We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break Away Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Fernery Lodge and Chalets provides a great break away. It's the perfect romantic spot for a couple, but equally suited to larger groups or families.

The property is beautiful, with great views of the surrounding forest and ocean. The staff were a pleasure and super helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barend P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear BarendP

Thank you for your review. I am so happy you had a super time. Yes this is the perfect Couple's breakaway place. We hope to see you soon

Gracious Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 846 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

The chalet was nice but little touches would have made a big difference to our overall memory of the place. After a long drive we were shown our chalet and realised that there was no complementary coffee or tea, even though there was a kettle. It was only after the second day that we realised it had obviously not been re-stocked from the previous occupants and should have been there. We also got a phone call half an hour before the restaurant was open for dinner to say it was already fully booked so we had to have a meal in our room, which in itself was fine but there is an extremely limited menu available for this - nothing really for young children. We also didn't have a view out of our chalet as all the foliage had grown so high. However when we went for a walk about, we noticed that most of the chalets nearby had stunning views. When booking, you also need to be aware that it is about a 6km, 20 minute steady drive down an unmade bumpy road to get to the site, so although it's possible to get to the place in a normal car, a 4x4 would be advisable. Saying all this, the chalet inside was lovely and there is a wood burning stove for chillier evenings. I think a young couple or group of friends who want isolation and to go for walks in the surrounding area would be most suited to coming here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

I do apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused we have gone in to the matter and have now appointed a housekeeping manager so that these small issues can be resolved. I look forward to your next stay with us and I am sure you will see and feel a difference in service. I am glad you had a relaxing time, I do agree this is a place for couples to retreat and rejuvenate.

Gracious Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a magnificent place! Quality of rooms and bathrooms fabulous. Service was exceptional. Food so so good. Very professional and friendly. An absolute treat. A real hidden gem on the garden route. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 492Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear 492 Rebecca

Thank you for you wonderful review. I agree this place is a Gem on the Garden Route. We hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a beautiful place... we had such a relaxing time, reading at the fireplace with a bottle of red wine, Food excellent, absolute friendly staff, comfortable cosy room and Beautiful view. will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicoline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear NicolineR

Yes a Glass of wine with a good book by the fireplace is relaxing and cosy. On your next visit why not try the Jacuzzi, and a warm glass of Gluvine overlooking the waterfall, very romantic and a definite recommendation from management .

Gracious Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very confortable, lots os pillows and towels. Good kitchen with all you need to cook. Hottest sauna on earth!
Good breakfast at the restaurant.
We had diner one night at the restaurant and the service was fair, the food was very good.
The views and the confort we had at Francolin and Porcupine made us enjoy a lot our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank padula_fnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Padula_fnr

I am happy you enjoyed the Sauna, We thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the luxury chalet ,shared with friend from NewZealand. Spent a pleasant hour in jaccusi (with SA wine ), great after a long day. Every wim catered for , exceptional attention to detail, will defiantly be back.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margiekotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Daer MargieKotze

I am so happy to hear you had a Great time in the Jaccusi, so true its the best way to enjoy a good glass of wine and just relax.

Hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a place to really relax without distractions - in a stunning setting right beside a long waterfall and overviewing the ocean. Excellent cuisine with refinement and really friendly helpful staff. we stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is very quiet and spacious.High quality and value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Andreas H

It is always wonderful to hear the staff are friendly. Yes this is the place to come and relax.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
756 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
980 reviews
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
308 reviews
8 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
267 reviews
8 mi away
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
#5 of 12 in Storms River
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: $183 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing