We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Perfect!”
Review of La Batellerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Sainte Foy et Ponchapt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Batellerie
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My sister and I stayed in The Gite adjacent to the hotel. Beautiful, spacious and very well equipped. We had our own garden area and enjoyed evening barbecues and warm sunshine with magnificent views. Our hosts Eric and Thida were friendly, very approachable and informative. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Located in the heart of the Dordorne makes it an ideal base to explore this magical, picturesque area of France. Shops are in walking distance. We would definitely recommend La Batellerie to guests of all ages.

Room Tip: The Gite allows privacy whilst hotel facilities are available to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank England109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We asked for a quiet room but the traffic noise from the road bridge adjacent to the hotel was a noisy distraction. Parking is around the back of the hotel and as our room was not in the main house it was a bit of an obstacle course to carry our luggage past the pool and through the house. Eric seemed to be managing things alone when we arrived and on our second night there was nobody managing the hotel - our knocks were met with loud barking from the resident alsation dog. We needed bathroom supplies and had to wait until the next morning when Eric appeared at breakfast time. Things improved when Tilda was back but we were somewhat disappointed by this hotel - not up to standards claimed in previous reviews. The town over the river is lifeless and it can be a challenge to find even just a drink in the evening. Overall we would stay closer to Bordeaux next time.

Room Tip: From reading the reviews of others it would seem that rooms in the main house are preferable althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Farple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Beautiful rooms with a interior mix of modern design and antiques, a delicious organic breakfast and nice chats with our host Eric made our stay excellent even if the weather could have been better! A perfect spot for daytrips to wineyards.

Room Tip: The Magnolia would be perfect for a family och for a trip with friends. We stayed four adults togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASTISofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

A personal beautifully decorated B&B. We enjoyed two nights in the magnificiant Magnolia room. Fantastic organic breakfast, complete with home cooked jam. Eric and his wife were very helpful and service minded.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann-Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

So we stayed here for the first two nights after our wedding. It was next door to our venue and perfectly located to walk into Ste-Foy-la-Grande. The owners were warm and welcoming and we loved hearing about their transfer from NYC to rural France.

Our rooms was superb - we stayed in the red room - and we had a breathtaking view of the stunning garden and Dordogne river. Breakfast was a delight - we're both still dreaming about the croissants as we ate in the dining room overlooking the garden.

Thank you for kicking our marriage off in such style. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Eric and Thida were very warm, welcoming and most hospitable. Beyond the chateau wall you will find a dream world. There is definitely magic in the air here and a place to see. Perfect terrasse to enjoy a glass of wine while overlooking swans on the river.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Behind a plain wall lies a dream setting.
The open plan layout of the cottage compliments the grand aspects to the location.
The swimming pool setting and style is amazing.
Both Eric and Thida were very attentive owners who allowed us full use of facilities.
Their friendly dog "Fiji" added to the enjoyment of our stay.
Port Saint-Foy offered the perfect backdrop to the location.
It was pure bliss - eating breakfast and evening meals outside.
Fantastic as a central base to tour the Dordogne region.
We can't recommend this highly enough. A perfect cottage for a dream holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Batellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Batellerie

Address: 2 rue Onesime Reclus, 33220 Port Sainte Foy et Ponchapt, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Port Sainte Foy et Ponchapt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port Sainte Foy et Ponchapt
Price Range: $112 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom Apartment, a part of Riverfront Historic Mansion in a lovely village of Port Sainte Foy with a magnificent panoramic view of the Dordogne River and the French garden. Situated between Bergerac and Saint Emilion, in the heart of popular tourist destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Batellerie France/Port Sainte Foy Et Ponchapt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing