We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Tsitsikamma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a pretty cool place out in the middle of the Tsitsikamma National Forest. All of the rooms are little log cabins with their own grills out front. The cabins are spacious and the bathrooms are nice. The breakfast buffet is extensive and served in a building that looks like a hunting lodge. What I didn't like was the dirty pool and no WiFi reception in my cabin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourGuide-KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRiver, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Kevin,
Thank you for the review you gave us, please except my apology for the WIFI and dirty pool, we do have WIFI in all the rooms on the night you were here we have a booster box in one cabin and this was unplugged as guest plug there cell phones in the same wall plug and unplug the booster box hence no WIFI we have sorted this problem out and should never happen again, The dirty pool gets green when we have storms in the area and this takes a couple of days to sort out.
We at the lodge value your input and hope on your next visit all will go well.
Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    244
    118
    43
    19
See reviews for
198
374
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are looking for a place to relax... look no further!
I have traveled to many places in my lifetime.. but Tsitsikamma Lodge still remains at the TOP of my list! Amazing service, great value for money and the food is to die for!
I can highly recommend this establishment

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRiver, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Tammy O

Thank you for your feed back and we here at Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa a very happy that you had a good stay with us and hope to see you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I had a great stay at the Tsitsikamma Lodge. Very beautiful place. Everything was just perfect. The cabin was perfectly equipped with Jacuzzi, shower etc… Will definitely go back to stay there in future. Also nice hiking trails available. Nice break-away place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRiver, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Zane,

Thank you for your great response to our lodge we at Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa are very happy you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and l stayed at the Tsitsikamma Lodge during our garden route trip. I must say l was pleasantly surprised at how gorgeous the forest is and it's right by your doorstep. We are so glad we did the longest and most gruelling of the hikes and by far the most rewarding, we were in awe of the views. The food at the Tsitsikamma Lodge was fantastic and ofcourse we sent our compliments to the chiefs.

This is one of those places we will have to come back too!

Room Tip: Cabin 20 has the best view of the trees,mountains and ius alot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRiver, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Audrey,

Thank you for your great response to our lodge, we are so happy you and your husband had a good stay with us and hope to see you again and the near future.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The setting, on the edge of the forest is great to be able to go for walks. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We chose a zip line package which gave us a great deal value for money to experience the local zipline experience down the road

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRiver, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your great response to our lodge we are so happy that you enjoyed the Zipline package and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetown
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Service here is particularly bright and sparky. Loved the large swimming pool in which you can actually swim. Good facilities set in beautifully maintained gardens. Perfect for a braai near your cabin, and you can order what you need for this at reception. Backdrop of mountains unfortunately a bit obscured from our cabin but a short walk outside the site it is all there to be enjoyed. Spot the bench by the old bridge; ideal setting for a bevvy (our secret, don't tell anyone). Cabin facilities need a little update and linen supply adequate but inconsistent, to keep us guessing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRiver, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Vanealle,

Thank you for your review we do appreciate your input and we at the Lodge are happy that you had a good stay with us.
We are busy with upgrades to all the cabins and hope when you visit us next time you will notice the difference to the cabins and linen.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We last stayed here about 10 years ago and spoke about it many times after so when we finally planned a child free escape this is where we wanted to be. The lodge is really well maintained but I have to say that not much has changed in the 10 years that we were last there. I would say that it is a great place to vacation as a family and good value if you sign up for a loyalty card which offers a 40% discount on regular prices. I would not hesitate to go back once it has had a bit of a "face lift". The cabins are spacious, clean and have everything you need. Internet is out of the question even though they are happy to provide you with a password. We had breakfast which for me was again, just falling short of talking about. Once again, small changes will make a big difference. 100% Juice would be the most obvious thing for me. We enjoyed a facial at the spa which was great. The staff were all friendly and exceptionally helpful. It is certainly worth a visit and we are very eager to plan a trip to their Tenahead Mountain Resort which looks fabulous. We are planning a trip up the Garden Route with our boys next July and think that Tsitsikamma Lodge would be an ideal family resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRiver, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Sam


Thank you for your review on Trip-advisor we at the lodge value your input and are happy that your stay with us was a good one.
We are busy with upgrade of all the cabins and all soft furnishing and hope on your next visit you will notice them.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
889 reviews
7.7 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
5.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#2 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
753 reviews
7.8 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
74 reviews
7.6 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Lodge

Property: Tsitsikamma Lodge
Address: N2, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsitsikamma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tsitsikamma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Hotel Storms River
Tsitsikamma Hotel Knysna
Tsitsikamma Lodge Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing