so much of the Australian coastline. He also recommended some great places to dine...L'Envers Du Decor @ St Emilion & Le Vieux Presbytere @ Montagne.The monolithic church @ St Emilion is amazing and the town is beautiful.We went for a walk through the vineyards at the back of the chateau with Stephane's dog and found a wiley fox in a trap. We adored the Bordeaux region and would love to return to this charming chateau. Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was clean and adequate. I wouldn't say it was luxurious but it was comfortable and our stay was made so pleasant by our wonderful hosts that you overlooked the outdated bathroom decor and hand held shower. We received daily room service and fresh towels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colourcooljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A large family house reconverted in B&B, the rooms are very comfortable and spotless clean, the swimming pool is great, the owner is always happy to help and recommend things to do around, it was all simply perfect!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne-Laure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great long weekend spent at Chateau st. Jacques Calon. Delicious continental breakfast and comfortable beds. Our room was spotlessly clean and really quiet- lovely break from London! The owner Stephane was incredibly friendly and helpful and reccommended some fantastic local restaurants where the food was superb. Beautiful surroundings although the weather was a little too cold to brave the swimming pool! The market at Libourne is a must as is the tour of the Monolithic church in St Emilion. My only fault/ suggestion would be to have a kettle in the room as us British can't live without our tea! Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The best thing about Chateau St. Jacques Calon is Stephane, the owner. He is extremely friendly and welcoming and an amazing source of tips and knowledge about restaurants, vineyards and pretty much everything else in the area. I was here for a long weekend with some girlfriends and it was absolutely delightful. Since there were 4 of us we stayed in the two adjoining rooms at the front of the property and it was great to be able to open up the connecting door and basically have one large suite. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend in the heart of French wine country. Remember a car is a must, as the property is about a 10 minute drive from the heart of St. Emilion, and vineyards are scattered throughout the area. Our favorite vineyard was Chateau Mauvezin, and the farmers market in Libourne is a must. Thanks again Stephane - we hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaG236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Lovely room with doors to the pool. I could get used to this life. Charming host with tips on restaurants and area activities.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the chateau immensely. When driving by car it is great to have easy to follow directions obtained on the website. Stephane welcomed us and was a great host and extremely helpful. He had lots of information re parking and activities in St Emilion. Our room was clean and large and overlooked the beautiful pool and it was a pleasure to have breakfast set up outside our room every morning. Very restful. The restaurants that Stephane sent us to were great and close by. If you are looking for a restful respite with a historic and beautiful town close by (St Emilion) and you like wine this is the stay for you! Thanks Stephane (and your parents) for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in a wing attached to the back of the main house overlooking the pool. Very res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagne hotels
2.1 mi away
Clos de la Barbanne
Clos de la Barbanne
#1 of 4 in Montagne
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Croix Beausejour
Chateau Croix Beausejour
#2 of 4 in Montagne
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castel Saint Joseph Saint Emilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau St Jacques Calon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St Jacques Calon

Address: 1 Lieu Dit la Maconne, 33570 Montagne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Montagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montagne
Price Range: $141 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing