We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tsitsikamma Village Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch
1 review
“Tsitsikamma Village Inn”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Meals: First night (meat) very good, second night (fish) not good at all. Fish must have been frozen for ages and did not taste very fresh. Breakfast very good.

Room: Very nice room. Bed lamps totally inadequate. Poor choice of TV channels,

Overall a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Pierre D,

Appreciate your feedback, as we are always trying to improve as much as possible, as soon as possible. :) Good to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

I'd like to give you feedback as well. Sorry to hear that your fish was not good...Our fish we get is from a local company in Plettenberg Bay, and the quality is usually very good, and the fish is tasty. I'll double-check the quality, and this will be sorted out immediately.

You mentioned that the bed lamps are totally inadequate. Please let me know which room you stayed in, so we can have a look at this.

In our rooms we provide the full TopTV bouquet which has a huge variety of channels. We have DSTV in Hunters Pub and Cafe Bacchus which has another selection of channels.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and looking forward to your next visit.

Sunny regards from Storms River Village, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    331
    105
    16
    9
See reviews for
215
444
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I wonder whether I stayed somewhere different to the other reviewers as the comments made by others were all so positive but unfortunately I didn't feel it was that good.

Firstly there were lots of positives:
Beds were extremely comfortable which is so important.
Breakfast variety was fabulous , probably one of the best we encountered on our 2 week holiday.
Location and setting was lovely and very quiet while being only a stone's throw from all the activities offered in Tsitsikamma.
Staff were friendly.

However be prepared for a few negatives:
Room was very dated in decor and though I understand this was a village that was trying to maintain a feel of yesteryear I do feel that it could do with bringing up to date slightly eg tv, carpets, clock radio on wall (you have to see this to believe it)
Bathroom really needed to be bleached and re-grouted.... it was so cold and clinical and the shower was all tarnished and corroded.
Swimming pool was a great disappointment to my kids who were looking forward to a swim- it really needs to be drained and painted as it was all flaking off and definitely cleaned as it had a film of muck on the top of the water.... hence to say they did not use it.
Finally the Hunters Restaurant was awful.... my meal of chicken stirfry was pieces of chicken in a sweet and sour sauce --- this is not stirfry. My son's burger also had gristle in it.... we didn't bother with desserts and were really disappointed with the experience.

I think that the place is so big that the owners probably have trouble keeping maintenance up to standard and as I said it did have a lot of positives to it. I think that if you are travelling on a budget and don't expect anything spectacular then this is a great place to stay but if , like me, you have looked at the website and expected better then you may be disappointed. Just arrive with an open mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Bramblewood1,

Thank you for your constructive criticism. Feedback from guests is always helpful to improve the experience that future guests receive at the hotel.

Since taking over the hotel in November 2010 we have undertaken an systematic upgrade of facilities each year during our off season time, In 2012 all rooms (49) were fitted with air-conditioning and 20 rooms were repainted, last year 6 rooms were completely rebuilt and the main restaurant redecorated, equipment to transmit free WI- Fi over the entire property
(30 000m2) was installed. 8 rooms have seen their TVs upgraded to the latest on the market and the rest of the Village rooms will receive theirs during this year. The swimming pool will be upgraded next year.

Thanks to your feedback the type of room that you stayed in are receiving immediate attention. The tarnishing on the shower heads is a result of the cleaning agent that is used to clean them, A few of the rooms have the wall mounted clock radios we have left them as a bit of a quirky humorous item from years back.

My apologies regarding the food in the Hunters Pub/Restaurant, we have taken this up with our local butcher who hand makes the burger patties for us and the description on the menu for the “Ginger Stir-Fry Chicken” dish has been changed.

Thanks again for the feedback. I hope your experience at the hotel did not spoil your visit to our country.

Kind regards, Chris Sykes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tsitsikamma Village Inn - The staff were friendly and helpful, and rooms and gardens were beautiful! The only thing that could do with some improvement was the breakfast service, which ran out of bacon both mornings we were there, and took ages to cook my poached eggs, one of which ended up being way undercooked. Once we got the food we wanted though, it was delicious. The dinner service was lovely.

Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello to you, and a warm shout-out from the gorgeous and peaceful Tsitsikamma. Sincere and genuine apologies for the breakfast disappointment, but we are happy to hear this did not cloud or spoil your overall experience and was redeemed by the dinner service… at its best. Please come again soon. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The location is super, the rooms we had were very good. Food in the Hunters and Restaurant were very good, a few items not on the menu on the second night as a large group arrived just after the Easter holiday which was a shame but the food we were served was good. Breakfast was large and set us up well for our day exploring.
Very welcoming and the information about local things was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 495SamG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Greetings from the sublime and sedate Tsitsikamma. Yes, agree – there is no end to the exploring one can do in this wonderful area. Please do come again soon. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our stay at Tsitsikamma Village Inn was wonderful, the Inn's service, professionalism and friendliness was outstanding and we are definitely planning a trip back there this year. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LeesylG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Wonderful to hear!! Nothing pleases us more than to hear our guests plan to return for an even better stay. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were a group of friends meeting at a reunion. A.F.S. (American Field Service) The facilities were great. The staff very friendly, the wifi worked. The food was good. All in all a very nice experience.
We may come back all the way from Denmark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Familien_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so happy that the reunion was such a huge success, and it was very evident what a great time was being had by all. Look forward to your next reunion! Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked the Tsitsikamma Village Inn as a 1 night stop over and were sorry that we didn't book it for longer. We had stopped at Storms river to do the tree top canopy tour (which was great and highly recommend) and we would have liked to stay for longer to do more activities. All activities can be booked within a 2 min walk of the hotel.
The hotel is really nice, the rooms are all set out around a very pretty green and the room was very spacious with a lovely patio sitting out onto the green. A very nice spot to stop off at and a lovely pool to relax by.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DipsyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so happy that you got to relax and unwind. This is what a stay-over is all about! Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
4.9 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Village Inn

Property: Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Address: Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsitsikamma Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magical country hotel situated in the village of Storms River has been hosting travellers since 1841. The privately owned and managed country hotel consists of 49 village-style rooms, where each cottage is individually decorated to match its specific colonial building style. The main building, which traces its roots back to 1845, has a spacious dining room, incorporating the De Oude Martha Restaurant, the Hunters Pub, Cafe Bacchus and Guest Lounge. Take a journey back in time at our Marilyn’s 60s Diner, a tribute to Marilyn and Elvis with its collection of memorabilia and a menu to match. Right next door, at Tsitsikamma Microbrewery, enjoy one of our selection of Ales, or choose from a variety of other South African craft beers. The hotel is a perfect base to explore the natural beauty and activities of the Tsitsikamma area, close to the Tsitsikamma National Park. The only full service hotel in the area. The Hotel is renowned for its good food, old world charm and has been a favourite for many a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tsitsikamma Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Village Inn Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing