We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay but . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau des Vigiers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau des Vigiers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monestier
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last minute decision to stay here as changed flights. Room was good value for money but there is no real room service available. Breakfast costs are extortionist and the quality of the food is very very poor - standard bad quality hotel food rather than good quality French breakfast food!

Room Tip: Go for large and spacious rooms especially if in the height of summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryHighStandards7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDV24, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for writing your comments about your stay at Château des Vigiers.
We are delighted to read that you did like the room in the Relais. We are also very surprised about your comment concerning the breakfast as we have many compliments from our guests. Our buffet is a full breakfast with cold and hot dishes, fresh homemade fruit salad, different sorts of fresh breads, 4 different french pastries, 3 cheeses, ham, honey from the estate, etc...
The buffet in the Relais des Vigiers is on a help yourself basis but there is always staff available for any help you would need.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vigiers.

Niels Koetsier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    163
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
56
254
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights in this resort, which is described as a golf spa resort and is part of the small luxury hotel group. The first thing we noticed is that the hotel is not small. It's quite large, and is mainly geared up for golf and golfers. We do not play golf but had booked the hotel on the basis of being in Monestier, and a 'spa hotel'. On arrival, we were told the spa was fully booked during our stay and so no massages were available (except a possible one inconvenient time). On inspection, this was not surprising as the spa was tiny, tiny, tiny. THIS IS NOT A SPA HOTEL, it is a golf hotel. It is also not small. For example, the weather was scorching and the hotel had one small swimming pool that was packed full of children. Not relaxing. The saving grace of this hotel are the restaurants however, which are excellent. The brasserie and main restaurant served brilliant snacks and gourmet meals. Worth the stay just for that although, as a final choker, the €25 charge per person for breakfast which consists of just cold snacks and zero choice, is daylight robbery!! Luckily, having said that breakfast was included in our room rate and then saying it was not, the hotel did not charge us the €150 they wanted for our three minimal breakfasts. All in all, a great potential hotel,but not in its current format as a great golf resort with restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed just one night in a Relais room and found the hotel a very relaxing place to be. Very hot weather meant we made use of both pools and enjoyed sunning ourselves on the loungers surrounding the pools.

Our room was beautifully appointed, with lots of space and a stunning wet room shower. We had a very comfortable bed and very efficient air conditioning, a must given the high temperatures. we enjoyed a very good night's sleep

We ate dinner from the set menu in the brasserie and enjoyed our choices, dessert wasn't quite as good as the excellent starter and main course, Total cost including wine and aperitifs was €130, not cheap but an enjoyable treat as we dined out on the terrace.

We also ate lunch in the brasserie the following day and once again enjoyed our choices, a wonderful smoked salmon and prawn salad and a cheese and ham omelette with fries.

We didn't sample the breakfast menu, at €19 per person we felt it was too over priced as we were still full from dinner and only wanted coffee and a croissant!

Having arrived stressed from a busy week we left Chateau de Vigiers much more relaxed and ready to enjoy our stay in France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We spend 4 nites. The location is lovely, dead quiet, a good refugium to relax. However, it is slightly pretentios. I guess that comes with the golf....
The room was great, spacious and nicely decorated.
Service however was limmited. Our room didn't have wifi, as the reach of the source was limmited. 3 times mentioning it at the reception did not improve the situation, nor was there any communication back.
Breakfast had everything you would expect, but was purely self service. The coffe came from an machine that poured water, freshly brewed coffee and milk powder to make a milk coffee....
And on arrival, there was no help with the luggage.
If your expectations aren't too high, you will like it. People are friendly, rooms are nice, location is relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JunianSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDV24, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your comments about your time spent at Vigiers.
Concerning the breakfast served in the Relais des Vigiers, the coffee comes indeed from a machine as you say that makes fresh coffee and the breakfast is a buffet on a help yourself basis but with permanent staff members available. We have taken your comments into consideration for the future, thank you for your contribution. We look forward welcoming you again at Vigiers.

Yours sincerely

Niels Koetsier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Myself, my brother and our parents stayed at 'Le Relais' for five nights. It was a stunning location set on three nine-hole golf courses. None of us play golf, we chose the location since it is near family. It was extremely quiet, even though there were children. Most people staying were 'older' and stayed in order to take advantage of the golf course, spa, gym, sauna and swimming pools, as well as the Brasserie restaurant and the al a carte.
We used the swimming pool on several occasions. The only strange thing about it is that it has a black lining, so it doesn't look especially inviting. We also ate (eight of us, including our family from Fondefiere (The Naked Vigeron)) in the Brasserie, which was amazing! Excellent food and service.
The four of us also had a golf lesson with a pro called Vincent, which was great fun, since three of us are complete novices. We also hired a tennis court for a couple of hours.
The bedrooms at 'Le Relais' are spacious with a lovely ensuite and separate toilet. There is a separate reception from the main chateau.
We would all definitely return. It was also great to have our own place for a few nights to give our family a break from having guests, so when we next visit them, we will likely stay at des Vigiers again.

Room Tip: Opt for 'Le Relais' over the main chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjcandhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was staying with a friend for a relaxing weekend break, we booked a room in the main chateau building through SLH! We arrived at 11pm, the receptionist was there to meet us and showed us to our room which was beautiful, a big room decorated French style with a huge bathroom including bath and separate shower. We asked if we could grab something to eat, we were at first told that the kitchens close at 9pm which is fair enough, the receptionist showed us to the bar and asked the staff there of they could conjure up something for us, they were very accommodating making us each a good plate of cheese & charcuterie and a bottle of wine which we were very grateful for after a long journey.

We booked some spa treatments during our stay which were very good, the girls in the spa were wonderful, as were the restaurant staff. We only ate in the Brasserie as decided the setting was more picturesque and relaxed, we were very impressed with the food there, top notch.

The hotel is set in lovely countryside/vineyards, both beautiful and peaceful, just what we needed. Would definitely return.

My only negative is the poor Wifi connection, although included, the service is poor - constantly disconnecting, and you could only logon in the main building.

Room Tip: If you want the full French experience, stay in the main Chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashore987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The absolute best place to get away and relax for a weekend holiday. Quality rooms here made us come home and remodel our bedroom to match. Food is superb as is walking, biking, and enjoying a thoughtful list of hotel amenities, including the golf course. Wine selection and food service are A+. If you desire a beautiful relaxing spot in the countryside, this is it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monestier
13.5 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
24.9 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Vigiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Vigiers

Property: Chateau des Vigiers
Address: Chateau des Vigiers | D18, 24240 Monestier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monestier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monestier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Vigiers 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chateau des Vigiers, luxury hotel golf & spa Luxury hotels, golf and spa situated in the Dordogne, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Bergerac, South West France Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the WorldDating back to the 16th century and set amidst the famous vineyards of this beautiful and unspoiled region, Chateau des Vigiers is an internationally renowned luxury Hotel, Golf and Spa situated in the Dordogne Perigord region of South West France. Conveniently located just 25 minutes from Bergerac Airport and about an hour east of Bordeaux, Chateau des Vigiers offers its guests two uniquely different hotel experiences, tailored to individual tastes and requirements. Whether you want to tour the world-famous vineyards of Bordeaux and Saint-Emilion, play golf on our impressive 27-hole course, enjoy our region's finest food and wine, or be pampered in our Maria Galland Beauty Spa, you will be able to escape the fast-pace of everyday life in this secluded and tranquil setting. Your Chateau des Vigiers experience awaits. Step inside... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau des Vigiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Vigiers Hotel Monestier
Chateau Des Vigiers Monestier
Chateau Des Vigiers France/Monestier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing