We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Nearby Hotels
$82
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge(Storms River)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Village Lodge(Storms River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tsitsikamma Lodge(Storms River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Andelomi Forest Lodge(Storms River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveler rating
592
216
62
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
216
62
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgravel roadindian oceandolphin trailstunning viewsoff the beaten trackmountain bikesgarden routethe cliffmain buildingour honeymoonamazing locationbeautiful placeshort drivetwo nightsself cateringstayed longera wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 900 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hi.Anton and Anna-Marie from Port Elizabeth.We decided to spend a long weekend away from home and searched for a place nearby.We searched the net and found The Fernery Lodge and decided to try.And what a surprice.Everthing was just wonderful.The rooms are big enough for 5 people,the bathroom,wonderful,you can actually sleep in the shower if you want to.From the two Managers,Barry and Peter,who you can spend hours with,to the staff,was just great to spend time with.We could not go on the picnic drive because we got rained out,but the picnic basket was served in our room and it was awesome.The gravel road to the lodge is not that bad as i was driving my Bakkie.The location,views,food,people,rooms,ect.ect.is really great.We want to thank all the people we met for a fab weekend,and we will see you again.This time for longer than 3 nights.Fantastic

Room Tip: Room No.3.Waterfall view.Only our opinion
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714anton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Anton and Anna-Marie

Thank you for the magnificent review. You are welcome back any time you are now family of The Fernery Lodge and Chalets. I will let all the staff know that they are doing a wonderful job. This is our mission to have a large extended happy family. We enjoyed your company.

Gracious Regards

Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A truly delightful experience - splendid location, fantastic service and staff, romantic ambiance, privacy and rustic spacious accommodation - the well-prepared hamper for our barbeque/braai was indeed impressive - a MUST return establishment!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Marlumus
Thank you for such kind and encouraging words. All I can say is welcome to our family and feel free to visit again as a new found family member.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Fernery lodge for 3 nights in the B&B Chalet, which was very enjoyable. The dinner and the service were exellent. The lady in the restaurant was very anxious in her service as well in helping us with the internet axxess.
The last day was no breakfast buffet and it was a bit poor.
The front office was more oriented in there processes instead of being focused on customers, but overall we would visit it another time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AngelsSFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear AngelesSFB

Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt the breakfast was poor but regards to the cold buffet we do not put out one if there are only two guests in the Lodge. I do apologise that this was not explained to you, and that the full cold buffet was on offer plated from the kitchen all you needed to do was to request it from the waitress. The hot breakfast menu was on offer as well. With regards to the Wifi /internet we have installed one in the pool room just off the Lodge. Please feel free to visit again and see the changes we have made.

Gracious Regards

Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Although I've never had the privilege to stay over at the Fernery, I have taken all my guests out to see this magnificent-one-of-a-kind-place! The views are to die for and don't miss the guided tour through the nursery and the pack house of the working farm side of this truly inspiring place! A lovely day visit and all my visitors fall in love with it instantly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank LoekieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear LoekieH
Thank you for your visits you and your visitors are always welcome. I do feel that to really get the full effect you need to stay a night or two. Please feel free to make a booking E-Mail reservations@forestferns.co.za and let your dreams come true. Yes it is worth doing the tour through the working Fernery. Thank you for your wonderful review

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Small recommendations, to put aditional antenna up for cell phone reception at the lodge for Vodacom and MTN so that I can use it for Business trips as well and rusks in the room for every mornings coffee.
Out of a value proposition you Restaurant's menu is overpriced by 15 to 20% Otherwise a great experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Anton Knoetze
Thank you for your feedback, regarding the cell phone reception we are putting up a booster system this weekend to see if this will boost the cell phone reception down at the lodge and you would not have to drive up to reception to the WIFI hot spot. With regards to the Menu the new Food & Beverage and Restaurant manager is changing the menu to A La Carte with a Chefs special menu every day so this will bring the price more in line.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews