We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful spacious house in wonderful rural...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
18th c country house, private pool, games room, woodland play area, archery Large covered  terrace with comfortable seating overlooking the pool area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
18th c country house, private pool, games room, woodland play area, archery
Large covered  terrace with comfortable seating overlooking the pool area
private pool, heated by solar panel
Aerial view of the property
Large Kitchen/dinning area
Large open plan kitchen and dining area, flat screen sat tv, american fridge freezer with ice maker
dining area with seating for 12
feature fireplace in the 2nd sitting room,large room with comfortable seating and Sat TV
Private 10 x 5 m swimming pool with sun  loungers
Large king size master suite with dressing room, bathroom, single open plan bedroom next door
master suite bathroom, with shower and bath
bathroom next to the master suite
family suite, open plan single bedroom, situated next to the master suite and family bathroom
single bedroom,
Downstairs double bedroom with e suite, patio doors leading on to the courtyard
ground floor double bedroom with en suite, patio doors leading onto the courtyard
Spacious Ground floor double bedroom with shower room and toilet next door
2nd view of ground floor double bedroom, leading onto hallway  with 2nd staircase to further 2 rooms
1st floor double bedroom, this room also has a large antique single bed, low feature beams
1st floor Double bedroom & large antique single bed, low feature beams
Our youngest ever Archer to hit the long field target
here come the girl's......
18th Century Country house set in 42 acres with Private  archery course, pool & games room
James hit the kill on the moving wild boar target at 25 mtr.
One of our animal targets set within our woodland
One of the many pretty squares in Perigueux
Well done Edward you hit the moving target
Ben at the lower tree shot platform
St Jean de Cole one of the beau villages of France, 20 min drive from house
View of Farmhouse  barns from our wild flower meadow
Millie's first arrow shot from the tree house
dinning area with seating for 12 covered terrace with views of meadow and swimming pool
local river with falls, perfect day out, 15 mins drive. Also 2 rivers within 5 min drive
Brantome, known to the locals as the Petite Venice of the Perigord 35 mins from house
Deer can be seen on a regular basis in our woodland.
Picture postcard. The Medieval city of Perigueux 15 mins drive from house
You have arrived, relax and enjoy
try archery with a difference, lessons for beginers  accompanied tours of our field archery course
Bordeaux 1hr30 by train from Perigueux or 2 hour drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sorges, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
naomiandj...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful spacious house in wonderful rural location with blissful gardens and swimming pool.”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We've just returned from a wonderful week at La Chenaie. The house is utterly beautiful and decorated with touches of luxury and all the facilities you need for the perfect holiday. We were a large family group of adults and young children and found the layout a dream... with the 3 bedrooms upstairs all being family rooms with double & single beds in each and 2 further double bedrooms downstairs. There are two sitting rooms (with TVs) downstairs including a hugely spacious open plan kitchen / dining room which leads out onto a beautiful huge covered terrace with another large dining and sitting area overlooking the blissful pool. This is where we spent most of our time as it was perfect place to relax and watch the kids play in the sun or rain. The 42 acres of rambling woodland and open fields include an archery range, childrens playground with swings, see saw and zip wire, hammock, badminton net. There's also a games room, bikes to borrow and if all that wasn't enough to keep us thrillingly occupied, the children (and grownups!) were also entertained with rides on the quad bike (supervised by the ever accommodating Glenn). Glenn and Roma are utterly lovely hosts, living in the gite next to the main house they were very friendly and happy to chat and show us around and be on call if needed (the archery lessons were fab) but also kept discreetly out of the way to give privacy and make you feel that you really do have the house to yourselves.
There is loads to do in the local area and when we did manage to tear ourselves away from the house we enjoyed trips to the local caves and the beautiful village of Brantome.
Thank you Glenn & Roma, it really was a perfect holiday and we can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at La Chenaie and we hope to see you and your lovely family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
576maggie
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous spacious exceptional family house with pool and games rooms etc set in 42 acres of woodlands and grounds”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a really fabulous traditional French holiday home - very attractively and tastefully decorated and furnished to a very high standard providing everything needed to enjoy this great environment. Exceptional grounds and woodlands to enjoy - and the owners Roma and Glenn, who live on site in the adjacent gite, were so very charming, friendly and helpful. Their warm welcome and chilled wine and melon in the fridge, and basic supplies, when we arrived late were greatly appreciated! The family enjoyed walks in the woodland and also the Archery course that Glenn and Roma provide. This part of the Dordogne is very lush and beautiful and there are many pretty towns and hamlets and chateaus to visit. Good restaurants in nearby towns - but not in walking distance. The pool and terrace and views were particularly wonderful for our many relaxing al fresco lunches and dinners - and I would thoroughly recommend this fabulous holiday home, and this area, for a relaxing peaceful family holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneH26...
1 review
“Would highly recommend this property”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a fantastic holiday! The property, location and facilities exceeded our expectations.
Glenn and Roma were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable holiday. The archery and pool was fantastic and enjoyed by all the group.

We enjoyed our holiday that much that have already booked to return next year!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on our home, we are really grateful for your kind comments. We will look forward to seeing you all again next year.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of our guests who have stayed with us over the past 3 years and posted such positive reviews, each and everyone has been thanked personally for taking the time to comment on our home and the facilities we have on offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VJCS_10
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Blissful”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

You can read about all the facilities that this property has to offer elsewhere; I write about the ambience of the place.
With an extended family ranging from 7 to 70 years old, we all had a simply fantastic week where the beautiful region, a super property, lots to do, lovely host family and wall-to-wall sunshine made for a wonderful holiday.
Glen,Roma and Jamie [our hosts] where magnificent and contributed so much to make our stay such a positive experience. They were always on-hand to help/advise and guide, but were never intrusive. Thanks so much to you all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The variety of things to do in the rental property.
Liked least: Leaving the place !!!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ponto10
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, stunning location, perfect hosts. Fantastic.”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just returned from La Chenaie after two weeks in this stunning house set in 42 acres and we couldn't have wanted more.

The hosts Roma and Glen couldn't be more helpful giving advice on where to go for amenities and on things to do.
Sorges is only 5 minutes away and has a small Coop, chemist and bakery and Perigeaux is 20 minutes away with a large supermarket.

La Chenaie is perfect for lazy days by the pool and has fantastic outside areas and plenty for the children to do such as the swings, football and badminton areas and then if arranged with the hosts archery which they couldn't be more accommodating.

The house itself has everything you could want and more and is perfect for large families or groups of friends.

We would definitely recommend La Chenaie to anyone and wouldn't think twice about returning.

Fantastic x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatTurn
Buxton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You need to come here!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from La Chenaie. We are a family of 5 with children who are 14, 12 and 7 and we were accompanied by our friends and their younger children.

La Chanaie is a stunning property situated in a very quiet and beautiful spot a few miles from the village of Sorges. We have stayed at properties in France many times before and yet to experience a poor one to be fair, however this place takes the top spot and not sure how it could be beaten!

The house is large and beautifully furnished, the outside area is just as good. There is a very large undercover part overlooking the pool which we found ourselves in most of the time, this includes a lounge area and separate dining table. It is no more than an hour from Limoges airport and 20 minutes from the large town of Perigueux. There is a well stocked Co op which is open daily in Sorges or you can travel to Perigueux for a larger shop.

The owners of the property, Glenn and Roma are the perfect hosts. They live in a separate Gite next to the main house and are on hand for anything you wish, but will totally respect your privacy and never intrude. Nothing is ever too much trouble. You will see in other reviews that there is an archery range in the vast grounds. This of course needs to be done under the supervision of Glenn or Roma but you only need to mention it and they drop everything to take you around! Our children found this very enjoyable. Glenn was also kind enough to let us all have a go on his quad bike on a few occasions around the huge field. He even let my 12 year old son have a go on his own (with my permission, he is a sensible lad), you wont see that in many other places! Glenn and Roma's son Jamie also lives on site but again totally respects your privacy. He is so polite and on the rare occasion that you do see him always speaks and passes the time of day.

The pictures of the property do not do it justice in my opinion, it really is perfect.

We were very sad to leave this spectacular place but will return soon. There is literally nothing negative to say, I would highly recommend La Chenaie and urge anyone thinking of visiting this part of France to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The outside area and pool
Liked least: I cant think of anythint to put here!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing