We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the find -the surrounds an added bonus!”

Hotel Restaurant Laborderie
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tamnies
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $62
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth the find -the surrounds an added bonus!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This beautiful, hidden village with a hotel/restaurant was most certainly worth it! I was told about it by a local. Entering the quaint village the scenery was spectacular before sitting down to a exceptionally good lunch. We choose the menu at 22 euros pp, (there are more plus (some photos shown) alternatively an a la carte menu, these are available for dinner also.The whole experience has a traditional French atmosphere, including the food! The portions are generous, too much for me as the menu chosen includes - apperitif/entree/main + dessert or Cheese, Coffee & biscuits (drinks not included,still with quality and respectable prices). I went in spring and can only imagine it as the perfect place for an evening meal outside or inside dining in summer. The area is not far from many other attractions in the Dordogne area and 15mins from Carlucet where I am staying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Analyse2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Elegant Restaurant”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The restaurant in this hotel is excellent. The food is of very high quality and very well presented. There has been a lot of thought into the decoration and it works well. It touches on sophistication but at the same time you feel very cosy and comfortable. We stayed four nights and ate in the restaurant for three of them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBRAD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, great find!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found this lovely restaurant/hotel when staying in St Genies which is about 5 minutes away by car. Great little find backed up by the fact it is featured in the MIchelin Guide, usually a good indication of a decent restaurant.

We rang and made a reservation as we have a young baby and wanted to make sure it was ok to take hime, there was no issues at all with this.

On arrival we were made to feel welcome, the restaurant was already quite busy. The staff were friendly and readily available and very efficient with taking our order.

The menu had a great choice and quite honestly the food was delicious, well worth a visit if you are in the area, i think booking would be advisable during peak periods. Overall a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helsy_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Souterraine, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Meals of a high quality & beautifully presented.”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our latest visit, probably our eighth or ninth, was just as exciting as the previous ones. The food here is always very good and this trip proved to be no exception. Sometimes, the choice of accompaniment to the main dish can be a bit 'cheffy', and in my opinion, do not quite work, but it is always a pleasure to try. The menus are quite extensive and offer a good choice, although some vegetarians might be pushed to agree. The portions are pretty large and if one goes for one of the more gastronomic menus, it can be a challenge to get to the end of the meal, but steal yourself, for the desserts are just as good as the mains.
On the hotel side, we have stayed in all areas of this Hotel, the main building and in all three annexes. I would say that the main building is/was a little tired when we stayed a couple or so years ago, perhaps it has been refreshed since, I do not know. The annexes are clean and modern but I would recommend the annexe furthest away from the hotel itself, in particular room No 53. From there you will get a great view of the valley beyond and of the deer in the enclosure below your windows and balcony.
I highly recommend this Hotel/Restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank le-dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Laborderie also viewed

 
Saint-Leon-sur-Vezere, Montignac
La Chapelle-Aubareil, Dordogne
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Laborderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing