We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Serenity Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serenity Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our stay at the well-positioned Serenity Retreat was very good and made even better with our host making us feel very welcome. Both the rondavels and the house are well equipped and very cosy. Its a stroll away from the restaurants and adventure bookings. Lovely area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thanks Marlene for taking the time to write such a stunning review. Glad you enjoyed Stormsriver area and Serenity' accommodation and atmosphere - hope we can welcome you and your family back some time. Take care. Kitty, Danny and the Dogs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We so enjoyed Serenity Retreat.....location ideal distance to Storm's River Viilage of just over half a km which is too close to drive so one takes a stroll. Room was clean and neat with everything one needed. The communal kitchen so lovely with stove fridge microwave and all crockery n cutlery. Attached is a comfortable lounge which is great for TV viewing in the evening. Braai facilities outside with a view of a mountain. We just loved every minute of our stay. Thank you and see you again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
What can i say except - WOW and thanks. So glad you both had a great time and we certainly hope to see you back again for another easy going, relaxed and comfy stay. Love it when people feel at home here! Take care and best wishes from Kitty, Danny and the dogs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went on a mini holiday and was great our stay at Serenity was pleasant, lovely rondavel and great hosts. Serenity is so close to all the great places offered by Storms river and the price is great.

thank you for allowing us to stay we had a fantastic holiday, will definately be back:)


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidik1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your mini-break in our rondavel and hope to see you again for a longer stay to enjoy the atmosphere and experience of being in Tsitsikamma. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The accommodation was very pleasant and met all my needs.
I would like to make the following 2 suggestions:
1. In summer that there is a fan in the rondawel.
2. That a kettle and coffee/tea making equipment is supplied in the rondawels. The kitchen is very well equiped, but first thing in the morning before dressing, most people would like to be able to make a cup of tea / coffee. At the moment, guests have to get dressed to go out to the kitchen to make the tea / coffee.
These are not meant as critisms - merely suggestions.
The hostess is extremely friendly and helpful and thank you VERY much for accommodating me as a single traveller.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Serenity Retreat. So glad that we were able to meet your budget concerning a single stay. We do aim to keep our prices low (on a par with Backpacker Lodge Rates) and as such unfortunately we cannot provide certain in-room facilities without compromising these budget rates. Because of the brick and thatch traditional construct of the rooms they normally keep cool in summer and although there is also a small fan in the rooms - in the oppressive heat we have expereienced this year I think that fully charged Aircon would struggle! Most certainly if it is repeated next year we will invest in bigger or ceiling fans! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay at this guesthouse.
We particularly appreciated the hints on places to visit and eat.
The room is no frills but comfortable and has all what you need for a good rest.

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your Thanks! Hope the remainder of your travels are enjoyable as well. Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very nice guest house to stay when you visit Tsitsikama National Park. The rooms are very clean and big enough. The fully equipped kitchen is very useful. I will be glad to introduce this guest house to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Serenity House - we are glad you and your family felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Kitty and the two Staffies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My two kids (6 and 8), an old friend of mine and me stayed for 3 nights in the two beautiful African style bungalows. It was fantastic to also have access to a very nice and well equipped kitchen and a living room (with TV and children's channel!!!) in an extra hut just behind the bungalows.Our host Kitty was an excellent travel guide: every morning she gave us the weather forecast (which was actually true) and suggested tours. Kitty made everything possible, she even helped me out with a tricky IT problem!!! Thanks Kitty, we will be back soon!!! :-) Sophie, Jochen, Alex and Jessie

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Jessie

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We certainly hope to see you and the children again in the not too distant future for more fun in the forest! So glad you felt at home; that is the atmosphere we want for our guests.

Kitty and the furry ones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Retreat

Property: Serenity Retreat
Address: 72 Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serenity Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Retreat is a relaxed haven for cost conscious independent travellers, families, hikers and Small Groups - an ideal base from which to explore the many aspects of this Amazing Area on the doorstep of the Tsitsikamma National Park. This small owner run establishment has an easy going family atmosphere offers free WIFI, friendly service, tons of travel tips and info. Accommodation is Simple but Stylish - comfortable, clean and affordable and has self catering facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Serenity Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Retreat Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing