We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting - food and service average”

Tsitsikamma Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Storms River
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This, "the place of much water", is the Tsitsikamma Section of the Garden Route National Park, where Tsitsikamma Restaurant is situated. Tsitsikamma Restaurant is a glorious seafood eatery, contained by the Garden Route National Park. With a variety of dishes from traditional English breakfast & toasted sandwiches to burgers, pastas and steak, egg and chips however they put the most emphasis on their scrumptious seafood. Come try our Tsitsikamma Platter with ocean fresh fillet of hake, calamari, and a prawn skewer served with savoury rice and tartar sauce or our Fisherman's Platter with a prawn skewer, mussels in garlic sauce and fresh line fish, calamari, spicy rice & chips. The heartland of the park stretches some 5km to sea, protecting a wonderland of inter-tidal life, reef and deep-sea fish. Dolphins frolic in the breakers, surfing and playing for the sheer joy of life, and the gentle giant of the ocean, the southern right whale visits here, coming inshore to breed. Tsitsikamma Restaurant is also a SASSI Aware participant which means they support sustainable and responsible fishing and seafood. The famous Storms River Suspension Bridge spans the river mouth. There is also the Natures Valley Rest Camp at Natures Valley. This is where the world renowned Otter and Tsitsikamma Mountain trails starts.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - food and service average”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We waited a long time for our meal, but it was pleasant enough. It's a great setting - overlooking the sea and the waves. Work off your calories with a short walk to the suspension bridge.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    54
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, brilliant setting.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We did not expect to have good food as the restaurant monopolize the area. But even it being very busy, the service and food was great. The setting is absolutely brilliant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WORST RESTAURANT IN AFRICA!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Please help!!!!!! Worst restaurant and service ever for years now. No service!!!!!!!! Interior shocking!!!! It is the most beautifull place in South Africa but please stay away from the restaurant!...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LIZADE312559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Although the restaurant was quite full (2 busses with tourists from overseas had been there) the waiters/waitresses had been extremly friendly and very fast. Nothing to complain about our food. My husband had grilled rips, which had been very tasty aund I chose the seafood combo with catch of the day. The angel fish was fresh and perfectly fried, the prawns grilled to perfection, everything very tasty and nicely presented. After supper I asked our waitress if the barkeeper could make a springbok shot (a South African speciality) telling her guileless it was my birthday. What a surprise: she brought the drinks together with a colleague singing "Happy Birthday"! All this happened in a packed restaurant and I still wonder how they managed beeing so friendly and fast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid it!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The place is wonderful & there are no other restaurants. So, if you're hungry here they have you in a box. My advice is to plan better so that you don't have to go into this trap with slow service, long waiting for useless, poor food. What you can do is to sit down, order a drink and admire the nice views! But avoid the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsitsikamma Restaurant also viewed

Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
 
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
 

Been to Tsitsikamma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing