We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Storms River Restcamp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Storms River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storms River Mouth Restcamp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Storms River Restcamp”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a chalet right facing the ocean was absolutely fabulous watching the waves crashing to the rocks.
Our chalet was very clean & roomy well furnished and just perfect.

Great hikes along the shore although not easy that's for sure need good sturdy shoes.

Restaurant is very good lots of choice & very reasonable.

Room Tip: Chalets facing the ocean are our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 249Linda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    144
    55
    15
    11
See reviews for
89
265
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently stayed in the Honeymoon suite and the fact that it was very rustic was absolutely fine and what we expected. The suite was quite large with a separate bedroom and en-suite bathroom. What was surprising, and somewhat disappointing based on the price we paid, was that there were absolutely no toiletries provided ... not even a bar of soap in the bathroom. We didn't expect fancy creams and lotions but for the price we did expect a little bit more than bare bones. There were cooking facilities in the cabin which, apart from making coffee, we did not plan to use as we were only staying one night, however there was quite a large notice in the kitchen stating that all dishes were to be washed prior to leaving ... but no soap provided. I know it all sounds rather petty to complain about these small things but, as another reviewer commented, it seems that the staff really were very disinterested and only did, and provided, the basics. It was all the more obvious because we had received such amazing service everywhere else, and indeed for the rest of our trip to South Africa.

The actual place is lovely and the hike to the waterfall was amazing, although had I realized that we would be rock climbing I may not have been so keen to tackle this adventure. Unfortunately we could not take the hike to the suspension bridge the next morning due to pouring rain.

Overall I would recommend a visit to the Storms River Mouth Rest Camp, however take the cheaper accommodation, a bar of soap, and dish washing soap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Honeymoon suite at the Restcamp and the accommodation itself was fine, it was clean and simply furnished if a bit dated. The location is lovely and we saw lots of wildlife around the hut. Unfortunately the terrible services wiped out a lot of goodwill that we had for the place. Everyone we spoke to - from the gate into the park, to the reception, to the restaurant staff, were disinterested and unhelpful. They could not care less about your experience and can bearly muster a level of common courtesy. Just one example is that we went to the restaurant to be told that it closed at 8pm (reception had told us 10pm) when clearly they all just wanted to watch whatever TV programme they had on as we could see the waiting staff and the chefs all watching it on the balcony! It is a shame because we have had excellent levels of service during our visit to SA but SAN parks in general have been the worst.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I hesitated writing a review, as the more people get to know about this place, the more crowded it will become!...We had stayed at Storms River Mouth Rest Camp twice before, but this was the first time we booked an Oceanette. These are low brick buildings and might not have the charm of some of the wooden chalets, but they are situated right in front of the rocky beach, and offer the closest view of the crashing waves. Our overseas friends had a two-bedroomed cottage at the end of the row, while my husband and myself had a studio with a small balcony. Both were very clean and well-equipped, although, like others, we didn't spend any time cooking inside, and had a braai on our friends' veranda while watching the crashing sea. The rest was as other people have remarked: the impressive suspension bridge, the nice swim to the floating platform, the restaurant which has made significant improvements over the years. Storms River is one of our favourite places, and our friends fell in love with it as well. We will definitely book an Oceanette there again.

Room Tip: The Oceanettes at the end of the row offer the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After 30 years I eventually got a reservation for 4 nights. The place is amazing and you can not beat all the walking trails. You are close to nature and just watching the waves break over the rocks is something very special. Unfortunately for us we booked the Guesthouse which was up in the mountain with no sea view. The house is very well appointed and luxurious, but did not give us the experience we were looking for. After 30 years we did not get the experience we were looking for and will have to go again. Make sure you reserve the cheaper accommodation, it has the best views and experience, being on the rocks.

Room Tip: Do not book the guesthouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToyMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We gad a lovely overnight stay in a large oceanette with the most amazing view (even the baboons early in the morning too !!) Our rooms were spacious and very clean. It's an amazing place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanN491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We love Storms River (this was our second visit) and we were lucky enough to get an oceanette on the extreme right end of the camp - which gave us the impression that we were the only visitors there!
The seas were huge; and the crashing waves made the light fittings rattle...!
We ate supper at the restaurant and can confirm other reviewers' tales of great food served slowly! We were prepared, ordered drinks from the friendly waitress and relaxed, enjoying the stunning the surroundings. Don't spoil your evening by being in too much of a hurry!
If you're a photography buff, take your tripod and enjoy experimenting with the waterfall on the track to the river mouth.
The shop is extremely well stocked with everything from headache tablets to binoculars - and cold beer.
Very highly recommended.
(Next time we'll spend a couple of days exploring the area more thoroughly.)

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robdotinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.4 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
829 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
631 reviews
3.0 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 13 in Storms River
730 reviews
3.6 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
236 reviews
3.5 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storms River Mouth Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storms River Mouth Restcamp

Property: Storms River Mouth Restcamp
Address: Tsisikamma National Park, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Storms River Mouth Restcamp Hotel Storms River
Storms River Mouth Restcamp Tsitsikamma National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing