We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet but friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau des Vigiers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau des Vigiers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monestier
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet but friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed off season and the hotel was really quiet - 3 rooms occupied at most?! Nevertheless the restaurant (Brasserie) was open and although we were one of only 3 table the food was superb! Room was spacious and clean and very reasonable off season rate. We were staying in the Relais which is a bit of a walk from the main chateau on a cold night. No drinks service in the chateau where we repaired for a digestif after dinner but the receptionist donned her coat and gloves and marched up to the Brasserie returning with a couple of stoaters (whisky!)!! 10 out of 10 for effort!!

Room Tip: All rooms in the Relais have a great view of the golf courses and are modern and smart - oh and comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed-Scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    163
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
56
254
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, België
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything one expects from a 4 star hotel. Unfortunately, the main restaurant was closed (seems to be closed during low season). But the service and food in the Brasserie were equally excellent.
We stayed in a deluxe room in the relais. Spacious rooms, well decorated and isolated.
The breakfast buffet in the relais offers plenty of choice.
We played all 3 courses. Which are well maintained, not too difficult, suitable for the high handicapper as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Exaptar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDV24, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about Château des Vigiers and we are pleased to read that you did have a nice stay with us. Regarding the main restaurant, it is open from mid April to mid October. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at this period if you wish to try it.

Kind regards, Niels Koetsier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here about 8 years ago and we decided to return,as we were on a 4 week road-trip. Last time I missed out
on golf due to an injury, so I managed to get a couple of games in.
We spent our first visit in a Dependence room. These are privately owned apartments which are rented out. As has been described by
other reviewers,these have a kitchen/sitting area on the ground floor with a bedroom and bathroom on the first foor. We found ours very comfortable.
Since that time they have built the Relais portion of accommodation.
We were staying for 5 nights and, due to bookings, stayed 2 nights
in the Chateau on a B&B basis, and 3 nights in the Relais on a DBB;
dinner being taken in the Le Chai Brasserie.
Reception were friendly and helpful, offering assistance with luggage
when we were due to change rooms.
Our room in the chateau was on the ground floor at the end of the building closest to the Dependences; they are separated by a small
road. The bedroom and bathroom were large and comfortable. One
could say it is now looking a little 'tired'. The shower was over the
bath at the 'tap end'. The pipes were set back behind the bath taps, so the showerhead was directly over those taps. Consequently, you couldn't stand directly underneath it. You had to manoevre the
showerhead to get anything like wet. Apart from that, and the noise
from golf course machinery at about 7am, it was very good.
On moving over to the Relais it was a far more comfortable experience.
I would recommend anyone staying here to try and get a room in the Relais. It's eco-friendly in its construction - all wood clapperboard-style
with terraces on the ground-floor rooms and balconies for the first floor
rooms. The bedroom is very large with contemporary fittings, and there
is a good sized bathroom with bath and large walk-in shower. It also has underfloor heating. Our only moan about the room was the
apparent lack of air-conditioning. I say 'apparent' because the control
was there, but the 'snowflake' symbol was not active. Whether this is an
'eco thing' or not, I don't know. We approached two members of staff
to ask about it and I believe they said there was no cold setting. Having said that, my French isn't the best! All areas are clean and tidy. And you still get noise from early morning golf course machinery!
As regards food - we knew both of the restaurants from our earlier
experience. Previously, the brasserie was very good. This time it was the complete opposite.
Le Chai is a barn-size building, consequently when it is busy it is very noisy, so don't expect any ambience. Our first meal there was pretty ordinary. Plain roast chicken, fries and a small amout of vegetables.
The place was full with some large groups on a number of tables.
Staff were very busy and did serve it within a reasonable time, but I only recall one waiter who actually smiled. The second meal was awful.
A veal stew concoction which was bland to the extreme.
After this experience, the remaining nights we ate at Les Fresques, their
fine-dining restaurant, a far better experience. It had ambience, friendly, efficient and helpful service (their staff should give Le Chai some lessons), and the food was terrific. I particularly recommend a rack of lamb dish - with strawberrys! Yes and, for some reason, it worked. We had to pay a supplement because of our original booking at Le Chai, but it was worth it, as we didn't want a poor dinner again. As an example their fixed dinner menu is 14 euro pp more than Le Chai, in my view well
worth the difference for all round standards. And you get an amuse bouche and petit fours in Fresques too.
If you stay in the Chateau or a Dependence, breakfast is in Les Fresques. There is a large selection from the buffet and personal service for hot drinks. Stay in Relais and you breakfast in it's own dining area. Buffet-style again, but not as much selection as in Les Fresques,
and a bit noisier. Hot drinks are dispensed from a machine - even so the coffee is very tasty!
For golfers, there are 3 nine hole courses and the pro-shop advise
you which to play when you go and check-in. I found the staff helpful
especially in their attemtps to get me someone to play with! Prices in the shop are crazy - 35 euro for a golf cap!
The courses are decent, with the odd scruffy patches on the fairways, but the setting makes up for any deficiences. Greens were very good.
The only reason it doesn't get an excellent rating is mainly Le Chai
brasserie, lack of air-con in Relais and the golf machinery, which you have to expect I suppose. It is pricey and you have to watch those extras, but we would still return.
There are loads of places to visit in the area, although I think a car is necessary. Bergerac is pleasant, especially the 'old town' area, and
a visit to St Emillion is worth it -some steep streets though. Bordeaux
is a fantastic city and is about 1hr 45 mins from Vigiers.

Room Tip: In the Relais if you want large, newer, contemporary accommodation, all with golf course views. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDV24, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your full comments about your stay at Château des Vigiers, you could not have been more precise! I'm of course very happy to read that you have had a very good stay with us and that you have enjoyed your room in the Relais and your dinners in our gourmet restaurant Les Fresques. I'm surprised that you did not have a nice expereince in the Brasserie as we have constantly compliments about the food and the nice ambiance that we provide. Anyway thank you as your comments help us to remain attentive even when it is busy time to time!

We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Niels Koetsier, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night in late August as part of a Backroads bike tour. We had a very good-looking suite that had the living room and a small kitchen downstairs (with an outdoor terrace) and the bedroom and bath upstairs. The only issue we had was that it was warm that day and the downstairs air conditioning was off when we first got in the room around 4:00pm. It took at least eight hours for it to cool the suite off. They really need to figure out how to get an air conditioner upstairs in the bedroom.

The grounds themselves are beautiful and it is very quiet. Our dinner there was wonderful as was the breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachDave37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDV24, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Château des Vigiers. We are very pleased to read that you did appreciate your stay. We have noted your comment about the air conditioning and will have a close look into it. We look very much forward to welcoming you again at Château des Vigiers.

Niels Koetsier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a meal for our silver wedding at the main hotel restaurant.It was an absolutely amazing experience and was perfect for the occasion.The staff were friendly and accomodating as well as professional and gave details of each course which added to the experience.They made a special effort for our 25th including a complimentary glass of champagne.The food was delicious and top quality as was the champagne and wine .We have eaten in many good Edinburgh restaurants including Martin Wishart as well as other Michelin restaurants but this one was the best and my husband felt the same.The decor was also warm and felt special without feeling audacious.
Highly recommended and my gourmet menu was 49 euros which is a lot cheaper than many top Edinburgh restaurants.Many thanks to the restaurant staff for making our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDV24, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

WHat a pleasure to read such nice comments about the experience you had in our gourmet restaurant "Les Fresques". We are putting a lot of time and energy in order to obtain the level you could expect from a Michelin star restaurant and hope that, one day, these effiorts will be rewarded!

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Niels Koetsier, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had high expectations of this place by the other write ups and reviews. My husband and I were both disappointed in the extreme.

The location is lovely and the Chateau (where we stayed) itself is beautiful. The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and welcoming. Not so the Brasserie staff who were mainly aloof with the exception of one young guy. We ate there on three occasions and although the food was good the staff detracted from the experience by their sullen unfriendly attitude.

We also allowed ourselves to be fleeced in the restaurant. We paid half board with a supplement to eat there on the first night. However we made a fundamental mistake. We were offered a cheese course which they did point out wasn't included in the price. That and two teas came to an ADDITIONAL 60 euros. The food was good but not exceptional - unlike the price.

There are no refreshment facilities in the room whatsoever (apart from a complimentary bottle of wine) so we had to go in search of drinks. There are periods in the day when there is nowhere open. In 5 star hotels they normally give you free bottled water and fruit - here there was nothing.

I was very disappointed by the experience as this was a much needed break which frankly increased our stress levels. Never again.

Room Tip: Ensure you have windows rather than doors onto a shared terrace if you like fresh air at night and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexFoodExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDV24, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your comments on Trip advisor and I'm sorry that Château des Vigiers did not corresponds to your expectations. It is a pity that you did not ask for a manager during your stay as I would have been more than happy to talk about your comments. Indeed we do not accept any guest to leave Château des Vigiers unhappy.

Kind regards, Niels Koetsier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our second time staying at Chateau des Vigiers. Our first time we stayed in the "newer" section and this time we stayed in the Chateau. I preferred the newer section as the room was more modern and resort like. That being said, the Chateau is perfectly acceptable. It was more a matter of decor preference for me. Also, our room, while large, did appear tired and dated; especially the bathroom. However, we weren't there to hang out in the room. We were visiting in order to golf and drive around this beautiful area visiting wine producers and quaint towns like Bergerac.

Our breakfast was included in the room. As I have seen from other reviews, 19 or 25 EURs would be far too expensive for what is offered. We ate at both the brassiere and the formal restaurant. The brassiere was good decent typical French fare while the formal restaurant was quite simply amazing! We have eaten at many incredible restaurants and I had relatively low expectations for a formal dining experience in the middle of no where. I was proven wrong and it far exceeded my expectations with expertly delivered fine French gastronomic cuisine.

As a side note, I thought the golf courses were acceptable. They were courses where you could have a fun enjoyable round of golf; not too difficult and in decent condition. The beauty of the courses is the fact that here you are golfing surrounded by incredible scenery and vineyards.

Overall, I give it a four because I would quantify this more as a rustic get away. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. For a weekend get away, it is worth the visit. We stayed two nights. After three nights you may get bored.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank La_D0lce_Vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monestier
13.5 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
24.9 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Vigiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Vigiers

Property: Chateau des Vigiers
Address: Chateau des Vigiers | D18, 24240 Monestier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monestier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monestier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Vigiers 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chateau des Vigiers, luxury hotel golf & spa Luxury hotels, golf and spa situated in the Dordogne, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Bergerac, South West France Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the WorldDating back to the 16th century and set amidst the famous vineyards of this beautiful and unspoiled region, Chateau des Vigiers is an internationally renowned luxury Hotel, Golf and Spa situated in the Dordogne Perigord region of South West France. Conveniently located just 25 minutes from Bergerac Airport and about an hour east of Bordeaux, Chateau des Vigiers offers its guests two uniquely different hotel experiences, tailored to individual tastes and requirements. Whether you want to tour the world-famous vineyards of Bordeaux and Saint-Emilion, play golf on our impressive 27-hole course, enjoy our region's finest food and wine, or be pampered in our Maria Galland Beauty Spa, you will be able to escape the fast-pace of everyday life in this secluded and tranquil setting. Your Chateau des Vigiers experience awaits. Step inside... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau des Vigiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Vigiers Hotel Monestier
Chateau Des Vigiers Monestier
Chateau Des Vigiers France/Monestier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing