We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant was best bit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Restaurant was best bit”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a hideaway and on first look it seemed lovely, but it appears it was a restaurant first and then a hotel. The meal we had was lovely and the breakfast too, but the room in the attic was not great. It was well furnished but no TV and amazingly, we had tea and coffee and cups and biscuits but no kettle! Were told the kettle tripped the lights so we had to ask if we wanted hot water.

Very low dark ceiling and beams and weird artwork (faces coming out of frames). Do not choose this room if you have a fear of attics. The room is also directly above the open roof of the restaurant so do not expect an early night.

Room Tip: Attic room is not good if you suffer from claustrophobia
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion A, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We are indeed always interested in the many and diverse reviews we get on this site. To this end we thank you for your comments. Despite the fact that this is a very low priced room which is not masquerading as anything other than a "Budget Upstairs room with shower only " and No refinements it is either loved or hated. It is huge with air-conditioning and great views. We indeed apologies re the lack of kettle. We have a peculiar, rather fickle electricity system. Although it is 3 -phase, it can be affected by weather, and kettles are susceptible. So we apologize that the kettle had gone AWOL ...Tea/coffee is willingly served. The ceiling is painted white, and Yes! There were two quite incredible art works which were looking for a home, and we felt we had to take them in! (I have since relocated them to our Art Gallery across the road) I do suspect if others did find them wearisome or threatening they may have just thrown a towel or duvet in their general direction! Next time we shall offer you one of our more superior downstairs rooms with their own entrances and patios, and hope you will consider a return visit.
Lastly I must state that the Guest House was built by us back in 1994, and the Restaurant evolved by popular demand ..it has all proved to be a huge success with much hard work behind the scenes. We only want our Guests to be a 100% happy, and your " lesser than" experiences do indeed make us realize that the so called Low Price option can prove to be a double-edged sword!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    88
    44
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
178
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nicely tucked into the surrounding landscape this is a lovely and quiet place. When we entered out room it looked stunning with a huge bed and a free standing bathtub in the room under a big flatscreen telly. The room had a separate bathroom and although the washbasin was new and lovely the general look of the bathroom was a bit old and in need of a little attention. The shower wasn't very inviting and some mould stains on wall and ceiling around it let it down. The service at dinner was good and all staff really friendly. We sat close to a roaring log fire as it was a cold, rainy evening. There was a buffet dinner - all you can eat that night which was tasty and plentyful. No a la carte option though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion A, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Goodie 71. We are grateful indeed to see your recent review ...and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly busy with upgrades of our facilities and indeed Yes! Bathrooms are included and we are just sorry that there was what was perceived to be mould stains on the walls and ceiling of the shower. Our micro-climate leaning towards high rainfall and humidity does have its side effects and takes its toll in bathrooms. Believe me when I say we are constantly on the prowl for the resultant mildew stains. We do indeed apologize that these were perhaps overlooked in the Essenhout ...you did mention that it was raining, and you sat by a roaring log fire for Dinner. October November are indeed our high rainfall months, hence our amazing environment, with its dense bush, abundance of ferns and thriving fynbos.
Incidentally Buffet Dinners are only held once per week, usually Friday nights, through out our High Season, so the a' la carte option is for one night eschewed in favour of a great choice of " eat as much as you like yummy dishes". We did try a combination some years ago, but it was just too difficult to monitor. I trust you will understand, and it is only to be hoped that the rest of your holiday went smoothly in our diverse and stunning country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Armagh Country Lodge and Spa is one of good places to be, the service experience and interaction with owners and staff was great. Home away from home. Rooms are big and excellent. Resturant serve good food.

Room Tip: Keurboom or Essenhout
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgoakoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion A, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We wish to say a Big Thank-you to you for taking the time to write about your happy experiences staying at The Armagh in the exquisite Tsitsikamma. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our food was good. Reviews like yours give us a chance to sing a little in the middle of our very busy days. Please do come back and enjoy once again our adventures, spectacular scenery, wonderful hikes, and pure unpolluted air - you are so welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at Armagh Country Lodge and Spa in September 2013. The room I was given was very spacious but nothing like advertised on the website. The bathroom was also very spacious but very old fashioned. The bed was amazing. Extra length and the bedding of very high quality. The wifi was excellent too. My room also had a private outside seating area which unfortunately was next to the restaurant which ended up not being very private. Above my room was a lounge area for the restaurant which ended up being very noisy when people moved around.

I spent a lot of time at the Spa which was amazing. The staff were well trained and very professional. Everyone was very kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Because I was alone, I wanted to eat in my room. The first night I went to the restaurant which was directly next to my room. There was no atmosphere. The lighting is too bright. There was a lovely log fire and the hostess was very friendly. I found the menu very interesting with lots of variety, however the food is nothing like it is described. I ordered a curry the one evening which I found to be very bland. It was served with gem squash, peas and carrots (which tasted like it came from a frozen packet and warmed up in the microwave).

I also had a cheese platter which was R89 and had five biscuits, small pieces of cheese (regular type) some grapes and liver pate. Very small portion for the price.

On another occasion I ordered soup of the day which was also very expensive (pea soup). It was ok. The bread served with it was lovely home baked.

The last evening I ordered the "chicken pie". Not sure why it is called Chicken Pie, because it is not chicken pie. It is just chicken with something that looks like dough on top. Also served with the same peas, carrots and gem squash (microwaved) They also warmed the "pie" in the microwaved which tasted awful. Very pricy un-tasty meal!

Needless to say, I would stay at the Hotel but eat somewhere else.

All in all I enjoyed my stay but not the restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Yellow wood room next to the Restaurant. A bit noisy when people walk in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion A, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Odette. Thank you so much for your recent review of your 4-day stay with us @ The Armagh. We do appreciate when our guests take the time to write to us with their valuable comments.
We are becoming increasingly popular as a safe haven for stressed career people, who just want a retreat from life's pressures, so you can understand we are eager for your feed-back.
We are truly sad that there were areas not matching your high expectations, and these, of course, are of real concern to us...for example, our local artisanal cheeses, organic vegetables, and highly acclaimed chicken pie. (I must add that our curry dishes are kept mild, as Cape Malay style cuisine decrees). You are so welcome to return to us, it was really good to meet you, and, I must just add, that booking early will guarantee one of our totally private and secluded cottages. Our very best regards & assurance that we are passionate, and ongoing, with our quality control...Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked on the morning & within minutes we had confirmation of our booking, never had such fast service! Our room was lovely, Marion & her staff were wonderful. Breakfast was delightful. It was the morning of our 25th wedding anniversary, we hadn't told them but it was a fantastic start to the day. Wish we could have stayed longer..I walked around on my own after doing an activity & felt very safe. 5stars, thank you Denise & Jeff

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion A, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are so very pleased that you took the time to Review The Armagh! It's just an absolute thrill for all of our very special Staff that their efforts are appreciated. Thank you again very much, and we so look forward to welcoming you again to our Lodge. I must add I love your surname and on first meeting your husband the Tom Sawyer thing just came straight out of my mouth....So I'm relieved he forgave me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Armagh was our first stop on the Garden Route and we were glad to have such lovely hosts for our first stay. The guest house is perfectly located just a few minutes away from the entrance of the Tsitsikamma national park. The food in the restaurant is also very good. We can only recommend this guest house to anybody who wants to spend his holidays on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautifulearth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion A, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your special report on TA. it was so good to have you stay with us. We are delighted you had a good time, because It was just such fun having you. We hope some day you'll come back to our great land..but we know the world is waiting for you to explore. Go well & thank you for remembering us! It's got real impact on our staff to know that they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We very much enjoyed our night here. The room, massage, and meals were all very nice. The staff is very friendly and the resort is small but lovely. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to come back again.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is very nice, roomy, and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceB, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in our Guest Lodge; we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Many potential guests rely on Trip Advisor reports when booking their holidays, and you have made our Staff very happy by appreciating them, and the wonderful work our team are doing. We look forward to welcoming more Guests from America. We realise it's a very long trip, but such adventures, hiking, amazing animals, great diversity and incredible people are to be found all over our wonderful country. Our sincere thanks indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.7 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
876 reviews
5.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tsitsikamma Manor
Tsitsikamma Manor
#4 of 5 in Storms River
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa

Property: Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Address: 24 Fynbos Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa est. 1994 offers comfortable ensuite airconditioned rooms, spacious gardens with Tsitsikamma Mountain views, a Country Spa and South African Cuisine in Highly Acclaimed Rafters Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh Country Hotel
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing