We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tsisikamma stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was only a functional night stop heading back to Cape Town, as we've already been in the Tsitsikamma area a week before, but we loved this place and will sure spend more time there next time. Storms River Village is very picturesque and these cottages are just at the entrance, surrounded by lush vegetation, many birds and even monkeys. The red brick cottages are quite comfortable, cozy, well equipped and have a small terrace facing a beautiful central garden with swimming pool. The hosts were also very friendly. Unfortunately we had to leave very early the next morning and couldn't take breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nothing much you can do wrong in the lovely village of Stormsrivier but Swallow's nest is really an outstanding B&B. We were 3 (couple and a friend) to stay in a 2 bedroom cottage with a shared bathroom. Cottage is nicely decorated and fully equipped so self-catering also possible. Corrie (Dutch origin) & Ken are discrete and friendly hosts and have a nice breakfast served in the main cottage. Enjoy the peace & quiet and the nice setting and scenery. Activity booking, small supermarket, restaurants all in walking distance. Lovely stay !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Friendly reception by the owners.
Pleasant room/cottage with view of garden and mountain.
Attractions close at hand such as Stormsriviermond and Tsitsikamma Forest.
Lovely well kept garden setting.
Delicious breakfast provided.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ralph G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Swallows nest country cottages are set in a very pretty garden situated within walking distance of the village.The accommodation is very comfortable and Corrie and Ken are nice unobtrusive hosts..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were seven adults and stayed in Bluebell Cottage for one night. The owners were very welcoming and gave us good advice on the area and where to eat in the evening. (Within walking distance and safe!) Breakfast was great and the garden is fantastic. The rooms are a little dated, like previous reviewers have also written, but that added to the English cottage flair and we thought it a very pleasant place to stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Staying at Swallows Nest is like being transported back in time; the rooms are all a bit dated and would welcome modernization.

That said, the bed was very comfortable and we slept incredibly well. The garden is fabulous and i found myself just smiling to myself whilst breathing in the scent from the flowers and marveling at the view of the mountains behind Storms River. Ken, as the owner, was very welcoming and a good source of advice as to where we should eat in the evenings; it was nice to be able to walk to dinner each night. He also cooks a great breakfast (though better coffee than the instant coffee would be nice).

All in all, there is not a lot of choice of where to stay in Storms River but, despite being a little dated, we found Swallows Nest a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenofthebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A recent 3 day stay in this area was enhanced by the warmth and friendliness of our hosts and their staff. The location is superb and exceedingly tranquil. Excellent location for trips down to Storms River Mouth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry + Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
984 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
758 reviews
8 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Nest Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Nest Country Cottages

Address: 26 Kamasie Road, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: $79 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallows Nest Country Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetpea &Snowdrop Cottages are ideal for honeymooners, couples or small families & each cottage consists of a large lounge, one double bedroom with a queen-size bed with an en-suite bathroom with a shower & bath, one small en-suite single room with a single bed also en-suite to the single bathroom & large open plan kitchen with a breakfast room. Oaktree & Blackwood Cottages each offer a large lounge, dining-room, kitchen, one double bedroom with a queen-size bed with an en-suite bathroom with a shower & bath & the 2nd double bedroom offers a queen-size bed and bunk beds with an en-suite bathroom with a shower. Hyacinth & Bluebell Cottages each consist of a lounge, dining-room, kitchen, one double bedroom with an queen-size bed & a single bed or bunk beds with an en-suite bathroom with a shower & upstairs, on the mezzanine floor, are an additional 3 single beds with an en-suite bathroom with a bath. All chalets offer lovely patios with private BBQ's overlooking an attractive swimming-pool. Safe on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swallows Nest Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallows Nest Country Cottages Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing