We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ambiance and brilliant cooking exerience!”
Review of Le Gargantua

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anzex
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Gargantua
Reviewed July 5, 2010

My 3 day cooking holiday with Marlene and Mark was more that I ever could have expected. The inn is a lovely, renovated, historic property located on several acres in the middle of the French countryside. There are private rooms with bathrooms upstairs with the kitchen, dining, and living rooms downstairs. Marlene was an amazing hostess and teacher. Our days were organized but relaxed. We took a leisurely tour of the open market in Casteljaloux, tasted Buzet wine at Chateau Moncassin, and sampled Agen prunes along the Lot river. A delicious 3 course meal we prepared was served each night. It was simple gourmet; Marlene knew how to deconstruct the most complicated dishes, including foie gras and profiteroles, so that even the amateur chef would understand and remember how to prepare them. When we weren't touring the countryside or cooking, we were on the back patio drinking homemade aperitifs and wine from the local vineyards. It was very, very difficult to leave Le Gargantua and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanuelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneW47, Propriétaire at Le Gargantua, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mimi8479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorcajuanlespins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank olidel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ade2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Gargantua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gargantua

Address: Lieu Dit Filou, 47700 Anzex, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Anzex
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Anzex
Price Range: $53 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for a cooking holiday in south west France. Discover the beautiful region of Gascony, its gentle pace and beautiful produce! Our hands-on cooking classes and patisserie classes are in English (unless required in French) and are designed around you and your specific levels and wishes. There is no demonstration watching, just "real-food" lovers cooking together to produce great tasty food! I teach classic French cuisine as well as French pastry, not by following a recipe to the dot, but by explaining the interaction of ingredients within each dish. We cover all kinds of traditional French dishes and techniques on our seasonal cooking courses, from bread to pâtés, mousses, quiches, stews and sauces. You can also choose to learn to make classic French pastry like eclairs, macaroons, millefeuilles or croissants, on our patisserie courses, and we even offer to show you the ropes on how to prepare foie gras, confit and rillettes on our fat duck course. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing