We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real pleasure to stay at the Fernery Lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Husseren les Châteaux. France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real pleasure to stay at the Fernery Lodge.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have just read the review titled "yuck" and must disagree completely.
We stayed in the Honeymoon suite, Aquarius, in September and were totally satisfied by the complete experience. The room was spotlessly clean and well decorated. The staff welcoming, efficient and discrete and we were more than satisfied with dinner and a very hearty breakfast.
Couple this with Forest Ferns lodge being in a spectacular location and it was the highlight of our trip down the coast.

Room Tip: Take time to walk around in the fynbos and enjoy this spectacular place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear IanT

Thank you for the 5* review of The Fernery Lodge &Chalets.

We are delighted to hear that our unique location, amenities, and friendly staff were able to make your visit enjoyable and special...it will be an honor to share your comments with all our staff!

We look forward to having you return for another relaxing stay at our lodge.

Until next time!
Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    188
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
156
475
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pfreimd, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the lodges. Beautiful and excellent room. Also the lodges are very nice. Very friendly Service. Dinner Reservation during the day necessary and recommended. Limited meals, but excellent menues. The fernery farm is also very interesting to see. This was absolutely the most impressive accomodation during our Gerden Route trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear citTravel2000

Thank you for your review to TripAdvisor....it saddens us that we could not meet all your expectations as we strive to give all our guests a memorable experience.

On top of the 2 jacuzzi's and 2 sauna's The Fernery Lodge & Chalets also offers 3 hiking and 1 cycling route. We also have 4x4 trips through the forest and guests can hire a boat or fishing tackle for a fun day at the dam.....all this information as well as the bookings that we can make on your behalf for activities in our area is available in our Information Book in our rooms.

While we try to cater to as wide a target market as possible, we do find that not everyone likes the peace, tranquility and "far away from everything" experience as much as we do.

We hope you will visit us again, until next time - Kind regards and warm wishes
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place has good branding and lovely brochures and marketing, but I have to say honestly that I was very disappointed. The truth is, if you spend any time traveling in South Africa, you will soon learn the quality of the guesthouses in that country. You can travel around going from one little paradise to another--however, if you stay here, you will have interrupted your little nirvana with a stop in ugh-ville or maybe yuck-town, whatever you want to call it.

So, the place is hanging off a cliff over a waterfall in a most spectacular fashion. This is true. It is cool to go to the main building and see the view. So you say, "Wow." And then you go to your moist, stained, buggy room and feel slightly--ok, a lot--less delighted. I booked a "Honeymoon Suite," though I was on my own, thinking, "Oh yeah, I'm gonna be pampered." But if this had been my honeymoon, I probably woulda had a headache and delayed the conception of my heir until I found another spot more conducive to heir-conception. This was not it.

So I love ferns. I know that ferns require a lot of moisture to flourish, but I don't--not that much, anyway. A good tip if you are in an extremely humid environment is not to carpet your rooms--the carpet is a gray color, seemingly wet, retaining every drop of mist that clings to the place from the river below. And as much as I love ferns, I also have a horror of spiders--I know this is a weakness, but there it is. Of course, many many visited me here. There were two in permanent residence in a corner of the bathroom ceiling. I always think, "Ok, not everyone has the horror of spiders that I have," but then I also think, "Why does the housekeeping let them take up permanent residence?" I mean, if they are there with a web-system that is the spider equivalent of a small city, it's not like they've just crawled in because you left the door open--give the housekeeping a duster or something to clean out the corners!

The worst part of this place was the bathtub. When I first entered my bathroom after the severe disappointment over the main room, I thought, "Well, maybe a long soak in that tub will erase some of this unpleasantness." Then I looked in the tub. There were an abundance of what the French would call "les taches suspectes." I mean, I guess the only thing I could conclude was that past honeymoon couples hadn't let the state of the room curtail their activities. The presence of hair in the tub also testified to this. The other thing I concluded was--I wasn't getting in that tub. So I took a shower in the gross little shower stall and went to bed with a little help from a central-nervous-system depressant, which is sometimes what I have to do when I am far from home and very uncomfortable in my lodgings.

I should also mention, for those that care, that there is no wifi in the rooms and also no cell reception. In order to get wifi or make a call, you must drive to the main reception building up the road. Not that big of a deal, but just another thing. The breakfast is ok, but even the main building depressed me with its moist stinkiness. The one plus of the place, which is only a plus because I needed so much to distract myself, was that they had the NatGeo channel on the TV. In general, I spend little time watching TV during my travels, but I needed something to distract me at this place. I was able to watch a program entitled "Taboo" about feederism. Kinda interesting.

Conclusion: don't stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear VedaSlade

Thank you for your very detailed review to TripAdvisor.

We had an immediate and thorough inspection of the room you stayed in as we were very concerned to hear that you experienced damp and cleanliness problems in this room. We can assure you that no such problems are currently being experienced and that we are happy that the standard of this room is of a high quality. While we try to cater to as wide a target market as possible, we do find that we are predominantly a couples, family and outdoor lovers destination.

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip through our beautiful country.

Best Regards
Angelique Drake
Tourism Manager: The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, Kwazulu-natal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a hidden treasure, an unexpected surprise with wonderful accommodation, a bathroom that is a nature lover's delight and every possible thing that could make your stay comfortable. The attention to detail is most welcoming. There is so much to explore and enjoy at The Fernery, with the beautiful surrounds, the nursery, all the amenities, that one night, just isn't enough. The food is excellent with lovely menu options, difficult not to get food envy here. The whole experience is just that, a whole experience definitely not to be missed and a definite must-go-back. Thank you for delighting our experience on The Dolphin trail.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah Van Der... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay. Everything was very good except the meal experience that put a dampen on our time at the Fernery.

Don’t order the set menu - The menu sounded so good when we read through it to make the booking. What we received was defiantly not prepared by a chef or indeed by anyone with a qualification. Being charged the price for dinner was absolutely dishonest.
Breakfast is great, and so is the picnic
The staff were professional, attentive and friendly. It’s a very relaxing and tranquil venue.
Bruno - Port Elizabeth, South Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Bruno H

Thank you for your honest and very constructive review.

We are grateful for your feedback on our TripAdvisor page and in the previous email send but we are sorry we fell below your expectation regarding your dinner experience.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

We are in the process of interviewing chefs to come and assist us full-time and some of the menu items have now been changed.

Your comments have been very helpful to allow us to create improvement in our service delivery and we hope that you will return to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets.

Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing location, absolutely quiet and relaxing. The jacuzzi facing the waterfall is wonderful, we saw whales in the ocean and the different ferns are incredible. WIFI only in the reception area but works well and gives you an excuse for a nice walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Alexandra V

thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

Our team is delighted with your positive feedback and the memorable experience you had with us....we hope that you will come and visit us again when you are in our area.

Until next time, kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team.

PS: We are thinking of the people of the Philippines in their time of need - good luck and stay strong!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We chose a chalet, everything you'd want - great bed, actual ground coffee, wine glasses (obvs needed), double shower, a view. And dinner is highly recommended - great food and service and no problem with us bringing our own wine. We were treated to the best lightning storm too, obviously not something on the menu but what a great vantage point to watch it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear LizB

Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review on Tripadvisor. We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us.....I will pass your lovely comments regarding the service and food quality on to the staff!!

We hope to welcome you back to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets very soon!.....who knows maybe I can organize another spectacular thunderstorm for you ;-)

Kind regards and the very best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
8.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#8 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
8.0 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Property: The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing