We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and atmosphere are good, service questionable”

Marilyn's 60's Diner
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Storms River
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marilyn's 60's Diner situated in Storms River Village, in the heart of Tsitsikamma, is a great landmark for a trip down memory lane. The Diner is an experience of note, with its neon rimmed signage, 50 and 60's decor, and Elvis and Marilyn memorabilia. Restaurant in Storms River This Diner in Storms River forgoes no detail from the checked floors to the red & white colour scheme, Juke Box and sugar shakers. Like the classic diner of the movies. This restaurant serves everything from breakfast, cakes and milkshake numbers to All American Cocktails, Burgers and Diner-Style Desserts. So, whether you're dining with family or friends, this is an experience to savour. Enjoy your favourite Vintage Cocktail, or sip on a glass of chilled South African Wine on our patio while you enjoy the beauty of our Forest Village. Function Venue in the Storms River Village Marilyn's 60's Diner offers the ideal venue for private functions, birthdays, brunches and other casual get-togethers in the Storms River Village. This Diner is the perfect venue for a 50's and 60's party. So put on your blue suede shoes and prepare to rock and roll with us. So if you like retro, funky, easy-going surroundings, a 50's and 60's sound track and good food, you will love it here!
1 review
“Food and atmosphere are good, service questionable”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Came here with friends and enjoyed the quaintness of the place, was a bit disappointed that they didn't have the cheese platter available (no cheeses in stock). Would appreciate more vegetarian options other than just pasta - veggie patties for the burgers would go down well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itstheFranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear ItstheFranz,

Trust you're well.

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear we ran out of cheese for the cheese platter. We've had veggie patties as a choice before, but this was not selling well. However, we are looking at it again.

Take care. Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    138
    87
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mthatha, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food and service”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I visited this restaurant with my family when we were at Tsitsikamma area for a vacation. Their mood and setup is perfect especially for a small village like this. The owners are friendly, food is Devine. I tried their lamb curry and it was super. Will come again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bongiswa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Bongiswa,

Trust you're well.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. Very happy to hear you enjoyed it. It means a lot to us, thank you. :)

Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting Poor food an service”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

What a lovely restaurant showing lots of passion and love, too bad the food and service didn't match this passion! Must be the worst burgers ever, my son had the Hound Dog, which was better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Good morning Charmaine,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

Oh no, so sorry to hear! Our burgers are always very popular and yum. Which one did you order? And shocked to hear about the service didn't match the passion.... I'll follow up immediately! Even though you were disappointed, please visit us again.

Have a lovely day. Take care. Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You won't believe this place!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stopped here whilst touring the Garden route for lunch. It really was like stepping into a 1950s diner. Just be warned - there is Elvis playing on a loop! But the atmosphere, the memorabilia and lastly the food is worth going for. I had the bext club sandwich I have ever eaten!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Linsbot67,

Trust you're well, and had a wonderful holiday in our South Africa.

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate. :)) Glad you stopped for lunch. :) Sorry about the Elvis music.....guests are welcome to enter songs on the Jukebox, and it seems that there was a serious Elvis fan! ;-)) We do have other music on the Jukebox as well....next time make sure you enter a lot of songs...heheh.

Take care. Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unexpected bygone nostalgia”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Discovered the menu at the guest house we were staying at, just down the road, and did'nt quiet know what to make of this,( almost a shrine to Marilyn, Elvis, James & co) in the middle of a forest.
American style cuisine, burgers, milk shakes and the best ( and strongest cocktails )
Manageress was constantly around, and the place was busy for most of the day, even thought the weather was grey, probably more famous than the other so called attractions in this area.
Dont expect great cuisine, just American diner fare, similar to what road house food, was like in the 60's /70's.
Funky.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Jean,

Thank you for your feedback, appreciated. Glad you discovered the menu...quite a trip down memory lane....."Small Town, Big Surprise". :)

Enjoy the rest of your day. Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marilyn's 60's Diner also viewed

Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
 
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
 
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Tsitsikamma National Park, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Marilyn's 60's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing