We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience. Bit of a WOW.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely experience. Bit of a WOW.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel in a stunning location. Staff lovely and helpful. Food excellent over three nights in a dining room overlooking the ocean. The lodge is the place to book. WIFI in reception, short walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Trevor F

Good morning and thank you for your kind review.

The Fernery Lodge & Chalets family is over the moon with your positive comments and we are looking forward to making you feel spoiled and welcome again.

Until next time.
Kind regards and warm wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    185
    49
    19
    9
See reviews for
154
471
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a great one day break away, beautiful scenery, comfortable clean accommodation, fabulous food and nice cocktails! Bonus is no cell recepton to rest really well, but WiFi available for those emergencies. Will definitely visit again.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yolande S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear YolandeS

Good morning to you!!

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated......we strive to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We are so happy that you had time to break away from the hustle and bustle of cellphones, internet and normal every day life and we hope that you will choose The Fernery Lodge & Chalets again when you need a well deserved battery charge.

Until next time, kind regards and best wishes
Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights. 3 Adults and 5 children. We stayed in the self catering lodge (4 of us) and in two other lodges (2 in each). Fantastic, beautifull and quiet location. Had a family dinner as well as fantastic breakfast. Enjoyed our stay very much...Beutifull and very romantic setup.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yoav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Yoav S

What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to do this.

We love hearing feedback like this, as we strive to give each guest a perfect stay.

We glad to hear that you enjoyed a nice family dinner....family times are special...and we are happy that we were able to help you making memories that will last a lifetime!!

We hope to see you again!!
Until next time Kind regards and warm wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent service at reception, so friendly and helpful, warm room when we arrived (heater on was a huge bonus) because it was a bit chilly that day.

We were celebrating our engagement on route back from our road trip around the Western Cape and wow The Fernery was a great last stop :)

Beautiful setting, really liked the pics of how the place started out. Only down side was the set menu seemed overpriced for what my fiance got, main was a bit disappointing.However I was very happy with my soup and Thai curry! compliments to the chef :)

Hope to be back soon, thanks

Jackie Petzer

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When you step outside the restaurant, you are met with...amazement! Its like standing on the edge of the earth and looking into the next world.

I have never stayed at the Fernery, but I moved into the area less than a year ago and frequent the restaurant and scenic beauty as often as possible. When I receive guests new to the area this is the first place I think of show them.

They have great capachino and the cheese-platter is great to share with up to 4 people at a very good price. Having drinks on the "deck" is spectacular, there is comfy chairs and if you are lucky, you can see whales as well. Staff is always friendly.

The only problem is ... that I never want to leave!

Room Tip: The honeymoon sweets with spa baths has a beautiful view of the ocean and full privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizna_Boshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Lizna_Boshoff

WOW - Thank you so much for such a great review!!

We can't take claim for our majestic views but do agree that outside our Lodge windows are some of the most beautiful and memorable sights ever created!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your lunch experience with us and we hope that you and your guests will be returning soon...this time for a stay over we hope!!

Until next time
Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Setting unbelievable....staff friendly and helpful, food wonderful - all and all an amazing experience to be recommended to anyone!! Plenty of hiking trails and great to revive the batteries after a hectic week!

Room Tip: Lodge room beautifully situated Chalets lovely and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVDD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I and my wife stayed one night at the Fernery Lodge and felt like changing our entire trip itinerary to extend our stay. Slightly away from the main towns along the Garden Route, but well worth the slow drive on the gravel road to get there .... the place is a hidden gem !! Unbeatable views, large comfortable rooms and extremely courteous staff. One of the best I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JQMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear JQMFC

Good morning and thank you for leaving a great review on our TripAdvisor page.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, particularly our ambiance, facilities, and service. All our staff strive to make each and every guest stay a memorable one - so it was heart warming to read your comments on their service and to know that it is appreciated.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
Till Next time...Kind regards and warm wishes The Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
631 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
829 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
380 reviews
8.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#10 of 13 in Storms River
66 reviews
8.0 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Property: The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing