We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Le Village du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Village du Lac
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a motorhome. Access to Bordeaux was difficult as buses do not run regularly. The staff are not interested in your needs and we got given lots of wrong information from them. We were told by staff that we should go to the wine expo up the road. We walked there only to be told it was not open to the public. We asked the staff to book a bus for us to go to Bordeaux to meet up with a wine tour. After being assured by staff twice that the bus was booked and after waiting an hour by the roadside for it we gave up and rang a taxi which cost us E26 to town and almost missed our tour.
Also got home later to find another motorhome squashed on to our pitch and had to get them to move. They said staff had told them to park anywhere.
Quite a nice site but reception staff make it very ordinary.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get a pitch in the reserved section which is quieter and shady
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Street_Smart_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    93
    56
    37
    21
See reviews for
83
99
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked in here for a week-long stay [Oct 8-15] at a lake-side Chalet Prestige. The fountain looks lovely but the motor noise is quite deafening. So much for peace and tranquility! Reception staff just not interested in resolving our problem. Quite smelly too though the ducks seem really happy. Lucky ducks!

Room Tip: Choose a pitch well removed from the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joe375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here as a base for the Bordeaux wine festival. We took campervan however other family members stated in one of the chalets. Van pitch good. Chalet brand new. Not the cheapest place to stay, but we did stay on a busy week for Bordeaux. Easy to get into centre, buses run quite regularly, however last bus on an evening around 8pm which is a shame, about £25 euros back in a taxi. Restaurant on site, lovely food, but a bit pricey. Very helpful staff and spotlessly clean toilet/shower blocks which are deep cleaned daily. Downside, no where else in walking distance to eat or drink.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshireluds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights here- its well equipped with a swimming pool and small play area. Restaurant on site is lovely but only does 2-3 course formule menu so no good for a snack or coffee. Site is about 20 minute drive from central Bordeaux and a great base from which to explore this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aluapenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Amazing. We arrived fresh off the plane with our bikes still in boxes - The Reception staff were fantastic, and gave us a choice of plots, although they did not elaborate too much (language barrier). WiFi is good around installations such as toilet / shower blocks, reception etc, however paying for WiFi is archaic in my opinion, especially when the service you receive is not capable of maintaining a skype call. As this was our first camping experience in France, we were also surprised at the lack of Toilet Paper in the toilets.

Room Tip: Tent Pitches to the east of the reception block tend to be uneven and very rocky - AVOID this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel_Witter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The campsite itself is very pleasant. It was quite cheap for us in our tents, and the bathroom facilities, as well as laundry facilities are all very clean and modern. There is also free wifi in the reception area, which itself is a very nice place to sit and relax. The pool is big enough, although with enough to keep faimilies entertained, but it was a a bit on the cold side when we visited (but in a fairness it was only mid may - when the sun was on the water it was fine). I would also really recommend visiting the on site restaurant. We only ate here the first time because we arived on a sunday and everywhere was closed, but we were very glad we did. The prices are very resonable(around 16euro for 2 courses), and the food was beautiful. Much better than what I would expect from a restaurant on a campsite. There is also a good selection of wines (obviously). There is also plenty of other facilities available such as bike hire(10euro for a day), and its easy to ride into the centre of Bordeaux from the site. The other way of getting into town is a 5minute bus journey followed by about 10-15minutes on tram. It's not ideally located, but it's an easy journey to make and wouldn't make me stay somewhere else when visiting again.
The only down side to this site that I could see was the noise the frogs in the lake make at night. We were warned about this but we brushed it off as an exaggeration, but they are loud. Not lound enough to keep anybody awake, but loud enugh to be a mild annoyance. Don't let this put you off though, as you get used to it. And if you're a light sleeper, maybe invest in some ear plugs.
All in all I would recommend this site to anyone wishing to camp in beautiful Bordeaux.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HodgesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here on an early leg of a wine tour around Europe and overall our impressions were OK. One person we met said it was like the Camping and Caravanning Club official (who they said coud be very stick in the mud and fastidious) who was overseeing the construction of the sight was dictracted and they ended up with a site that was so close to being great but just slightly fell short in every department. The pitches are badly marked out and occassionally deeply rutted, uneven or have deep sand you could get stuck in. The Wifi drops out without notice, there aren't quite enough electricity points for the number of pitches so they issue extension leads, no problem but the site's only been open a year, surely someone should have noticed. The showers and loos are similar, not quite enough and despite being kept very clean and tidy there were long queues in the morning.
As I say, it's not a bad site, it has a good pool and shop as well, but little things will nag at you a bit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_T_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruges
0.8 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Bordeaux Lac
1.0 mi away
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
#22 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Bordeaux Lac sur Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
#25 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
5.8 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Bordeaux Merignac
2.5 mi away
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
#75 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Village du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village du Lac

Property: Le Village du Lac
Address: Boulevard Jacques Chaban Delmas, 33520 Bruges, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Village du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 13-hectare estate right on the outskirts of Bordeaux, spend your holidays only 8km from the city centre.All our rented accommodation has a kitchenette, TV with TNT (French digital TV network), air conditioning/central heating, bathroom, WC, terrace, garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Village du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village Du Lac Bruges, France - Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing