We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Marilyn's 60's Diner
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Storms River
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Marilyn's 60's Diner situated in Storms River Village, in the heart of Tsitsikamma, is a great landmark for a trip down memory lane. The Diner is an experience of note, with its neon rimmed signage, 50 and 60's decor, and Elvis and Marilyn memorabilia. Restaurant in Storms River This Diner in Storms River forgoes no detail from the checked floors to the red & white colour scheme, Juke Box and sugar shakers. Like the classic diner of the movies. This restaurant serves everything from breakfast, cakes and milkshake numbers to All American Cocktails, Burgers and Diner-Style Desserts. So, whether you're dining with family or friends, this is an experience to savour. Enjoy your favourite Vintage Cocktail, or sip on a glass of chilled South African Wine on our patio while you enjoy the beauty of our Forest Village. Function Venue in the Storms River Village Marilyn's 60's Diner offers the ideal venue for private functions, birthdays, brunches and other casual get-togethers in the Storms River Village. This Diner is the perfect venue for a 50's and 60's party. So put on your blue suede shoes and prepare to rock and roll with us. So if you like retro, funky, easy-going surroundings, a 50's and 60's sound track and good food, you will love it here!
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The setting and trappings are great. The service is not good but most disappointing was the unavailability of american apple pie at 11am which is spot-on tea-time. No other tea/coffee time nibbles were available either. Waiter said - Come back at 12 - you might be lucky! sorry didn't go back. Went further along R102 and found wonderful eating experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domineeangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear domineeangie,

Trust you're well.

So sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. Please let me know why the service was not good?? I need to take this up with the staff.

The apple pie can run out suddenly, so sorry about that. The Diner opens at 10h00 in the morning, and then the staff starts prepping, so I'm sure the pie was in the oven. Next time when you drive past, please pop in again, you have to try our apple pie...it is yummy.

Take care. Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    145
    88
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A quick visit”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After our Treetop Canopy Tour, we briefly visited Marilyn's 60's Diner. Very authentic, vintage and fun! Next time we'll enjoy a meal there and rate it again!!

Loved the old motorbikes, car, jukebox and overall vibe. One of a kind!!

Recommend they have a drive through, adding to the authenticity!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good evening HelloGardenRoute,

Yay, a unique place hey. :) Looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate.

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“PLEASANTLY surprised”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had our reservations going here as the reviews on Tripadvisor are less than satisfactory, with some really terrible reviews thrown in.

What a wonderful surprise then when we had dinner at Marilyn's - a whole bunch of us, dressed up in 60's gear, having a jol.

Expect good solid hamburgers and chips, and also nice toasted sandwiches. We didn't have of the other food. If the burgers are anything to go by, they should be pretty good.

Do remember that this is a diner. I will not have beef stroganoff in Miami or Puttanesca Pasta in China.

So go and have a hamburger and chips and a good old milkshake. And a few shooters. And play that jukebox, baby, and have some fun!

What a nice evening out, and def the most fun you'll have in Tsitsikamma Village.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank janajakkals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear janajakkals,

That is the spirit, happy to hear you enjoyed it! Great. :)

Looking forward to your next visit, playing the juke box, having lots of fun....that's what the Diner is all about. ;-)

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Marilyn's is definately worth the trip as far as the great 60's memorabilia is concerned. The whole restaurant is filled with all kinds of wonderful treasures from the 60's. Staff is friendly and very helpful, food is good but not great but overall a good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear StellaJ09,

Thank you for your feedback.

Come visit us again. We are creating a new menu at the moment, and we'll start serving it beginning November. :)

Take care. Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good to visit”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice nostalgic feel. Perfect spot for burgers and milkshakes which were not bad. Looks like there is plenty of potential for it to become so much more. Seems a popular spot with bikers especially on Sundays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Marilyn's 60's Diner, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Linda S,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our milkshakes are usually yummy, and our burgers too, so I think you need to come and try them again! :) We are working on a brand new menu with a brand new design, and we are implementing it the beginning of November. All exciting.

Come visit us again. Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marilyn's 60's Diner also viewed

Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
 
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
 
Tsitsikamma National Park, Eastern Cape
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
 

Been to Marilyn's 60's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing