We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury oasis in national park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Luxury oasis in national park”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Imagine sitting in a jacuzzi situated on top of a gorge with waterfall & a stunning view out to the Ocean. This place is a luxury oasis deeply hidden in the Tsitsikamma park. So no shops in the far neighborhood, and poor cellphone connectivity. But very serene athmosphere & friendly personnel. Excellent restaurant, but also the option to have your own braai (bbq) diner. For families, we definitely recommend the chalets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanProvoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake16, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear JanProvoost
Thank you for your positive and kind review – we are elated that you enjoyed every minute of your time with us as a family. We really strive for an excellent level of service and it is a joy to read and share your review with my team.
I agree......enjoying a glass of wine in the jacuzzi on the boardwalk with the unsurpassed views is an absolute must while at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets.

We hope that you will choose The Fernery Lodge & Chalets for another sojourn in the near future.
Best regards and kind wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    190
    52
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
480
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful retreat for people who like to be away from it all. Yes, you will have to drive 10km along a dirt road to get there, and yes, the food in the restaurant is overpriced for what you get - but who cares when you can order a splendid BBQ basket and have your own brai, followed by a woodfire in your own chalet? We loved it from start to finish and would return in a wink.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leukonoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake16, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Leukonoe

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We strive to give guests an ultimate experience during their stay and we are so happy to hear that you loved all the different aspects we offer.

We look forward to welcome you back to our home in the near future.
Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the Fernery Chalets (Porcupine I think) on our family adventure along the Garden Route. The location was wonderful overlooking a massive gorge complete with waterfalls and a stunning view out to the Ocean. The dinner and breakfast were very good and I found the main lodge very cosy. I would recommend making an advance booking for the dinner at the restaurant as it is quite small. The self-catering chalet was 5 star, modern, clean with every amenity you could want. I am very particular about our accommodation but it was simply perfect and the only downside was that our schedule would not allow us to stay a second night. Do not be put off by reviews that say it is too far from the main road as it is only 10 mins along a private, very scenic road. I will be recommending this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFamilyRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake16, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear SwissfamilyRyan

Thank you for the wonderful review . You can be assured that it will be shared with the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team. It is only through feedback like yours we are able to benchmark our progress....thank you so much.

We trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to our beautiful lodge.
Kind regards and best wishes from the the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My new wife and I ended our honeymoon with two nights at the Fernery. What a wonderful setting! Our cabin (and the Jacuzzi) overlooked the rapids and waterfall which were in full force due to recent rains.

The food was spectacular and we also enjoyed a hike around the farm (so we could justify eating so much at dinner again!) That particular day we enjoyed the hike, then a glass of champagne in the Jacuzzi, onto a delicious dinner and we ended off snug in front of our own fireplace in our cabin.

Need I say more? Definitely rated 5 stars in my book!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300nathanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake16, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear 300nathanh

Congratulations on your wedding, we trust that you will spend many anniversaries here with us.
We are delighted that you could make use of all the unique features at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets.

Thanks again for your kind words - until next time.
Kind regards and best wishes The Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in the In the Forest and Cob chalets. Each one is individually and beautifully decorated, and every detail is anticipated and delivered. The chalets have great views down the gorge. We ordered the braaivleis, which is then meticulously prepared for you with a fire on the chalet balcony, three courses of appetizers, vegetables, desserts etc., so that you simply throw on the copious meats and eat. A lot of fun. The place is a bit remote and is not in indigenous forest, but is a great setting nonetheless. Lack of reliable wifi was a problem for us and for other guests; otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake16, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear ItTakesTwoToTravel

Thank you for spending your time to comment on your stay with us.

Our braai's (BBQ) are very popular and we are delighted that you had time to enjoy this truly South African experience. We are in the process of upgrading our WI-fi system, this unfortunately is tricky because of our location - but next time you visit I am sure it will be a lot better.

Kind regards and best wishes The Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a fantastic place perched on the side of a gorge with stunning views of a waterfall and the ocean. A great mix of a working Fernery and Hotel that offers great walks and cycle paths to explore the extensive grounds and the local pine forest. There is also a fishing/boating lake. Tastefully decorated rooms, a lovely restaurant overlooking the gorge, very friendly and helpful staff. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Choose Room No.3 for the best view in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake16, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It’s so rewarding that you remarked on the extraordinary location of our beautiful lodge & chalets and we appreciate that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff... thank you for your kind words!

Please do come again soon.
Kind regards and best wishes The Fernery Lodge & Chalet team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had accommodation in the Lodge which was truly superb as were the views. However. The drive is along a gravel forrest road for some Ks, nothing wrong with that unless you want to go out for a meal (no place for miles) or you're following another car chucking up dust then turning back when the occupants see the semi industrial entrance to the Fernery. We chose not to have full dinner and were served a barely edible snack in our room. Breakfast and dinner on the following day were ok and the driving rain made us feel at home. The Fernery lodge has a truly wonderful location but there's something missing in the attitude of front of house staff, like guests were there under sufferance. Sorry but not our best experience in SA

Room Tip: We had one of two overlooking the Gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake16, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for spending time to give us valuable and detailed feedback. We are always thankful for these comments as it allows us to meet all our guests needs.

We have been in contact with the parties that are responsible for the upkeep of the gravel road leading to The Fernery and Forest Ferns. We also looked into the preparation of our meals and made some changes to our light meal menu to ensure good quality at all times. We hope that you will visit us again sometime!!

Kind regards and best wishes The Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
678 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
876 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
254 reviews
8.0 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
251 reviews
8.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Property: The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing