We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this charming hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were expecting the Tsitsikamma Village in to be a small village B&B with not many facilities and just a nice place for one night. As soon as we arrived and saw it we were charmed by the beautiful garden and quaint rooms set round a lawn in the style of an old English village green (boules missing). This place really surprised us as for only 30 something rooms there was a good restaurant, a nice pool, tv lounge, bar, free internet access and the rooms were lovely, well equipped and very clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent, the best we had in SA with a large variety of hot and cold food, everything you could want. The restaurant wasn't too fancy, nice but casual with a varied menu. The food was excellent, I would highly recommend the grilled chicken, I've never had such tasty juicy chicken.
The setting of the hotel in Tsitsikamma is just beautiful and peaceful. We had a barn room at the back and thought it may be a bit out of the way but we were able to park the car privately at the back and we had the end room with an extra window overlooking the garden. All we could hear from the terrace was the swish of the wind and the guinea fowl running round the garden. We really wished we had stayed longer. We would definitely go back and spend at least 4 nights next time. The area and the hotel have enough going that you could easily spend a week here.
All the rooms are different styles and they all looked nice so I think you'd be happy whichever you booked. The only thing we would have liked (which we didn't have in our room, don't know about other room types) was a fridge.
You can book all your activities through the hotel. It is not necessary to book before you arrive as everything can be arranged the day you do the activity. The hotel have daily deals on activities so you may save money doing it with them anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
What a lovely review you posted! Thank you so much. Yes, you have indeed summed up the essence of our charming hotel... and even the boules could have been arranged!!! :) There certainly is nothing lack, and the experience is made all the more better by the wonderful quality of guests that we have visiting, such as yourselves. Please come for longer! Four days is just not enough.
Travel well. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    346
    107
    16
    9
See reviews for
231
452
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Village Inn is located in nice garden in the center of beautiful Strom River
Local staff are very friendly & rooms are modest but spacious & nice
Dinner was real great...food is very tasty with nice personal service
Breakfast buffet is very good - large choice of great food
Don't miss this inn while you visit the Tsitsikamma National Park

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimrod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
It is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We certainly do have the whole package going here. Please come again soon.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Village Inn has such a modest-sounding name that I wasn't expecting much but it was a lovely surprise; beautiful surroundings, friendly staff and a sublime breakfast buffet.

We stayed in one of their barn rooms which had a very outdated bathroom suite (looked 1970s!) with a shower over the bath & no shower curtain so ended up with a soaked floor.

We were only there for one night but I would happily stay longer for a peaceful break. The only sounds at night were the crickets.

If you can eat dinner elsewhere it might be worth doing so- our evening meal had a few issues and wasn't of the highest quality but was sweetened by a very pleasant waitress.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are delighted that you were able to unwind, relax and sleep well, and hope that you are soon able to repeat the experience, including a good meal and great service.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi Irma / Angilique , Diane and staff, my wife Desiré Delport , now Mrs Smith and I would like to thank you all for making our last night 07/02/2013 of our amazing 2 week HONEYMOON a night to never forget, the hospitality and friendliness of everyone there will be missed! The King Albert Rm 33 which we stayed in and Queen Victora accommodation was breathtaking! Thanks once again and looking forward to seeing you all again! :) P.s please say hi to Simone` and Eunice in the restaurant, breakfast was delicious... :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Our newly weds!! It was an absolute pleasure having you stay and share in the joy that the two of you so evidently brought. Greetings from the team, and we know you are in for a "happily-ever-after" future. Please celebrate your anniversaries with us. :))
Best wishes
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The most beautiful surroundings you will experience! Accommodation comfortable & quiet. Meals are excellent done by a master chef at de Oude Martha Restaurant! At breakfast the choice is so vast, you could eat something different every morning.Irma & Chris are great hosts.
Would go nowhere else when in that area!

Room Tip: The Queen room is Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrayHough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and it is always a pleasure to hear from a happy guest. Please stop off again soon.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the great time we had at your lodge! I recently stayed there with quite a big group of people and we all agreed that this establishment was real value for money. The staff was extremely friendly, the food was great and the rooms really comfortable. Being a tour guide can sometimes become really hectic, especially with a big group, but the wonderful helpful staff took a lot of my responsibilities in there hands to make my stay as comfortable as possible! Now that is what I call service! For all these reasons I give the Tsitsikamma Village Inn a big thumbs up!
The area also offers a lot to do and the location of the hotel makes it easy to reach the most of these fun activities!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaTravellerblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Your response is greatly appreciated and we thank you for your positive feedback. It is with great pleasure that we take care of all our guests, and we hope you will return again soon.
Best wishes
Wilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a standard room which was very good but we had expected something a bit bigger.
No problem we checked out the other rooms and decided that for the price we could upgrade to a deluxe room which was a fantastic room in the two story block.
As it was the week after the Christmas holidays it was very quiet.
We had our meals in the bar on both evenings of our stay and the food was very good the service was fault less and very efficient .
We met the lady owner who told us about very thing to do in Storms River so we decided to go for the Segway of Road tour, we thought it was a great way to spend the afternoon.
Allin all we really enjoyed our visit and look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jays121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us feedback on your stay. It certainly is a beautiful, peaceful and relaxing locality, yet fun-filled too... something for everyone! Please come again soon.
Kind regards
Wilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
4.9 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Village Inn

Property: Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Address: Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsitsikamma Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magical country hotel situated in the village of Storms River has been hosting travellers since 1841. The privately owned and managed country hotel consists of 49 village-style rooms, where each cottage is individually decorated to match its specific colonial building style. The main building, which traces its roots back to 1845, has a spacious dining room, incorporating the De Oude Martha Restaurant, the Hunters Pub, Cafe Bacchus and Guest Lounge. Take a journey back in time at our Marilyn’s 60s Diner, a tribute to Marilyn and Elvis with its collection of memorabilia and a menu to match. Right next door, at Tsitsikamma Microbrewery, enjoy one of our selection of Ales, or choose from a variety of other South African craft beers. The hotel is a perfect base to explore the natural beauty and activities of the Tsitsikamma area, close to the Tsitsikamma National Park. The only full service hotel in the area. The Hotel is renowned for its good food, old world charm and has been a favourite for many a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tsitsikamma Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Village Inn Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing