We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At The Woods Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Storms River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Having visited At The Woods on a previous trip we knew we wanted to stay again, this time for longer. We were not disappointed. The rooms are comfortable with everything provided and the friendly service and advice made us feel at home again. A high quality breakfast was provided on a lovely balcony. The B&B is ideally placed for trips to Storms River Mouth and to various activities in the Tsitsikama Forest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 415 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this pleasant guest-house in Storms River Village. The area itself is lovely and I can recommend the different walks that are available around the village. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a small balcony and view over the mountains. The public areas upstairs are very nice indeed, decorated and furnished very tastefully. Having breakfast on the balcony beside the breakfast room was lovely, and the meal itself was delicious. In fact it was probably the best breakfast we had in South Africa. Special mention has to go to the yoghurt - I had complained earlier to my husband that all the yoghurt on offer elsewhere had been the sweetened fruit variety, so to find plain natural yoghurt was a pleasant surprise. Then to find that it was some of the very best Greek-style yoghurt I have ever tasted anywhere was an extra surprise! The owner was not there when we arrived but we were met and greeted by her father who did an excellent job of welcoming us. We would certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This outstanding B&B in Storms River Village could easily compete with any 5 star B&B – in my opinion !

Our stay here was such a pleasure . There is great attention to detail shown in every aspect of the house and any reasonable person could not wish for more.

The bedroom ( we had No 8 ) – with a lovely view – was delightful . It was spacious, the king size bed very comfortable and the walk-in shower such a pleasure. The attention to detail was evident with , for eg. a torch, hot water bottle , extra sheets and hair dryer supplied together with a well stocked bar fridge , tea and coffee tray and selected DSTV channels to watch .

The house itself is comfortable and spacious and the swimming pool was tremendous – a great bonus on a hot day. Enjoying the delightful breakfast overlooking the pool was another great feature.

Together with all the above , the owner , Bev, is very friendly and helpful and you really feel at home here.

We look forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billdelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lovely place, very tasteful decorated common areas (e.g. cosy fireplace). Furniture of the rooms are good average. Very friendly, always helpful and attentive owner. Good breakfast. Some convenient extras (hairdryer, flashlight etc.).


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The At The Woods Guest House is a very nice and affordable three star accommodation in Storms River. Perfect for a night after hiking all day through the Tsitsikamma National Park as it's only a few minutes by car away. The town Storms River Village itself isn't really interesting but the surrounding National Park is truly amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tknuewerHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a nice place to stay but unfortunately, our experience was slightly different to the other reviews. From the moment we arrived, it was a little strange as no one was at reception to check us in. The cleaner showed us to our room and after that we were left to get on with thing. The manager or owner was not around at all for our entire stay. We used our guides to find out about activities and restaurants in the area, which lucky for us, we researched well. However, i was a little disappointed. On the good side, it is clean with a good location to the national park. There are very few restaurants in the area and i am unsure if this hotel did evening dinner. I have seen other reviews for this hotel and they seem very good, which is why i booked, so would like to think we were just unluckily on this occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We felt totally relaxed and enjoyed our short stay very much. Bob's breakfast was a great treat. We will certainly use your establishment again.
It is the ideal stopover between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Norlyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.7 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
282 reviews
8 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Woods Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Woods Guest House

Address: 43 Formosa Street | Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Storms River
Price Range: $82 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — At The Woods Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Storms River Village, Tsitsikamma, we offer a relaxed stay in our owner managed guest house with mountain views, swimming pool, Wi-Fi and other comforts. We have 2 guest lounges, offer a laundry service and will help with your arrangements for your stay in the area.Breakfast is served, and there are 3 restaurants within walking distance of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your At The Woods Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Woods Guest House Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing