We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way too noisy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Gavaudun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Gavaudun
ringwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way too noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked this over the Internet and email based on the website advertising as peaceful and tranquil. We were looking for quiet and relaxation but also wanted a pool and tennis court on site as the whole family plays tennis, so it looked ideal. Unfortunately there are many gites on site and the one which they had given to us was facing the bar. There was a group of 80 - yes 80! - people there on something like a 25 year school reunion and there seemed to be no adherence to the "peace and tranquility" rule with late night loud music through till the early hours despite many many requests to bring it to an end. The host Eric seemed to have no interest in dealing with this presumably because it was bringing in a lot of extra cash with all the bar drinks. This totally ruined our experience to the effect that we left three days early. At least Eric did refund the cost of theses three nights. This was a shame because other things were great: the tennis courts ( now two) are excellent, pool is clean, other facilities good. Eric is knowledgeable and the kayaking trip he leads down the Dordogne very good. But if you are going here in the summer time expecting it to be quiet and relaxing you will be sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I appreciate your comments but they are slightly unfair on three points :
- Your overall rating reflects your mood but not the overall quality of the resort as evidenced by your otherwise balanced comments and detailed ratings.
- Of the 118 people on site your were the only ones to be really disturbed by the noise and activities, and in particular by the group of 80, because your were located in one of the cottages just in front of the Barn (bar). It was the first time we received such a large group and in the future, I will make sure the guests staying in such cottage belong to the group or will not mind late music. I did add a warning on my Web Site after your departure.
- I did feel really sorry for you but I could not ask 80 people (and more, with other guests joining) to stop enjoying themselves for your sole convenience. As you are mentioning, I did reimburse you for the unused days but I am perfectly aware it will never offset a ruined vacation.
I therefore apologize again for the inconvenience.
We are trying hard to please all guests but it is obviously impossible (the above group was also unhappy because we put too much constraints on them to their liking, like asking them to stop too early at night ...).
I would just want to emphasize again the fact that the Summer, with all the children around and the organized activities, is very different from the rest of the year which is indeed very peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just back from a two week stay (one week just me and my dog followed by a second week with my partner and our 11 year old daughter). The property is in a beautiful part of France and there are lots of places to walk in the vicinity. There is a large field and meadow on site which is far away from the roads. The views from the field are really lovely and its easy to find great places to picnic away from it all without even leaving the site.

The small cottage we stayed in (A1) was basic but nice and had great views of a meadow and wood from the veranda. The bar and pool area are lovely. Its a great place to chill. At times you feel like you have the place to yourselves but the optional thursday and sunday get togethers give you a chance to meet other guests and a chance for kids to make friends. Our daughter made two new friends and they all went zip wiring together just down the road.

With no cars onsite (except changeover day) and with the site being set back far from the road, we felt fairly relaxed about letting our daughter wander off around the site.

The hosts, Eric and Michelle, were excellent, providing lots of local advice and organising a group kayaking trip. They have ensured that the site has retained its huge natural charm whilst still providing facilities for both adults and kids.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this to couples or families looking for peace and quite and a safe place to let the kids wander. Its also a great place for dog walking. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wagmut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. As evidenced by your experience, even in the Summer you can feel quite and peaceful, but it really depends on where you are located on our large property and whether you like contact with other people ...
I just want to remind future guests that we have two very different seasons : the Summer, with many children around and many activities organised, and the rest of the year, which is very peaceful apart of some week-ends when we have weddings or other group gatherings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a pleasant rural site with chalets and a laundry room. There is a pool but it was not operational and as it was very cold weather this was no loss, There is no shop on site and a car is an absolute necessity,
we went out every day and explored. bear in mind when you study the map that the roads are country roads meaning that all journeys take longer than you anticipate. In terms of location Fumel is unexciting and we would have preferred to be near Sarlat
As a couple we found the 2 bed chalet adequate but if there had been more people it would have been less satisfactory, the upstairs bathroom was merely washbasin and toilet and the sink plug did not work due to existing damage The sofa was comfortable but the 2 additional chairs were more the fabric sling type which are less comfortable,
The wi=fi was inadequate for the size of the site, only 2 MB. There were very few residents but even with such a small number of users it regularly became stuck and unuseable after a short period. We were surprised to be charged 12 Euros for a week of such a poor provision.
The standard of our chalet was adequate but certainly not luxurious. For example the tiny "carpet" on the landing was the cheapest sort more like furry cardboard. The flooring in the bedroom was cushion floor with ripples. The beds were fairly basic and one of the duvets so thin we were unsure if it was a duvet,These things are personal and some people will not notice while others will feel unsettled. Had the weather been nicer perhaps we would not have noticed much.
If you are going to cook bring your own oven gloves because the provision is meagre.
This small chalet apparently costs 65 euros to clean and the 1 bed side of the chalet, that only has a downstairs costs 50 Euros to clean.This felt excessive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate the weather was fairly poor when you were here, which is quite uncommon in May. In 2014, the pool will be heated.
We put you in one of the older houses because it has the better view. We are perfectly aware of the shortcomings and we are revamping these houses this winter, replacing the carpet with laminate floor and adding a shower upstairs.
For the Internet, you got full explanation beforehand but it is worthwhile repeating it here for future guests. We are in the countryside and we have slow connexion speed, to be shared amongst all guests. That is the reason why we charge a relatively high fee based on actual traffic in order to induce people to limit their usage and allow everybody (including us) to perform essential activities. Just checking your e-mails is inexpensive (very small traffic).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our party of four (two couples) stayed the last week of October - actually October 27 through November 3 and we could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay during the last portion of our visit to southern France. Our host Eric was gracious enough to provide us with a map and itinerary of points of interest and day trips that we found quite beneficial. We utilized his expertise on the area and seen many a site the normal visitor to southern France would not see and we are eternally grateful to him for this. Our accommodations were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed all that Domaine de Gavaudun had to offer us during - this our first visit to Europe and southern France. As others have also pointed out, the fresh baquettes we had on the mornings where we remembered to order them the night before was another delightful touch. If we were to return to Southern France, we would definitely stay once again in this fine resort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank IrwinLengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are working a lot to please our guests and make sure they get the most out of their trip in our beautiful area. We are very glad that you had a good stay with us in spite of the fact that late October is not the best period of the year ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you like self contained accommodation in an excellent quiet rural location then this is place for you. We stayed for a week in a spotlessly clean two bedroom unit. The complex has a wide range of accommodation options and facilities. We were there in the off season October and hence the facilities were closed but the place was nice and quiet.The hosts are just wonderful and friendly and will gladly offer advice on what to do and where to go. We found their advice invaluable. You do need you own transport though. We thoroughly enjoyed our week here and could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom chalet which was just delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterjr41Mandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are working a lot to please our guests and make sure they get the most out of their trip in our beautiful area. We are very glad that you had a good stay with us in spite of the fact that October is not the best period of the year ...
We are quite a long way from Australia but we hope to see you back in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband & I loved our stay. It was relaxing while providing many opportunities for exploring a fascinating area full of historical & cultural sights & experiences. A car is needed, but getting about is easy. Loved the fresh baguettes every morning!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry we did not respond earlier (we have to get used to TripAdvisor). We are always pleased to welcome American guests and help them exploring our very rich area. In spite of the distance, we hope to see you again some day ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week last summer - we did not know what to expect as booked via RCI - the area was beautiful - the Domaine itself is excellent friendly atmosphere and you are made most welcome. There are group activities if you wish to participate, but you do not need to. A beautiful quiet remote part of france - definitely a must for those wishing to escape for a few days.

Accommodation Gite was well maintained and equipped.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry for not answering earlier (we have to get used to TripAdvisor).
In the summer we do indeed organise various group activities, like a barbecue or sports tournaments, in particular for children, but in order not to mislead the readers of this review we must honestly say this is only in the summer. Out of the high season, we orient our guests towards visiting the area (medieval villages, castles, prehistoric caves, etc.).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gavaudun
7.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence du Lac
4.1 mi away
Castelwood
Castelwood
#1 of 1 in Biron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Gavaudun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Gavaudun

Property: Domaine de Gavaudun
Address: Vezou | (March to November), 47150 Gavaudun, Monflanquin, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Monflanquin > Gavaudun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gavaudun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Gavaudun 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday resort offering high quality vacation rentals (25 villas and cottages), bar, restaurant, various leisure activities. Absolutely unique of its kind in the area. Rated Village de Vacances ****, "Le Domaine de Gavaudun" is a splendid property with 35 ha (87 acres) of undulating fields and woods. A calm green oasis perfectly situated in the south of historic Perigord (Dordogne), the region of a thousand Chateaux, near Quercy, Gascony and Guyenne. Its old charming renovated buildings, its excellent restaurant, the Auberge de Vezou (in the summer), and its modern accommodations in the middle of nature, together with the many activities available, will make for a memorable stay. Gavaudun is a typical and small village, dominated by its 11th century castle with a remarkable dungeon. It is nestled between the valleys of the Lot and the Dordogne rivers and is close to the majestic chateaux of Biron and Bonaguil as well as the bastides of Monflanquin and Monpazier. Sarlat and its festival, Rocamadour, Saint Emilion, Les Eyzies, Cahors, Moissac, Nerac, the prehistoric caves of Lascaux, Font de Gaume, Pech Merle and many other exceptional sites are awaiting your visit. Perigord is also particularly renowned for its fine cuisine: duck, truffles, cepe mushrooms, foie gras, ... With a glass of wine from Bergerac, Monbazillac, Cahors, ... What pleasure to walk around the local markets! Lastly, to please all, there are numerous cultural events organised around. On site activities: floodlit heated pool, floodlit tennis and basket-ball, volley-ball, table tennis, trampoline, boules, billiards, play area for the children, walking trails ... Close to the Resort: horseback riding, cycling, caving, rock climbing, adventure park, fishing, canoeing/kayaking, varied day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Gavaudun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing