We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Wanstead
Post
Inbox
Search

β€œEccellente!!! πŸŒŸπŸŒŸπŸŒŸπŸŒŸπŸŒŸβ€
Review of Bombetta London

Bombetta London
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Wanstead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $41
Description: A little history: Bombetta is originally from the farming communities of Puglia where the land was devoted to olive groves, and room to grow trees for firewood was scarce. As fuel was precious, farm workers would head to the local butcher and feast on bombette from his communal oven. This meat would often be rolled up into a little bundle and contain bits of cheese or be held together by cured meat. A delicious food and a tradition based on community, eating and sharing together was born. And now it's here...
Restaurant details
Description: A little history: Bombetta is originally from the farming communities of Puglia where the land was devoted to olive groves, and room to grow trees for firewood was scarce. As fuel was precious, farm workers would head to the local butcher and feast on bombette from his communal oven. This meat would often be rolled up into a little bundle and contain bits of cheese or be held together by cured meat. A delicious food and a tradition based on community, eating and sharing together was born. And now it's here...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

WoW!!!!
What a bella serata
The food was delizioso
Joe and staffs il migliore
Il ambiente
Love love love this place, we all had such a great xmas staffs party do(my god the slow cooked lamb was one of the best I’ve had so far, special xmas menu). A very big thank you to Bombetta and team for looking after our small group. You guys rock and see you soon.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Elsaaaaaa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 265 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2019

We booked for a 6:30pm meal on Christmas Eve 2019 for a family party of 6 with ages ranging from mid-70's to 9yrs.

We all received a warm welcome.

The restaurant was warm, cosy and interesting.

The menu on offer catered for all our needs and the food delicious.

We were guided through the menu by the staff and were able to order what we wanted in a relaxed unhurried way with decisions about main courses taken as we were finishing our selection of starters.

All was served in a relaxed, but timely manner.

Drinks were well chosen for the listing, nicely priced and served without delay, or fuss.

The staff attention to a 9 year old needs for entertainment and instant food and drinks was very much appreciated.

The overall cost was excellent value and we were sorry to leave AND EAGER TO RETURN.

The day before we had been to see the Tina Turner musical - hence the title of this review, but to our mind BOMBETTA is SIMPLY THE BEST and one of our Worldwide favourite restaurants.

If you do not like it, we think you should review YOUR LIFE.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wsussexbts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited for dinner. We were seated promptly and given menus, but after ten minutes no one had come to see us. I finally asked someone to come and take a wine order. Was served a nice bottle. Another long wait for the dinner order. We ordered a selection of small plates. While I’m usually 100% happy for them to come out as and when, the service was bizarre. The staff waited for us to finish each plate before bringing the next. So it was like having seven courses! A plate of cheese, followed by a plate of meat etc. The most peculiar thing being the side of fries served as a last course. All a bit odd and underwhelming in the end. Clearly staff training, but the service was a shocker.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank joannamW4154SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019

Nice authentic dishes, unique to the area. Food well cooked and seasoned perfectly.

Menu is difficult to understand and no waiter guidance as he kept going off. Had to google to understand what the dishes consisted of. Overall good value for money for decent food you cannot get elsewhere.

Bad points: Plates so worn out they look dirty. Erratic service even when not busy times. Cold atmosphere dark and dingy lighting. Menus displayed in toilets very off putting indeed (hope they do not end up on the tables at some point). Some of our orders did not arrive and no apologies.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiAndrea, Owner at Bombetta London, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2019

Hi Paul,

Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy you enjoyed the food. I am sorry that no guidance was given to you. If you were able to help us identify when you came in so we can help address this with a bit of staff training, that would be great.

Kind reards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

What a waste of money,all they could offer was a plate of ham and a unedible cheese. For the vegetarian option was fried vegetables. charged Β£18 for each!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steventK3208ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiAndrea, Owner at Bombetta London, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2019

Hi Steven,

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast.

I understand that initially you were after something Vegan but then said you were happy with butter and cheese but no egg, so they guys tried hard to give you these flavours. We verbalise our breakfasts and they are very fluid so we could have made you anything. You had:

Dish 1:
- Grilled Cauliflower
- 4 round rings of aubergine baked in the oven
- Courgette and mushrooms fried in butter (rather than on the grill to give the flavour)
- Lightly grilled tomato
- with a side plate of a ball of fresh Puglian Burrata dressed with Puglian Extra Virgin Olive Oil
- A side plate of grilled fresh bread.

Dish 2:
- Roasted ham from Valle d'Aosta, rolled in alpine herbs.
- Pancetta soaked in Barolo wine and cooked from Piemonte
- Sicilian culettelo
- Balck & Green Nocellara del Belice olives & Sicilian semi roasted cherry tomatoes
- A ball of fresh Puglian burrata dressed with Puglian Extra Virgin Olive Oil
- A ball of buffalo mozzarella
- A side plate of grilled fresh bread

We gave you a table for four as we were not that busy and so you could stretch out while you were with us.

Your total bill, which also included 4 cups of coffee (Β£2.50 each = Β£10) and a large bottle of still water (Β£3 for 750ml), was Β£43 - Β£21.50 each (breakfasts on there own were actually Β£15 each).

We applied 10% service which we would happily have removed from the bill if we had had any inkling that you were unhappy but in the 1 hour and 30 minutes you were here you didn't mention anything. Had you then obviously we would have reacted.

We have an entire cheese room next door, so we could have at least changed the cheese for you if we had known, but Burrata is considered by us to be a real treat, so the team thought they were going the extra mile for you. If you didn't like the courgettes being cooked in butter, it would have taken seconds to change it a bit and grill you some more. We only had one other customer at this time and we had three people in kitchen, so we were completely at your beckon call.

Our FOH manager Matteo and Senior Sous Chef Cris, are both so disappointed you were unhappy. I do hope you try us again, we genuinely would love you to have a nice experience with us. Matteo posted some pictures of your two plates meal on Instagram on Saturday morning; they have actually gained quite a few likes, so I am sorry you thought the cheese inedible and experience not value for money.

We don't set out to give anyone a bad experience, so telling us in the moment would have enabled us to help make things right for you. We are only a small family business so negative reviews do make a difference to us. If ever you come back, please talk to us when your here and give us feedback. We hope you and your friend will try us again and we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves with us.


Kind regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombetta London also viewed

 

Been to Bombetta London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing