We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights not long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At The Woods Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Storms River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Two nights not long enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only stayed two nights but could have stayed longer. The room was lovely and spacious with a very nice bathroom and our own balcony. The breakfast was very good and served on a veranda in the sunhine.Bev was very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. She recommended some good restaurants within walking distance in the lovely village and also Fynboshoek Cheese Farm which was a great experience. A lovely peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    134
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
73
240
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are spacious and clean and the view from the balcony excellent. Bev made some great recommendations for places to eat , particularly the Fynboshoek cheese farm. The breakfasts in this property were plentiful and tasty. We wished we had stayed longer than just 2 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were headed to the Tsitsikamma NP and decided to call it a day at this beautiful B&B. Stormsriver Village is perfect, quiet, quaint, lush and beautiful. And so it this B&B! So cosy that you feel right at home. Very friendly hosts, by the way. Serving a delicious brekkie on the veranda with a stunning view of the green mountains. Would stay here again, definitely!

Room Tip: Ground floor with direct access to the lawn and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantomas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were looking for a place to say on our way back from the Eastern Cape to Cape Town. This was one of the places that responded to my request for a place to stay. Am I grateful they did. What a fantastic place it is. A small boutique hotel with a few room in a wonderful setting. The rooms and bathrooms are large a well kept. Each room is different in size and setting. There is a wonderful garden and swimming pool to relax in. Each room has a well stocked bar fridge at very reasonable prices. There is also a good stock of SA wines on request.

The hotel is in the Storms River Village and there are a number of good places to eat at. For activities there is a great deal to do in the Tsitsikamma National Park. Hiking, mountain biking and a variety of extreme sports. You need a few days in the area to do it justice.

I will definitely go back there is our stay was too short, and we will definitely book at the "At the Woods"

Room Tip: Any room downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

For off, Tsitsikamma National Park was perhaps the highlight of our two and a half week excursion around South Africa. What a gorgeous place to explore through hiking.

At the Woods guest house was clean, comfortable, so well remodeled and rebuilt into a charming bed and breakfast. The spacious common room was a relaxing place to read, have a yummy breakfast, and meet new people. The bedroom/bathroom was a nice place to sleep... just wish we would have had more than a day/night here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in early December and enjoyed a very comfortable room and good hospitality. A very good restaurant - Rafters- in short walking distance. Storms River is a great base to explore the Tsitsikamma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed last August 2012 and it was such a nice experience. The place was very omfortable, clean and well decorated. Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. A cosy place to stay if you enjoy to bike and have walking trips around Tzitzikamma National Park in South Africa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patvande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
5.0 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#2 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Woods Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Woods Guest House

Property: At The Woods Guest House
Address: 43 Formosa Street | Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — At The Woods Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Storms River Village, Tsitsikamma, we offer a relaxed stay in our owner managed guest house with mountain views, swimming pool, Wi-Fi and other comforts. We have 2 guest lounges, offer a laundry service and will help with your arrangements for your stay in the area.Breakfast is served, and there are 3 restaurants within walking distance of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your At The Woods Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Woods Guest House Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing