We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Misty Mountain Reserve(Tsitsikamma National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tsitsikamma Lodge(Storms River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
585
213
62
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
213
62
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgravel roaddolphin trailindian oceanstunning viewsoff the beaten trackmountain bikesgarden routethe cliffmain buildingour honeymoonamazing locationbeautiful placetwo nightsshort driveself cateringa wonderful staystayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 890 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Lodge is in a magical position overlooking a ravine with a gushing torrent and a sea view. The food and service was excellent. There are many steps between levels in the lodge; the chalets are flat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The lodge is nicely situated and offers stunning views onto the ocean. The room we stayed in was quite old-fashioned but offered everything we needed. Dinner was ok but nothing special to remember. Definitely a nice place to stay for one night but probably quite boring if you stay for a longer time since no activities are offered besides the local jacuzzi & sauna. I would recommend that the place offers other activities since it is located in a wonderful hiking and other activities area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citTravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear citTravel2000

Thank you for your review to TripAdvisor....it saddens us that we could not meet all your expectations as we strive to give all our guests a memorable experience.

On top of the 2 jacuzzi's and 2 sauna's The Fernery Lodge & Chalets also offers 3 hiking and 1 cycling route. We also have 4x4 trips through the forest and guests can hire a boat or fishing tackle for a fun day at the dam.....all this information as well as the bookings that we can make on your behalf for activities in our area is available in our Information Book in our rooms.

While we try to cater to as wide a target market as possible, we do find that not everyone likes the peace, tranquility and "far away from everything" experience as much as we do.

We hope you will visit us again, until next time - Kind regards and warm wishes
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Superb position and outlook, great accommodation, very friendly, helpful staff. Forest walks good. The dinners were a bit disappointing - dishes not quite as described on the menu. Breakfasts were first class.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony & Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Tony & Liz S

Thank you so much for your kind words shared with the TripAdvisor community.

Please let me know which menu you had so that we can have a look at it and sort out any problems that there might be, you can contact me directly on lodge@forestferns.co.za.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Fernery was a great experience, we stayed in a chalet (in the forest it was called) that was lovely. The hotel was quite empty when we were there which was nice but took away from the atmosphere at breakfast etc. The staff were helpful most of the time except for when we aced about doing to dolphin trail without a guide, which they stated was not possible. We were disappointed because that was the main resin we stayed there. After we had run out of days we found out it would have been quite easy to do if someone could have showed us the start point for the trail. All in all though the hotel was very nice and value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rusty2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Rusty2036

Thank you for your valuable comments to TripAdvisor, we are happy that your overall experience was a good one.

The Dolphin Trail is a partnership between Sanparks (Garden Route National Park), Misty Mountain Reserve and The Fernery Lodge & Chalets. By law no hikers are allowed to walk this trail without a guide because the trail runs through Sanparks property. It is therefore impossible for day hikers to walk the Dolphin Trail which is not a marked hike and is part of a wilderness area, as they will be trespassing on private property. As equal partners in this trail, we have a contractual obligation to abide by these rules.

We regret any misunderstanding that there may have been about walking the Dolphin Trail on your own.

The Dolphin Trail is however not the only hike available in our area and many day hikes can be taken at GRNP and in Storms River Village…

We hope that you will return to South Africa and our beautiful area to enjoy the 3 day all inclusive Dolphin Trail Hike, information can be found on www.info@dolphintrail.co.za .

Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in a Chalet in Oct 2013. It overlooked the creek and felt quite secluded. It was super comfortable particularly as it was a quite a wet couple of days and we could start the fire to keep the place cozy. We had a brai one night which was excellent and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. We rarely saw the other guests. The breakfast was reasonable without being outstanding, however, we felt the restaurant dinner was fairly ordinary. The only real let down of our stay. We loved the remoteness of the place and enjoyed it as a base to explore the storm river area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FozzySYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews